NW Texas Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

NW Texas Healthcare Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Kyle Sanders
11 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NW Texas Healthcare

    Pros

    I loved working here. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Was able to schedule myself so it worked out great for my family and any vacations I wanted to take.

    Cons

    None that I know of.

    NW Texas Healthcare2017-08-23
  2. "Hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I have been working at NW Texas Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Good experience earned there. Fast paced. You see everything.

    Cons

    The same “ cons” that come with working at any hospital.

    NW Texas Healthcare2019-06-03
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NW Texas Healthcare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is good... lots of overtime

    Cons

    Majority of the nurses are novice. The turnover is so fast

    Advice to Management

    Hire more nurses

    NW Texas Healthcare2019-03-11
  4. "Registered Nurse - Emergency Room"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Amarillo, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at NW Texas Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast Pace, Great Doctors, Great Team Work, Get Trauma Expirience, Great CEO really wants to make a difference. Amazing Nurses, HEALTHCARE BENEFITS ARE THE BEST THING THEY HAVE TO OFFER.

    Cons

    Pay is VERY low compared to most hospitals, Very unorganized, High turnover, Management changes a lot. NEW Graduate Nurses are being offered more then Nurses with expirience.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your nurses MORE! Show you appreciate the hard work all staff does, keep your promises and stop the favoritism to nurses that aren't that great of nurses but your personal friends with. Train everyone in Trauma not just your friends.

    NW Texas Healthcare2018-12-31
  5. "Employment Review Northwest Texas Hospital System"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NW Texas Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Designated Trauma Center for the region.

    Cons

    This facility lacks overall cohesiveness and vision. It lacks employee incentive and recognition at all levels organizationally, with the exception of executives. It is very corporate driven, with majority of focus on financial performance.

    Advice to Management

    Employ executives that have a desire to be invested in the success of NWTHS. The constant turnover in leadership roles promotes inconsistency and breeds failure. The constant budget cuts and employee layoffs are indicative of the facility’s inability to recruit and retain employees.

    NW Texas Healthcare2018-10-13
  6. "TIRED RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Amarillo, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NW Texas Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Experience is plentiful. Great nurses to learn from.

    Cons

    Nurse to patient ratio is not safe. Management not professional.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your nurses. They need more support staff. Give PTO hours as needed.

    NW Texas Healthcare2018-10-25
  7. "Rn assessment coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Assessment Coordinator in Amarillo, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NW Texas Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    I work with a variety of patients who are seeking behavioral healthcare. My job requires independent work with the ability to exhibit good judgement

    Cons

    It is difficult to request schedule changes due to lack of staff

    Advice to Management

    Restructuring schedule to relate to peak time of business

    NW Texas Healthcare2018-09-23
  8. "Mental Health Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Amarillo, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at NW Texas Healthcare part-time

    Pros

    12 hour shifts, so fewer days required to work.

    Cons

    Literally the worst experience I have ever had. I liked working with the patients, but the management/coworkers made it unbearable. I ended up filing a case for sexual harassment. The person was taken care of. Management only cared about themselves. People kept quitting and we were severely understaffed. To the point that it was dangerous for the employee-to-patient ratio. Management kept adding tasks for the technicians...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start over. Consider the employees and think about why turnover is so high. Make people want to stay. COMPASSION COMPASSION COMPASSION!!!!!

    NW Texas Healthcare2018-10-13
  9. "Horrible place to work due to management in the lab. Only gave it one star cause I had to."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MT (ASCP) in Amarillo, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NW Texas Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The friends I met while working there were amazing. No matter how short staffed we were, everyone tried their hardest there.

    Cons

    Lying management that always chooses to put the blame on the worker bees instead of owning up to their own long list of mistakes. Unfair treatment and favoritism. Some phlebs label stuff wrong and get fired if it’s their first offense. Other’s wrong doings are covered up by management’s lies. It saddens me that healthcare has come down to quantity over quality. These are patient’s lives and they don’t care if people are...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get some new management for the lab so you can keep quality employees.

    NW Texas Healthcare2018-09-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "3 years at NW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NW Texas Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great teamwork, good learning opportunities

    Cons

    poor upper management, understaffed, burn out for new nurses, and unsafe patient ratios

    Advice to Management

    Learn your nurses and their needs and provide positive feedback not always negative. Compensate your nurses adequately rather than decreasing their pay

    NW Texas Healthcare2018-08-23
Found 32 reviews