NRG Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

NRG Energy Reviews

Updated Jun 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 418 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Mauricio Gutierrez
113 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay and Commission/ Friendly coworkers(in 33 reviews)

  • "Excellent work environment and decent pay and competitive benefits(in 26 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NRG Energy full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and fun work environment

    Cons

    Commissions only and tablets glitch sometimes

    Advice to Management

    Get faster working tablets

    NRG Energy2019-01-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with a potential for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NRG Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Diverse Young and old employees Team-work atmosphere Great work-life balance Flexible schedules

    Cons

    Cutting costs is the name of their game

    Advice to Management

    Invest in green technology research or support those who are already doing so

    NRG Energy2019-05-08
  3. "Unstable currently....was a good place to work until waves of yearly layoffs to silence wall street investors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Applications Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NRG Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The products and services the company offers are top notch. Has a very well respected brand and client base. The IT department and business units, trends more toward current technology. Well defined business processes until another company is bought. Retail side of business tends to be consistent performer for the balance sheet.

    Cons

    Seemingly little organic growth. Buys companies for increased market share. The core strengths of the company don't appease wall street. Company seems to be slowly losing its identity and market share to smaller companies. Confusing direction over the years.

    Advice to Management

    None. Do the right thing before the company's reputation is at stake in the marketplace.

    NRG Energy2019-05-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant II 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NRG Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed the culture and bonuses

    Cons

    Not much room for growth. Would have to move to corporate office to advance

    NRG Energy2019-05-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - AC Apprentice 

      I worked at NRG Energy full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Money benefits and people. Tools

      Cons

      You never know what time you’re going to be out of work

      NRG Energy2019-04-25
    • Helpful (2)

      "Good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Analyst 

        I have been working at NRG Energy full-time

        Pros

        Good pay and vacation

        Cons

        Management transparency; job security is unstable

        NRG Energy2019-04-18
      • Helpful (1)

        "It’s very scam like"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at NRG Energy full-time

          Pros

          We have some office time and get decent benefits

          Cons

          They scam you and tell the employees and customers nothing but lies even myself didn’t receive my $150 gift card

          NRG Energy2019-05-01
        • Helpful (2)

          "Great company to work for!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at NRG Energy full-time for more than 8 years

          Pros

          ESPP Annual Incentive Plan (bonus) 401k employer match Health benefits

          Cons

          Lack of career path without moving to one of the HQ offices. Review process changes yearly. Management forces employees to complete self review and set yearly goals. A sit down meeting with supervisor is set after the self review. Little direction on goals from management.

          Advice to Management

          Better yearly performance review system.

          NRG Energy2019-03-08
        • "Leading the Texas market in retail electricity"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at NRG Energy full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Great company to work for

          Cons

          None I can think of

          NRG Energy2019-03-04
        • "Stable opportunity"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Sales Support Administrator in Buffalo, NY
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at NRG Energy full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          NRG provided me with an experience to gain knowledge of the demand response industry. I met some of the kindest people working here. NRG is focused on supporting their customers', while also managing work life balance. My favorite part about working at NRG were the online training opportunities.

          Cons

          In my opinion, there is not enough transparency between management and staff. When someone has a resolution to a problem, they are often over-looked. The human resources staff is minimal and they need support when it comes to hiring the right people.

          Advice to Management

          There needs to be a sense of inclusion for all employees. People want to feel like they are good at their job, they need to feel appreciated by managers in order to gain security. I think NRG is on the right path to success, but there are improvements to be made first.

          NRG Energy2019-02-26
        Found 418 reviews