NRG Home Solar Reviews | Glassdoor

NRG Home Solar Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 150 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
23%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Mauricio Gutierrez
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay not too much sales pressure(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with at all times(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "The solar industry being volatile towards business from outside factors like state and federal grants effected sales and overall capital too much(in 5 reviews)

  • "Management structure is all over the place and you can never get a straight answer from anyone(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales in Wall, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NRG Home Solar full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Everything about the company was great

    Cons

    NRG shut down it's solar division. I really wish they never did this because it was such a great job and great atmosphere to be in.

    NRG Home Solar2018-03-30
  2. "An Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Wall Township, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NRG Home Solar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people on my team were the only pro.

    Cons

    Everything else is the con. This is the type of job and company that will teach you the important lesson that, at the end of the day, you are ultimately just a number to the company you serve.

    NRG Home Solar2019-03-09
  3. "Solar Site Surveyor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Surveyor in San Diego, CA

    I worked at NRG Home Solar full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good benefits and Pay for entry level position

    Cons

    Unrealistic time frames, had to drive between 3 jobs an hour apart and had 5 hours to complete the jobs. Impossible time frame. Business shut down at no notice

    Advice to Management

    Transparency is key

    NRG Home Solar2018-10-24
  4. "Large company trying to compete"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NRG Home Solar full-time

    Pros

    Good Pay, good benefits and nice people

    Cons

    Hard hours and unreasonable expectations

    NRG Home Solar2018-09-21
  5. "Large Company with large internal issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NRG Home Solar full-time

    Pros

    Fortune 500 company After 5 minutes of thinking, I cant think of another positive.

    Cons

    Salesforce is poorly designed and managed Ineffective training Unwilling to invest into technology solutions Low employee morale

    Advice to Management

    Get your hands dirty and lead by example

    NRG Home Solar2018-03-03
  6. "Sales Data Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at NRG Home Solar full-time

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, good groups of employees, forward thinking management and vision

    Cons

    Sales, the overall mechanism for making the money for the company, was messy. The solar industry being volatile towards business from outside factors like state and federal grants effected sales and overall capital too much

    NRG Home Solar2018-01-23
  7. "records management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NRG Home Solar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with at all times.

    Cons

    i do t have anything bad to say

    Advice to Management

    my boss is the best Jim Tharp

    NRG Home Solar2017-10-18
  8. "Solar Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solar Advisor in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at NRG Home Solar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office atmosphere. People are nice. Can be opportunities for good commission

    Cons

    Call center mentality. Too focused on numbers not enough on quality. Tiered management structure does not work. Everyone feels under pressure. feels like there was little direction.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on quality not quantity

    NRG Home Solar2017-10-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Office Closed down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Wall, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NRG Home Solar for more than a year

    Pros

    Commission, fun, location, office space and kitchen area

    Cons

    Unfortunately the company ran itself into the gound

    NRG Home Solar2017-10-02
  10. "So-So Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Interconnection Specialist in Wall, NJ

    I worked at NRG Home Solar full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Decent pay, decent hours, good employees. It was nice to have paid lunches, and it was great to work with some of the people there.

    Cons

    Laid off too many people over time. Work was not dispersed correctly. Too many wrong people at the top. Struggled to get raises due to lack of work.

    Advice to Management

    Work harder on pleasing those at the bottom in order to get them to stay and work hard. You can only hard so hard as not to get fired.

    NRG Home Solar2017-10-05
Found 150 reviews