NRG Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

NRG Energy Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
79%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
NRG Energy President and CEO  Mauricio Gutierrez (no image)
Mauricio Gutierrez
124 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay and Commission/ Friendly coworkers(in 34 reviews)

  • "Excellent work environment and decent pay and competitive benefits(in 28 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "NRG is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Manager & Senior Accountant in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NRG Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay, very nice work environment, smart people, so many benefits, close to malls and other business, cafeteria on first level, free use of bikes, etc.

    Cons

    Really no cons that I can think

    Continue reading
    NRG Energy2020-03-12
  2. "NRG is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NRG Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent company culture, great internal opportunities, and lots of perks for employees.

    Cons

    The traditional mindset of IPP's and retail energy company's can stifle forward thinking, risk taking, and portfolio expansion.

    Continue reading
    NRG Energy2020-03-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Former full time employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at NRG Energy

    Pros

    Benefits, convenient parking, access to Starbucks

    Cons

    Very hierarchical organization, no executive oversight of smaller departments. No checks and balances where there needs to be.

    Continue reading
    NRG Energy2020-03-30
  4. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NRG Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Telecommuting and work/life balance

    Cons

    Showing favoritism to certain employees

    NRG Energy2020-02-13
  5. "Tech job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Technology Analyst in Princeton, NJ

    I worked at NRG Energy full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay for the role

    Cons

    No direction by top management

    NRG Energy2020-02-26
  6. "Professional in-house IT Develpment teams that value the Business Analyst contribution."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at NRG Energy

    Pros

    The BA team was very active in the local IIBA Chapter and highly encouraged individual professional development.

    Cons

    At times the lines between the PM & BA teams where blurred. While the IT Management and team Leads were on-site, a large percentage of development was preformed by short-term contractors overseas resulting in very few developers familiar with the evolution of the code base.

    Continue reading
    NRG Energy2020-02-10
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NRG Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Perks and the people that work there are nice

    Cons

    Room for growth seems like it will take a long time to achieve

    NRG Energy2020-02-03
  8. "Buffalo NRG is run by former ECS managers like it’s still ECS."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NRG Energy

    Pros

    Honestly hard to come up with any.

    Cons

    Very dysfunctional operations and very confusing for employees and customers. Internal directors and managers have only worked at ECS/NRG and have no understanding of how business operates outside of Buffalo NRG. Buffalo NRG Directors believe that embarrassing people by using collection agency tactics like posting employee performance numbers on large white boards throughout the office is the best way to improve their performance. I was shocked at how much Buffalo NRG management resents progressive, forward thinking and ideas from associates. Associates watch webinars hosted by corporate leadership from Princeton and Houston and wonder when Buffalo will ever feel like we are part of NRG. ECS/NRG Buffalo managements poor business practices erode customer relationships and tarnish NRG’s reputation. There are so many basic business mistakes made on a continuous basis. Proposals are promised to customers only to be halted by management which pushes loyal customers to competitors.

    Continue reading
    NRG Energy2020-02-20
  9. "Not a bad job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PV Designer 

    I have been working at NRG Energy full-time

    Pros

    Good job to work for

    Cons

    No complaints great job no cons

    NRG Energy2020-01-14
  10. "Good Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NRG Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for, good life balance and great benefits

    Cons

    Few possibilities to grow career wise

    NRG Energy2020-01-07
Found 454 reviews