NVR Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jul 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
NVR President and CEO Paul C. Saville (no image)
Paul C. Saville
139 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and benefits, great company culture(in 17 reviews)

  • "Overall a great company to work for(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work/life balance is not as good as it could be(in 19 reviews)

  • "Upper management has had way too many changes in the past few years(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company to begin a new career

      May 31, 2016 - Building Products 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Excellent training program and the latitude to gain experience -Upper Management support to enable subordinates

      Cons

      -at times unwilling to invest in infrastructure to ensure latest and best building equipment is available

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Beat Up

      Jul 26, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      401k Holidays PTO Unlimited, Direct Manager encourages, believes in there team. Very knowledgeable. Helps us find short cuts. Great Buffer with upper management.

      Cons

      Upper management leads with Intimidation demeaning unprofessional. No respect . Very stressful demanding unattainable daily goals. They are negative. All they care about is volume. Meetings we can not discuss real issues. Lost 7 underwriters, Supervisors. Closers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Falling behind

      Feb 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Fairfax, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      strong company, decent benefits, nice work environment

      Cons

      Pay is starting to fall behind the industry. Hard to keep good employees when competitors are offering much higher salaries with bonuses. Raises are minimal. Upper management has had way too many changes in the past few years.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      ASD is Mediocre at best

      Feb 26, 2019 - Architectural Designer in Frederick, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent starting salary and amount of vacation time is nice.

      Cons

      CEO out of touch with employees. Everything is numbers driven. Year after year we have record years. However, if we don't meet the demands of the shareholders everyone outside of upper management suffers. Its capitalism at its finest. Good luck trying to get a decent raise, the paltry 1%-2% annual raise is mandated by board members. Paul Saville was kind enough to give himself a 16% raise in 2018. I guess thats where the new corporate tax rate went...

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      By far the worst company in America to work for.

      Dec 9, 2015 - Loan Processor in Fairfax, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is better then being unemployed and starving to death, barely..also, 0 SICK TIME

      Cons

      Referral dependent company for the purpose of hiring employees who do not want to make the referrer look poorly, yet enabling employer to treat the employee like dirt-until you punch back. Incompetent, lazy upper management starting with CEO who trains and requires his management teams to harass, publicly degrade and micro-manage employees into failure. Operational, functional and cultural nightmare which reflects in turnover and poor results. Underwriters condition for 50% of items that no reasonable/legitimate lender would require. Pay is low relative to field, factor in your alcohol bills that are necessary to cope and it is not worth it. This Disaster would be out of Business within 2 weeks if it were not for Ryan Homes charity and hand-off loans. Never worked at a place where EVERYONE was so miserable and the employees want the place to fail on purpose even if it means being laid off.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Beware

      May 22, 2015 - Accounts Payable in Dayton, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Upper management was friendly, and the tour of the facility was informative. The hours of operation and new employee.

      Cons

      Interviewed with manager and offered an AP position, but the manager should have alerted her staff that I was African American. The manager was absent on my first day, and when I walked in the door on day one, the employee came around the corner and was so thrown off by me to the point that her bright smile dropped and face took on a crimson hue. Within an hour of training, the young woman decided that I was too confused and could not handle the details of the job. I have worked in Accounts Payable for over 15 years with higher education backing. She gave me invoices to match with purchase orders, and ostracized me for omitting one or two check marks on line items, and not placing a date/coding stamp in a particular place on invoices. On day two, she decided the only thing I was capable of was filing. On day three, every invoice I was giving to code returned with her statement of error of the check marks. On day four, she said in her own words that I was not able to handle the job. I was placed at NRV through a staffing agency called Callos, and when I left that Friday, I knew I would get a call from Callos telling me not to return. Another temporary who had been there a week prior to me was giving full instructions and patience of acclimation to a new job. This employee was white, and allowed to make errors more severe in nature of a simple check mark or placement of a coding stamp. On day five, which was on a Monday, I was told to just watch my trainer key in invoices and not ask to questions because it was too distracting. On day six, I was giving 2 to 3 hundred invoices that had piled up over a couple of weeks with the instruction to match/code. This took hours to complete, and once the checking/coding was completed, the person returned over half of the invoices back claiming drastic errors. I checked the invoices for errors and found none to my training, but I was told that I also needed to calculate the discounts and was supplied with a tiny calculator to do so. I received a call from Callos, and was told that I was not a good fit for the company by upper management. When I pried for more information, Callos stated that my job performance was the reason.

      Continue reading
      21 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Need to update the process

      Sep 19, 2013 - Sales and Marketing Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, benefits, great upper management with good guidance and leadership. They want their employees to succeed.

      Cons

      tough work/life balance, hard to communicate with home office, too many people in the upper management pipeline. Sometimes the nature of the business is tough and demanding, but you have to be ready to devote majority of your time to the job.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Settlement Services

      Apr 15, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, opportunities for advancement

      Cons

      Upper management has deteriorated since CoB stepped down several years ago. New management brought in has been less than stellar and disappointing to those that have been there for years. No real leadership.

      7 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Director of Construction

      Mar 18, 2017 - Director in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay. They compensate their employees well.

      Cons

      Everything else. Upper management does not care about anything except "share holder value", which is another way of saying compensation for C-level execs, mainly CEO and Chairman.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good company - terrible management

      Sep 12, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fairly decent benefits, adequate compensation

      Cons

      Settlement Services upper management is a clown show. VP brings in too many friends in management positions. The best long term employees are jumping ship because of the current management. Chaos is the norm. Constant staffing shortages. No support from HR Department whatsoever.

      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with NVR Job Seekers

    Mortgage
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Manufacturing Production Laborer
    Learn About the Job
    Sales and Marketing Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at NVR? Share Your Experiences

    NVR logo
    or