KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

NPR

Is this your company?

NPR

Add a Review

NPR Employee Reviews about "tiny desk concerts"

Updated Jan 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 of over 310 reviews

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
NPR President and CEO Jarl Mohn
Jarl Mohn
80 Ratings
Pros
  • "Tiny Desk Concerts / free books(in 33 reviews)

  • "Also the tiny desk concerts are great(in 27 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "npr's(in 8 reviews)

  • "Entry-level employees often must prove themselves by working temporary assignments before they're hired full-time(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about NPR

    Join the conversation on

    Confession

    2m

    works at 

    Deloitte

    When I drop my car off at the mechanic I change my radio from NPR to another station so that they don't know I listen to NPR.

    11

    3 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of NPR and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "tiny desk concerts"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Incredible people, incredible perks

      Jan 11, 2021 - Intern in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Tiny desk concerts -Free books -Like-minded coworkers -Strong emphasis on work-life balance

      Cons

      -None. This is the position I'll be using to measure up all future jobs.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Painful to see a great mission have such a toxic environment

      Nov 21, 2019 - Director in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Talented staff Amazing content Meaningful mission Tiny Desk concerts

      Cons

      The most toxic work environment I've ever been in Total lack of transparency No accountability for senior leadership Hostile environment for people of color Rampant abuse of power

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Dedicated newsroom staff and nice perks

      Jun 21, 2020 - Production Assistant in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mission-driven, staff stay because they are dedicated to good journalism and public service; workplace is friendly and chill ( check out Mugs of NPR on Tumblr); DC HQ affords tiny desk concerts; union is strong and helpful.

      Cons

      Staff and audience can be more diverse; management can do more to make staffers feel more valued; the shows and desks can use better communication and collaboration.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Intern

      Great company

      Jul 6, 2020 - Intern in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Food, experience, tiny desk concerts

      Cons

      Didn’t have any cons there.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Wish There Were More Full-Time Positions

      Feb 20, 2020 - Social Media Producer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - A thoughtful, dynamic workplace full of whip-smart people who know their stuff - Lots of employee perks (Tiny Desk concerts, free books from arts dept., etc.) - High journalistic standards - Brand recognition makes it easier to land future journalism jobs

      Cons

      - Quite a bit of temporary positions without many opportunities for full-time work - Fast-paced, can be high-stress

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Great experience, rewarding work

      Feb 24, 2020 - Intern in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Rewarding and challenging work, exciting and dynamic workplace, diverse & inclusive for its industry, Tiny Desk Concerts and other perks

      Cons

      Division between newsroom / other business divisions, difficult to advance or become full-time, some tension between old school journalism and younger writers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to do journalism. Supportive colleagues and strong union.

      Jul 25, 2019 - News Assistant in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Colleagues care about quality journalism and maintains a high standard. Workplace is chill and fun. Tiny Desk Concerts make people happy. A strong union protects workers' rights.

      Cons

      Temporary employment can be precarious.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Learned a lot, but bad management

      Sep 27, 2019 - Production Assistant in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tiny desk, interesting work, some colleagues were encouraging.

      Cons

      My boss didn't really know how to train or delegate me to do what they needed, and my manager was mostly checked out and working on other projects.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good work/ Life balance

      Sep 25, 2019 - Coordinator in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tiny desk Work/life balance Great colleagues Good management

      Cons

      High turnover Pay Not always transparent

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Great people, fun and unique perks, pay isn't great

      Apr 16, 2019 - Intern in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A ton of smart, interesting, and generally great people. The department i was in felt very welcoming, and the people were generally fun to be around. I was lucky to be in a great class of fellow interns. My supervisors were really fun to talk to and always so helpful to me. I appreciated that they trusted my performance and my judgement enough to handle some larger, more important tasks. Also the tiny desk concerts are great.

      Cons

      Pay was lacking, especially for my field/background. Also felt a bit cliquish at times, not too much but enough to be noticeable. Also too much bureaucracy, need approval from persons A-Z to get simple things done.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with NPR Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at NPR? Share Your Experiences

    or