NW Natural Reviews | Glassdoor

NW Natural Reviews

Updated Sep 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
NW Natural CEO Gregg S. Kantor
Gregg S. Kantor
12 Ratings
  1. "Great place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NW Natural

    Pros

    Forward thinking company with great initiatives, especially surrounding environmentally conscious options. Great inclusive atmosphere. This company is large but still manages to keep a close knit feel!

    Cons

    Slow hiring & interview process.

    NW Natural2019-09-25
  2. "Nice people, frustrating work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at NW Natural full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, people are generally nice, job security, good work-life balance in some jobs.

    Cons

    Out of date technology and processes, blame culture, old school hierarchy, slow moving, in corporate office there is a general lack of competence, sharp divide between lifers and people that come in with modern skills and ideas.

    NW Natural2019-05-29
  3. "Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NW Natural full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits awesome culture.

    Cons

    Salaries are quite low compared to other gas companies.

    NW Natural2019-01-03
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NW Natural full-time

    Pros

    Pay and family style management

    Cons

    Advancement is limited. Hires externally

    NW Natural2019-01-02
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Inefficient Processes, Underutilization of Employees and Lack of Innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NW Natural full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly people. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    No culture of accountability. Unclear company or department objectives. Rampant micro managing by ineffective mangers. Low morale. Very few opportunities for career growth and employee development. Tolerate of mediocrity. Political organization it is more important who you know rather than what you know. Lack of interesting work.

    Advice to Management

    Develop mangers and set and maintain standards. Look to develop competent and committed employees who are passionate about innovating. Reduce departmental silos and increase collaboration at every level.

    NW Natural2018-10-20
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Nice people, stable company, change-averse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NW Natural full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work/life balance. Great benefits and good compensation. Friendly staff and relatively low turnover. The company is very involved with the community and donates time and money to worthy causes.

    Cons

    Outdated technology, inefficient processes, and lack of innovation. Staff strive for consensus, rather than empowering someone to make a decision and set direction; this leads to an overabundance of unnecessary meetings. For office workers, limited training opportunities are available.

    Advice to Management

    Develop strategic plans at the department level. Empower staff with knowledge and experience to make decisions without requiring multiple levels of approval.

    NW Natural2018-05-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at NW Natural full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic Pay and amazing benefits

    Cons

    None really. I worked in the call center and it just wasn't for me.

    NW Natural2017-01-12
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Extremely Poor Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Compliance in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NW Natural for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None that I can remember.

    Cons

    I worked at NW Natural for over three years. Based on my experience, the managers I worked for were ego-driven, lacked people skills to manage, and would undermine anyone in their way. Based on my experience, I directly experienced and learned from others that the managers' I worked for severely abused their managerial powers, and HR was non-existent in the entire process. In over 35 years of working, the HR... department at NW Natural was definitely the worst and lacked the ability and foresight to represent all workers. NW Natural has proven to be an old organization with antiquated ways that severely lacks fresh ideas. In this day and age, it is not fine to promote people without college degrees into high-level executive positions. Likewise, all people within the company need to be held accountable for properly managing tasks, and diligently mentoring and training staff daily. Overall, my experience was poor and lacked purpose because of the poor leadership I experienced. It was a great day when I submitted my letter of resignation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting people into positions with limited experience (especially managers), people without direct field experience, and long-time employees without a formal college degree.

    NW Natural2017-02-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Laid back culture, extremely reliable industry. Lack of innovation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Specialist in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NW Natural full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. 4+ weeks of PTO. Inclusive culture, very nice cio-workers.

    Cons

    Ageing workforce, but little effort from the management to invest into and retain younger folks.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of open cubes layout, it's impossible to concentrate in constant chatter.

    NW Natural2017-01-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Benefits and Culure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NW Natural

    Pros

    Great benefits, compensation, and bonuses.

    Cons

    Lacking diversity and cross department advancements.

    Advice to Management

    Embrace employee input to achieve department goals.

    NW Natural2016-12-02
Found 25 reviews