NVR "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

NVR Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
60%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
NVR President and CEO Paul C. Saville (no image)
Paul C. Saville
106 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Restrictive accounting system and deadlines make for a tough work life balance(in 18 reviews)

  • "However, if we don't meet the demands of the shareholders everyone outside of upper management suffers(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to build a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Processor in Dagsboro, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NVR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Higher salary than any other local businesses. Great training and opportunities for advancement. Great office environment (I know this is highly location specific but my office is incredible.) I look forward to going to work every single day. Sick time is flexible and compassionately handled, as is medical leave. The company is hugely focused on retention and even if you struggle, will work on improvements instead of dropping the axe. The collaborative coaching process replacing dreaded performance reviews has been fantastic. Work life balance is respected even though the job can be intense at times.

    Show More

    Cons

    Monthly pay is absolutely inhumane. I know most people have two income households but for those of us who don’t have a spouse as an equal earner, it can be brutal. I am not overly impressed with the health plan offered - the monthly expense and out of pocket costs are a strain. I personally wish there were more local growth opportunities to strive towards as a loan processor other than an eventual upgrade to loan officer - underwriting, closing, etc. are all centralized out of state. Obviously not a problem if you’re able to relocate but I feel like years down the line my options will be limited locally.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. The continual focus on employee training and retention are encouraging and show that NVR really cares about employee happiness and growth well beyond the lip service most companies pay to these concepts.

    NVR2019-09-22
  2. "Great people, restrictive system"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NVR full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The team of people I worked with wanted me to be the best version of myself, and were always willing to help me grow personally and professionally.

    Cons

    Restrictive accounting system and deadlines make for a tough work life balance.

    NVR2019-11-07
  3. "Best Company Yet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NVR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Family Friendly, Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    There are not really any cons. This company is a great place to work.

    NVR2019-09-18
  4. "Not your average 9-5"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Processing Supervisor in Frederick, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at NVR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging , competitive , growth leadership development

    Cons

    Work life balance takes oneself time management skills

    NVR2019-08-07
  5. "Great company with huge potential for learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NVR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    On the job education is inevitable Hard work is rewarded greatly

    Cons

    work/life balance is a problem There will always be something you need to do

    Advice to Management

    With more focus cost containing, more eyes are required to keep quality high.

    NVR2018-10-26
  6. "Competitive Pay, Unclear Ascension"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Frederick, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NVR full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, good people, decent benefits, 3 weeks vacation starting, work life balance.

    Cons

    Being unable to see a clear path in the organization. Long interview process. Very conservative actions unless it directly impacts production

    Advice to Management

    Setting some benchmarks to hit over 2 or 3 years to position someone for a new role.

    NVR2018-04-04
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NVR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and attractive offices.

    Cons

    Management was constantly changing the guidelines. Terrible training. No support and understaffed. Talking heads who talk the talk but don't walk the walk. Work/life balance was a joke. (They literally joked about it in training.) left the the entire industry due to the way this employer treated me.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees by being honest. Offer support.

    NVR2018-03-09
  8. "Worked there in the past"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Representative in Richland, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NVR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of talented people work there.

    Cons

    The work/life balance and company outlook.

    NVR2018-02-01
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NVR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent amount of decision-making power, fair health benefits, average pay, ability to network.

    Cons

    Unprofessional management with self-centered motives, near zero company-supported training, lack of critical IT systems to support day-to-day business, ZERO work-life balance, penny-pinching views that make travel and supporting the company very difficult, executive culture that allows for hostile conditions and disrespect towards subordinates, an HR department that is clueless and seemingly powerless to assist employees, yearly reviews that are pointless (essentially everyone gets the same increase but you have to spend hours completing a self-review). This company runs their schedules on Excel! Where's MS Project?! Nobody seems to understand the value of shared drives or SharePoint sites either, which makes version control of documents a nightmare. There is a consistent mentality of 'not my problem', as people spend more time pointing fingers than collaborating as a team. Most employees are not concerned about the shared customer (home owner), but more their individual departments, regardless of the trail of destruction that leaves. Don't trust anyone here with your word... not hourly employees or executive management... back-stabbing is part of this company's culture.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Drop the "good old boys" mentality and allowing only those you're friends with to succeed. Stop putting people in management roles just because they have technical experience. Not everyone is cut out to be a manager and that has resulted in many talented people leaving the company. Also, if you hire someone in at a higher level, utilize their talents, don't undermine them, allow them to grow, and quit the micro-management. Listen to employee concerns and step into the 21st century. Not believing in working from home is a sure way to scare away great young talent. Allow for tuition reimbursement and invest in your employees. Stop being a 'career black hole'. The longer you spend with NVR in their antiquated ways of doing business, the less marketable you'll be to the civilized and up-to-date workforce.

    Show More
    NVR2017-10-20
  10. "Gret Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Marketing Representative in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NVR full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work and great people!

    Cons

    It takes awhile to figure out your work/life balance with this job.

    NVR2017-08-27
Found 23 reviews
</>Embed