NSF International Reviews | Glassdoor

NSF International Reviews

Updated Feb 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
66%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
NSF International President Kevan P Lawlor (no image)
Kevan P Lawlor
88 Ratings
  1. Helpful (12)

    "You can do so much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NSF International full-time

    Pros

    The building, facility and amenities are nice. There is flexibility in the work place, which is the reason why many people stay.

    Cons

    Management is tone deaf to the issues facing the company. The Organizational Health Index (OHI) survey was conducted almost 3 years ago. The results were quite negative. Nothing has been implemented to fix any of the issues identified by the survey. The suggested fixes are viewed by non-management to be just going through the motions. Senior management is completely disconnected from the employees. It can't be stated enough how bad the management situation is here.

    Continue reading
    NSF International2018-01-25
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Good Starter Job in a Lab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NSF International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Got good experience and introduction into an industrial lab setting; learned a lot about time management; was able to master my area of work to the point of expertise

    Cons

    management is completely inflexible; no effort to consider employees as more than just a means to a financial end or raise the group's morale; job becomes monotonous quickly, as training on new methods was never prioritized; my department was severely underpaid compared to the rest of the company; no sick time, only paid time off, so if you get sick, you can't take vacation; little consideration for work-life balance

    Continue reading
    NSF International2017-12-27
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Organization Lacking Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NSF International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible for working parents Sometimes work from home Nice building Not a lot expected of you

    Cons

    CEO & VPs are out of touch with staff New ideas not welcome An oddly fake feel to everything Lots of ancient employees with cozy jobs who do basically nothing

    Continue reading
    NSF International2018-01-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Toxicology department work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Toxicologist in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NSF International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good mentors, a large mix of projects, working for positive public health outcomes

    Cons

    Difficult upward mobility within the company into anything other than management positions

    NSF International2017-11-17
  5. "Talent Acquisition Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NSF International full-time

    Pros

    NSF does very important work in our community, state, country, and worldwide. I am surrounded by incredibly smart, passionate individuals who all seem to be working towards common goals. We are growing and expanding at a very rapid pace. I have great work/life balance.

    Cons

    Technology seems a bit behind

    NSF International2017-10-03
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NSF International for more than a year

    Pros

    They do a good job at pretending to care about issues

    Cons

    The company is completely driven by the bottom line. You have to be bringing in revenue to be an asset. Meanwhile they make believe to the outside world that they are non profit or a not for profit company.

    NSF International2017-10-23
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NSF International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good first job out of college

    Cons

    micro management, employee favoritism and politics between management. Management likes loyalty over performance

    Continue reading
    NSF International2017-10-11
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Certification Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in San Diego, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NSF International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work with great people, some room for growth, flexible hours (sort of), and the facilities at the company's building are good, good benefits

    Cons

    Workload is hard to manage.

    NSF International2017-08-14
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Toxicologist in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NSF International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company somehow has a solid reputation, so use it as a stepping stone to something better.

    Cons

    If you want to remain stagnant in your career while unqualified individuals who are friends with management are promoted above you, this is the perfect place for you. Do not expect to be rewarded for hard work, you will only be judged on appearances and who you befriend.

    Continue reading
    NSF International2017-09-14
  10. "Three Years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at NSF International full-time

    Pros

    Autonomy in the job and trust from managers.

    Cons

    A lot of travel, sometimes last minute.

    NSF International2017-08-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 180 reviews