NVIDIA Employee Reviews about "nvidia"

Updated Nov 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 165 of over 4,150 reviews

4.7
94%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO

What people are saying about NVIDIA

Join the conversation on

Tech

210.7K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=NVIDIA~7633
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "people here are smart and passionate about their job.(in 280 reviews)
  • "Great culture around designing the highest performance products based on what can be done verses what is 'good enough'.(in 196 reviews)
  • "good benefits and very considerate(in 195 reviews)
  • "good work culture and policies(in 169 reviews)
  • "Good salaries and very accomodating(in 139 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of NVIDIA and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "nvidia"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing place to work

    Nov 22, 2021 - Senior Systems Software Manager in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Everyone you meet is passionate about the product, the team, and the work - There is intellectual honesty and that drives the discussions on how we can improve - Relatively flat technical organizations. If you don't like going through multiple layers of management to get to a decision maker, this is the place for you - Asking open ended questions, or clarifications is part of the norm. Everyone wants to make the best possible decisions and outcomes, revealing blind spots or things we didn't consider is how we learn and grow

    Cons

    - It's easy to lose track of time when everyone around you are working diligently on hard problems. Definitely schedule time to take a pause and prevent mental fatigue - No real cons here. NVIDIA's a place where folks who love working hard and enjoy tough challenges will feel at home. Be smart about one's time. Read up on NVIDIA culture and succeed

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Beyond Amazing

    May 7, 2021 - Software Architect in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Jensen, our President/CEO is very intelligent, driven, articulate, encouraging, warm, and approachable. What you see on stage is the same person you bump into in the halls or overhear at the bar. Yes, we have a really nice bar in our building. NVIDIA's success and amazing culture clearly comes from the top. During Covid, he has firmly repeated this message: "Put family first!" During the holidays, we don't have a big expensive company dinner, we volunteer or donate to our local communities. The work is challenging and meaningful. Compensation and benefits are great. I love my coworkers. I've been here almost five years. It's real and I still can't believe how lucky I am.

    Cons

    NVIDIA innovates at a crazy pace. There is more work to do than time to do it. But everyone around you is working super hard. And doing what you love, with people you care about, for a president that seems genuinely to be one of the nicest human beings I've ever met makes me want to work extra hard, too. So the biggest negative is really self-inflicted.

    Continue reading
    53 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    pretty good

    Nov 2, 2021 - Softeware Engineer in Boulder, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good people work at nvidia

    Cons

    there is disorganization at nvidia

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A Company that Provides Support and Encourages Learning

    Sep 21, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    NVIDIA plays for keeps. They provide resources to help support employees in many different ways: sessions on well-being, Employee Resource Groups, generous benefits. During COVID, I've been able to have flexibility in my work schedule. Equally important, they provide resources and tools to help you acquire new skills. There are many opportunities to learn internally (with Tech Talks) or externally (linkedIn Learning, udemy, and Stanford (if you're accepted)). NVIDIA also provides opportunities to give back to the community. Employees can volunteer during work hours to update maps or build STEM kits to send to under-represented minorities. The company culture is important here - it's not just buzz words to make everyone feel good. They expect intellectual honesty, teamwork, and want folks to speak up and speak out.

    Cons

    It's been a little tough joining a new team when everything is virtual. That said, I've taken advantage of opportunities to get involved with a few Employee Resource Groups to start building connections with folks outside of my team. The other con is that NVIDIA still has some work to do to improve diversity. It's clear that they are taking steps to improve it, but I hope it continues to receive attention.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A

    Sep 8, 2021 - Software Development Engineer (SDE) in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    High salary High tech Good location

    Cons

    Everything is very good in Nvidia

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Ultra Frugal Employer Treats New Employees Like Garbage

    Aug 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1) In between project cycles, there is nothing to work on (but this isn't really a pro for me, as I felt incredible bored, disengaged and unvalued). I have so many skills but none of them were utilized.... this company has way too many engineers and not enough work to go around (if you've been here less than 5y, you will only get assigned the garbage work that no-one else wants to do, all the good stuff goes to folks who have been there 5 - 20y). They rarely hire new folks (almost never). Great place for lazy people (long-timers) to rest and vest.

