NWEA Content Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Content Specialist

NWEA Content Specialist Reviews

Updated May 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
Chris Minnich
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "One of the best companies I have ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work at home with full benefits. The people (managers and co-workers) are supportive.

    Cons

    There are not a lot of chances to move up in the company.

    NWEA2013-10-18
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great PTO, but it's useless."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Content Specialist 

    I have been working at NWEA full-time

    Pros

    The ability to work remotely is nice.

    Cons

    We get great PTO! The only thing is, if you take off a week or more, you have to find someone to cover for you, because you are responsible to get the work done. So, it's really difficult to take vacation time, because you are so stressed with working more hours before or after your vacation to make up the work. (I don't think it's right to ask for someone else to cover for you.)

    Advice to Management

    Don't treat employees this way!!

    NWEA2019-05-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "A lot of changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Specialist in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and an important mission statement.

    Cons

    Poor communication from executive team to those below senior management.

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent and communicate with staff.

    NWEA2019-02-06
  4. "A wonderful company with a great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Specialist in Epping, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NWEA for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive, encouraging environment. Brilliant coworkers that have invested their hearts and talents into the company mission. Transparent leadership.

    Cons

    Outdated technology, frequent reorganization (but not frequent layoffs).

    NWEA2018-06-11
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Content Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Specialist in Portland, OR
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work that I am passionate about. Good benefits. Allowed to work from home two days a week.

    Cons

    Path for growth not clearly articulated. Salary compression within the Content Specialist jobs and inequitable pay. Many colleagues lack assessment experience outside of NWEA.

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers who lead well and can set the tone. Do not promote people into management roles if they are not suited to the work.

    NWEA2018-03-26
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Good for the most part."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Specialist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great time off and work balance. Work from home two days a week. The office is nice, too.

    Cons

    Managers are inconsistent in giving promotions. Expectations for growth are not clear. Few employees of color.

    NWEA2018-01-15
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Content specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Science Content Specialist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NWEA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people, good salary, interesting work, pleasant work environment, reasonable work hours, great benefits, excellent retirement plan.

    Cons

    Frequent turn over of staff and reshuffling of management positions, job titles and teams. Sometimes ambiguous new initiatives, policies, procedures and seemingly constant need for reinventing the wheel and being overly innovative. Office politics, old guard and senior staff clickiness, organizational silos, and occasional poor middle management. The best workers are not always recognized and rewarded.

    Advice to Management

    Agree on the best process. Make sure everyone thoroughly understands it. Document it. Middle managers need more time and flexibility to supervise and manage their teams. A manager who does not understand the strengths and weaknesses of a team will make poor decisions. Middle managers should only manage people within their own content area.There are too many meetings for middle managers who are being pulled in too many...

    Show More
    NWEA2016-01-06
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Not a good place to work due to poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Specialist in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NWEA

    Pros

    The benefits package is pretty good.

    Cons

    Poor communication, lack of organization made this a dismal situation for me.

    Advice to Management

    Communication and planning needs improvement. You lack of organization and thoroughness causes problems for your content specialists.

    NWEA2012-03-14
Found 8 reviews