NRECA Reviews | Glassdoor

NRECA Reviews

Updated May 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
NRECA CEO Jim Matheson
Jim Matheson
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Major changes taking place with new CEO have created an unstable feel(in 7 reviews)

  • "Too many politics and senior management needs to prioritize and understand what is happening across the board(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NRECA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family oriented, great benefits and flexible hours

    Cons

    Could be a little too methodical in decision making

    NRECA2019-05-30
  2. "Good place lots of internal harmless politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NRECA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, nice people in the office

    Cons

    Lots of internal politicking and nonsense

    NRECA2019-05-13
  3. "Highly recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NRECA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great mission serving the interest of electric cooperatives and the communities they serve. Generous benefits, work-life balance

    Cons

    Can be difficult to advance

    NRECA2019-05-01
  4. "Investment & Retirement Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NRECA full-time

    Pros

    First class collegial atmosphere throughout organization.

    Cons

    Can be bureaucratic at times.

    Advice to Management

    Strip away bureaucratic tendencies.

    NRECA2018-12-22
  5. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NRECA full-time

    Pros

    Friendly, Flexible, open office, Take care of employees

    Cons

    Nothing i can think of

    NRECA2018-12-17
  6. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NRECA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office space. Free coffee.

    Cons

    The cubicles are small. Had to wear tie.

    NRECA2018-10-24
  7. "Awesome Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NRECA

    Pros

    Great pay, good experience, knowledgeable management

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of!

    NRECA2018-08-02
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Non-profit trade association advocating for rural communities and issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retirement Education Specialist in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NRECA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent mission, working for access of those in rural communities to basic utilities specifically electricity, but partnering with others to include water, phone and internet. Best benefits package of any employer I’ve ever had. Well-managed retirement funds; encourages active, healthy lifestyles; focus on employee wellness and recognizes employee contributions.

    Cons

    I truly enjoyed every aspect of working at this association. If I hadn’t left the area due to family obligations, I believe I would still be working there today.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to communicate to employees about the history and ongoing legacy of the REA and how and why the mission is still relevant. NRECA has always been a leader in workforce management and innovation. Strive to maintain that edge and you will always attract and retain a loyal and dedicated workforce!

    NRECA2018-05-21
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Good company, great mission, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NRECA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The mission of the co-ops and NRECA is a great one. The people who work here are typically great people and fun to work with. The benefits package is off-the-hook good.

    Cons

    As others have said, the company has been moving to a very hierarchical management structure, and anyone who does not "kiss the ring" as others have said, is squashed hard. There is almost no guidance on what you are supposed to do and what the key priorities are and how you should implement those in your day-to-day activities. Not much chance to promotion as people never leave. Either do a stint and move on, or come...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Perform 360 surveys of the employees and let go the managers that do not garner STRONG approval from their employees. You have a very smart and dedicated staff who genuinely care about your mission, but most of your managers either do not have a clue how to lead (not manage) or are temperamentally unsuited to their position. Honestly, it is time for a serious look at all key staff and their competence to LEAD. While...

    Show More
    NRECA2018-03-07
  10. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at NRECA full-time

      Pros

      Great company to work for, they have great benefits

      Cons

      some of their technology is obsolete. Need to upgrade to a better system

      Advice to Management

      Give employees that work at the company an opportunity for upward mobility as opposed to looking outside of orgnaization

      NRECA2018-03-15
    Found 89 reviews