NRG Energy "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

NRG Energy Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
NRG Energy President and CEO  Mauricio Gutierrez (no image)
Mauricio Gutierrez
143 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay and Commission/ Friendly coworkers(in 34 reviews)

  • "Excellent work environment and decent pay and competitive benefits(in 27 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NRG Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Growth opportunities Leadership vision

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    NRG Energy2019-11-18
  2. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NRG Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Telecommuting and work/life balance

    Cons

    Showing favoritism to certain employees

    NRG Energy2020-02-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunities for those willing to put in the work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NRG Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at NRG and was sold off in a divestiture in 2018. It was a fantastic place to work during my time there - they consistently rewarded individuals who performed well monetarily and otherwise.

    Cons

    Work/life balance is tough to achieve if you want to progress with the company. Sometimes it feels like "availability" is more important than actual production.

    NRG Energy2019-08-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with a potential for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NRG Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Diverse Young and old employees Team-work atmosphere Great work-life balance Flexible schedules

    Cons

    Cutting costs is the name of their game

    Continue reading
    NRG Energy2019-05-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Stable opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Support Administrator in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NRG Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    NRG provided me with an experience to gain knowledge of the demand response industry. I met some of the kindest people working here. NRG is focused on supporting their customers', while also managing work life balance. My favorite part about working at NRG were the online training opportunities.

    Cons

    In my opinion, there is not enough transparency between management and staff. When someone has a resolution to a problem, they are often over-looked. The human resources staff is minimal and they need support when it comes to hiring the right people.

    Continue reading
    NRG Energy2019-02-26
  6. "Very laid back culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Sales Operations Specialist in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NRG Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    No stress. Cool office culture. No hierarchical relationship with management level. Good work-life balance.

    Cons

    The work involved doesn't progress quick enough. It feels a little "there's nothing to do" .

    NRG Energy2019-01-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior IT Financial Analyst 

    I worked at NRG Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    diverse culture, opportunities to give back to the community, bonuses, great learning environment

    Cons

    work/life balance (dependent upon department)

    NRG Energy2019-01-04
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NRG Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good pay and benefits - Great work life balance - Nice office

    Cons

    - Can be really busy at times but at least you will never be bored!

    Continue reading
    NRG Energy2018-12-31
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible company to work for, behind the times, no work life balance, poor management at every level."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NRG Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You half way get the tools you need.

    Cons

    Horrible company to work for, behind the times, no work life balance, poor management at every level.

    Continue reading
    NRG Energy2018-10-22
  10. "Work LIfe Balance a Plus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I have been working at NRG Energy

    Pros

    Work Life Balance Schedule and Work Load

    Cons

    Large "old" organization that moves at a slower pace internally than one would anticipate

    NRG Energy2018-01-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 45 reviews