    Cons

    One of the worst companies I've ever worked for (people, culture and frugality are among the worst attributes of this company): 1) Ultra frugal company: a) Pays much less than other companies (RSUs smallest I've seen) b) Refresh RSUs are practically zero (not even worth mentioning) c) ESPP is useless (I was actually losing money on it while I was there) d) Incredibly difficult to get equipment purchases approved 2) Dishonest/unscrupulous recruiters/managers a) Recruiter actually negotiated lower level for me with HM than was discussed with me and didn't tell me about it! Unreal... same title had 3 levels so I had no idea until a few months after joining. So the RSU refreshers were much lower than discussed with recruiter. b) Waited several years for my manager to let me do the work we agreed to upon joining before moving on. 3) Only long term employees get promoted (or those with same race/ethnicity as VP). a) I experienced complete reverse discrimination while there (VP only promoted those of same race/ethnicity). Those of this race/ethnicity treated me like garbage and the VP (and other similar race/ethnicity managers under him) protected them and retaliated and beat-up on me for complaining. 4) From what I saw, all new employees get treated like garbage by the long-timers at this company. Ironic since they have been there a long time and are making significantly more than you due to stock run-up. a) A big part of the problem is that this company has no peer review system in place for annual or real-time feedback, so when folks behave in an outrageous manner, there is nothing you can do but try to ignore it. Totally broken review system. 5) People only respect you if you've been with the company a minimum of 5y.... time spent with the company is like a badge of honor. Ideas and industry experience gained outside Nvidia are disregarded/ignored (Nvidia is *not* interested in how things are done elsewhere in industry.... it's their way or the highway type of mentality). In my case, I had ~20y industry experience (specialization) in a particular area, and they wouldn't even invite me to meetings (I practically had to beg to contribute). No one at Nvidia had anywhere near the level of experience or knowledge I had in this area.... folks that were hacks were listened to like they were experts. It was amazing. I was used to being the subject matter expert for a company with 200,000 employees, but at Nvidia...with <10000 employees, they refused to allow me to be a subject matter expert (my director actually rejected my request to contribute). 6) People working here displayed a complete lack of integrity/honesty (although this happens at some other companies too). 7) The labs at NVIDIA are a disaster. Most look like a bomb went off, and you have to fight to get even a tiny amount of lab space. Definitely the most disorganized, underfunded and poorly run labs I've seen in industry.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great trade-off between execution and innovation

    Jun 17, 2021 - Senior Research Scientist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, lots of respect for innovation and individual contribution. NVResearch is a great org to be apart of where innovation is key and "research" isn't defined and papers and patents.

    Cons

    The internal development infrastructure is ad-hoc and/or archaic. Nvidia would do well to adopt some of the numerous open-source tools that yield better code management, maintainability, syntax, checking, etc.

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Awesome

    Jun 16, 2021 - Senior Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cutting edge technology being worked on. Open culture to share and discuss the ideas with colleagues. Nvidia makes a sincere effort to communicate the Products being worked on, the history and the roles of different groups. This is done through regular meetings. The GTC gave a very good picture of the products being used by the customers in the field.

    Cons

    so far so good in Nvidia.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    One of the Best Company

    Mar 31, 2021 - Senior SQA Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture, work/life balance, very good CEO.

    Cons

    there are no cons to work for NVIDIA

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Awesome Company!

    Mar 4, 2021 - Senior Developer Technology Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture, giving back to the community and volunteering is not just talk but really ingrained into the company. Very talented engineers and computer scientist. One of the few tech companies that's making concrete changes and improvements in diversity and inclusion. The D&I numbers across the board are continually improving year after year.

    Cons

    I was skeptical about working for a private tech company because of some of the horror stories I’ve heard but I’ve been pleasantly surprised how NVIDIA has exceeded my expectations in all areas. I really don’t have any Cons currently; I would really be reaching if I tried to come up with something here.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 165 Reviews

Popular Careers with NVIDIA Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at NVIDIA? Share Your Experiences

or