NWEA Reviews | Glassdoor

NWEA Reviews

Updated Jul 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 111 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Chris Minnich
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Frustrating Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great benefits good central location with parking get to work with/for educators for some reason, despite the cons, things seem to carry on

    Cons

    Very frustrating place to work - impossible to get traction for projects that seem important. Departments are run by cliques and politics and unwillingness to collaborate even though that is the directive. Finger pointing when things don't go as planned.

    Advice to Management

    see above

    NWEA2019-02-24
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Org Leader in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Smart colleagues, great mission, top notch benefits, competitive compensation.

    Cons

    Going through change and it is exciting and challenging. Management levels need to step up their game and become organization wide leaders, communicators, and cross-team collaborators.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate, communicate, communicate. If you said it once you need to say it 5 more times. Really work with your managers to be good communicators as well as good cross-team collaborators.

    NWEA2019-02-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good perks and benefits, but a tough environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NWEA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and perks, including retirement, PTO, and transporation

    Cons

    It's a white man's world, even in the world of supposed diversity initiatives.

    Advice to Management

    Talk to people outside your inner circle.

    NWEA2019-02-17
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Run away if you can. Dysfunction abounds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Location, parking, PTO, retirement, and the views are really cool

    Cons

    Not only is the place run by people who don't know how to run a successful business, we are regularly told to lie to customers (partners) about the services we can (or will) provide. We are told to embellish upon the services we provide in a way that looks like we are competent and cutting edge. The reality is this is an antiquated product with a slapped-together technology infrastructure, on an outdated platform. ...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get the product working, then start again. Lying to school districts and educators is immoral and outright wrong.

    NWEA2019-03-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A lot of changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Specialist in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and an important mission statement.

    Cons

    Poor communication from executive team to those below senior management.

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent and communicate with staff.

    NWEA2019-02-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Felt like a cult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NWEA

    Pros

    Offices were generally nice. Except for the homless people sleeping out front and feeling unsafe after dark!

    Cons

    Strange culture. Felt like I was working in a cult. with a split brain.

    NWEA2019-01-11
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Values have no meaning here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NWEA full-time

    Pros

    There are some great people - in pockets of the organization Benefits are amazing

    Cons

    Change is not a part of their vocabulary The good 'ol boys club runs rampant Don't even think about being innovative Staff make a lot of assumptions and base everything off of those - especially regarding other staff They are trying to take on too many things without the appropriate staff Company values are thrown in your face like they mean something - when the leaders of this org don't live by anything unless it...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stick to what you do best If you want to add new products, be sure you listen to those with experience in that area Quit allowing a few leaders in the org to run the entire org/hold it hostage Live by your values

    NWEA2018-11-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Seasonal Professional Development Facilitator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PTSE in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NWEA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent vision and dedication toward it, top notch colleagues and continual progress toward meeting goals. All voices are heard including clients and the organization works to improve based on solid feedback. Really great company to work with.

    Cons

    Not as many opportunities for jobs as a Part-Time Facilitator. Receiving assignments became competitive as full-time facilitators were allowed to choose assignments which used to be reserved for part-time facilitators.

    NWEA2018-10-14
  9. "Excellent company for freelancers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at NWEA for less than a year

    Pros

    My time freelancing for NWEA has been excellent. The work is interesting, the pay is very good, and I feel supported and respected by my supervisor. I would absolutely recommend this company.

    Cons

    Truly, I don't have any so far.

    NWEA2018-09-28
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Wait for the dust to settle."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NWEA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The benefits and pay and the mission are great. However, the new CEO seems to be moving towards temp contractors without the same benefits.

    Cons

    New CEO wants to make his mark and thinks they need a lot fewer employees. They just had a round of summer soft layoffs. Other departments were told they couldn't replace anyone who left. They dropped a project we made a multi-year commitment to.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lie to people about the budget and all the layoffs. You're losing the best people when we see that our jobs aren't safe and that people who leave aren't replaced. I had one foot out the door as soon as those layoffs started.

    NWEA2018-09-10
Found 111 reviews