NWEA Reviews | Glassdoor

NWEA Reviews

Updated Jun 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 103 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Chris Minnich
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Benefits, mission and they care about kids(in 16 reviews)

  • "There is also a great sense of work life balance, that is supported by senior management(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management with personal agendas allowed to dictate how teams are formed or disassembled without regard for the people involved(in 7 reviews)

  • "Middle management has taken over via onerous process that provides no benefit(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I feel empowered to do my work, build my team and now we are creating a strong peer leadership team for our department. We are getting results as an organization and I've never been more confident of our future.

    Cons

    It's still too hard to work with some of the teams across the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Ask the tough questions and probe beneath the surface. We are weeding out bad habits, but some people still manage up while creating chaos around them and their EVP is none the wiser.

    NWEA2019-06-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Very good benefits ... good people ... changing focus quite a bit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    NWEA Contributes 15% of your salary to their 403 (B) Good range of benefits Free parking for full timers in downtown Portland Free TriMet Annual Pass Education Reimbursement up to ~$1200 or something like that Exec Team communicates a lot ... could be confusing at times

    Cons

    Seem to be continually changing our focus on what is important

    NWEA2019-05-08
  3. "Changing so fast, it is confusing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great relationships hi with co workers. Management change in Dec. 2018 and changes coming left and right. Teams are often last to know and at times last minute. Great learning opportunities

    Cons

    The rate of change and uncertainty as to what comes next. Need to include all staff in communication, don'y leave out part time people.

    NWEA2019-05-14
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great benefits, poor leadership planning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    NWEA is a great place to work when considering the mission and the benefits. Being able to work in an industry where you can meet people walking down the street and they know the product you make, and are actually happy to talk with you about it, rather than being part of the "evil corporation" crowd, is a major plus. The team members are also very amazing to work with. There are different cultures on each floor, for...

    Show More

    Cons

    Morale is very low after the new CEO arrived, and as we continue to cost cut. There were a few rounds of layoffs, and at each subsequent company meeting, we are hearing about the statistics of the number of employees who are looking for new work, or are disgruntled by some of the changes that have happened, of which are both good and bad depending on your perspective. Very short handed on resources, deadlines are missed...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on employees, not raw numbers. Stop cutting back on benefits. Realize that your employees are your largest asset, and stop trying to squeeze blood from turnips.

    NWEA2019-05-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great PTO, but it's useless."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Content Specialist 

      I have been working at NWEA full-time

      Pros

      The ability to work remotely is nice.

      Cons

      We get great PTO! The only thing is, if you take off a week or more, you have to find someone to cover for you, because you are responsible to get the work done. So, it's really difficult to take vacation time, because you are so stressed with working more hours before or after your vacation to make up the work. (I don't think it's right to ask for someone else to cover for you.)

      Advice to Management

      Don't treat employees this way!!

      NWEA2019-05-06
    • "Great pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Manager in Brooklyn, NY

        I worked at NWEA full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        salary was at 16 hour

        Cons

        none it was great compnay

        Advice to Management

        none

        NWEA2019-05-08
      • "Amazing place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Director in Portland, OR
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at NWEA full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Great culture, opportunities for advancement, interesting work, smart colleagues

        Cons

        Parking can be challenging some days.

        NWEA2019-03-30
      • "Love the Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Learning Consultant 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at NWEA full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Culture is Amazing. You'll never find another place where people are so understanding than this one.

        Cons

        During busy seasons, there is not a lot of time to see your family.

        NWEA2019-03-19
      • Helpful (8)

        "Frustrating Place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        great benefits good central location with parking get to work with/for educators for some reason, despite the cons, things seem to carry on

        Cons

        Very frustrating place to work - impossible to get traction for projects that seem important. Departments are run by cliques and politics and unwillingness to collaborate even though that is the directive. Finger pointing when things don't go as planned.

        Advice to Management

        see above

        NWEA2019-02-24
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Org Leader in Portland, OR
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Smart colleagues, great mission, top notch benefits, competitive compensation.

        Cons

        Going through change and it is exciting and challenging. Management levels need to step up their game and become organization wide leaders, communicators, and cross-team collaborators.

        Advice to Management

        Communicate, communicate, communicate. If you said it once you need to say it 5 more times. Really work with your managers to be good communicators as well as good cross-team collaborators.

        NWEA2019-02-12
      Found 103 reviews