NWEA Reviews | Glassdoor

NWEA Reviews

Updated 28 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 104 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
NWEA CEO Chris Minnich (no image)
Chris Minnich
15 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I feel empowered to do my work, build my team and now we are creating a strong peer leadership team for our department. We are getting results as an organization and I've never been more confident of our future.

    Cons

    It's still too hard to work with some of the teams across the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Ask the tough questions and probe beneath the surface. We are weeding out bad habits, but some people still manage up while creating chaos around them and their EVP is none the wiser.

    NWEA2019-06-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Very good benefits ... good people ... changing focus quite a bit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    NWEA Contributes 15% of your salary to their 403 (B) Good range of benefits Free parking for full timers in downtown Portland Free TriMet Annual Pass Education Reimbursement up to ~$1200 or something like that Exec Team communicates a lot ... could be confusing at times

    Cons

    Seem to be continually changing our focus on what is important

    NWEA2019-05-08
  3. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NWEA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture, opportunities for advancement, interesting work, smart colleagues

    Cons

    Parking can be challenging some days.

    NWEA2019-03-30
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Org Leader in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Smart colleagues, great mission, top notch benefits, competitive compensation.

    Cons

    Going through change and it is exciting and challenging. Management levels need to step up their game and become organization wide leaders, communicators, and cross-team collaborators.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate, communicate, communicate. If you said it once you need to say it 5 more times. Really work with your managers to be good communicators as well as good cross-team collaborators.

    NWEA2019-02-12
  5. "NWEA Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, mission and they care about kids

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    NWEA2017-12-19
  6. "Best Educational Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Retirement contribution, medical benefits, in-house benefits (massage, acupuncture, cafe), location, great vision/mission, passionate organization, work/life balance, yearly public transportation pass, parking, downtown location, complementary access to Chinese Gardens, ping pong tables, great staff, technology, diversity, meeting needs of employees

    Cons

    a lot of senior management

    NWEA2017-07-25
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great organization. Going through growth, but doing all the right things!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Mission, really great people, excellent pay/benes, commitment to do the right things, exciting innovations.

    Cons

    Growth comes with some challenges - you need to be committed to being part of the solution and working as part of a larger team if you want to be successful in the long-term here.

    Advice to Management

    Continue staying laser focused on top goals. Continue to hold staff accountable (when they are toxic). Continue to invest in leadership development.

    NWEA2017-07-10
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Learning 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are all really talented, smart and driven to do right by kids and teachers. The retirement and benefits are excellent and the culture is focused strongly on the people.

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of anything right now

    NWEA2017-05-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Best place to work in Portland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, 401K, PTO, on-site acupuncture, on-site massage, telecommute advocacy, great location in downtown PDX on max line, meaningful work, great culture, super smart coworkers.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of... office is a little crowded sometimes due to growth.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! Would love to see telecommute advocacy encouraged even further so folks don't have to commute as much. Otherwise great!

    NWEA2017-03-15
  10. "Mission Driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time

    Pros

    Fascinating work Smart, passionate people Chance to make a real difference in K12 education

    Cons

    Lots of projects and sometimes priorities conflict

    Advice to Management

    Clarify roles and decisions

    NWEA2017-02-09
Found 104 reviews
</>Embed