NWYC Reviews | Glassdoor

NWYC Reviews

Updated July 15, 2017
43 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
NWYC CEO Chris Adamson
Chris Adamson
25 Ratings

43 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Most the employees have been here over 15 years, so home office staff turnover is very low (in 4 reviews)

  • There is a great training regimen that prepares new people (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • You must be self motivated and willing so see some clients early in the morning (in 4 reviews)

  • We still do have to see the people (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (8)

    "Membership Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate District Manager & National Trainer in Overland Park, KS
    Current Employee - Associate District Manager & National Trainer in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWYC full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Our associates are the best of the best. We operate at a level of integrity and respect far beyond usual corporate expectations. This is the most transparent company you will find. We truly care about the success and growth potential of every candidate. As long as you are willing to invest in your own success, we are more than willing to invest in you! Your work ethic will determine your success and your income. Feel free to give yourself a raise anytime. We will come alongside you and show you how. 150-200 k in a few years is truly accessible.

    Cons

    This is the most worthwhile work you could do and the most difficult simultaneously. Saving a nation is hard work. You must be a hunter who can manage attitude and effort. Fearlessness is necessary when cold calling. 100% commission means there is no guarantee and no cap on earnings.

    Advice to Management

    We are in a tremendous growth cycle which means there is huge potential for management opportunities.

    NWYC Response

    Mar 16, 2017 – Director of Social Media/Recruiting

    Thank you for your review.


  2. "Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWYC full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You are your own boss

    Cons

    California is Difficult State to Work

    Advice to Management

    Base salary and Commission instead of 100% Commission

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OUTSIDE SALES in Nashville, TN
    Current Employee - OUTSIDE SALES in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWYC full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Culture that encourages risk and has tremendous rewards. Owners that care about the people working here. A great training program that shows how much we care.

    Cons

    Making our name better known so we aren't the best kept secret anymore.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to the field. Never get too far away from the direct salespeople we have.

    NWYC Response

    Apr 8, 2017 – Director of Social Media/Recruiting

    Thank you taking the time to leave a review.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great People and a Real Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Charleston, SC
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWYC full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Simply the best training and employer I have ever had in my long career. Not only does a new sales rep get some great in-field training and support the first month and more, the rep then gets to go to an advanced training at headquarters in TX- so useful and well formatted!
    In addition, the job to help small businesses gain an effective voice to Congress and receive actual facts and updates is what our Founding Fathers would be very proud of!
    If outside sales is in your general interest, this is for you.

    Cons

    Independent contractor position, but NWYC helps support the ability to put aside the taxes and insurance money needed.
    Orders still done somewhat manually and on the computer also, could be streamlined.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the impressive training format and support, it really makes a difference!

    NWYC Response

    Mar 24, 2017 – Director of Social Media/Recruiting

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Territory Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Territory Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWYC full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It is my job, like my own business. I get paid well for my hard work. I get to keep my book of business year after year by renewing them in person, so I make more money every year. The company has been around a long time. The training is good and they don't just forget about you.

    Cons

    The first year, especially the first few months were not the easiest. I had to learn a presentations to start and they are serious about that. It was worth it, though.

    NWYC Response

    Mar 16, 2017 – Director of Social Media/Recruiting

    Thank you for the review.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Wichita, KS
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NWYC full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The money is real, the opportunities exist.

    Cons

    Finding people to contribute can be challenging.

    NWYC Response

    Mar 16, 2017 – Director of Social Media/Recruiting

    Thank you for taking the time to review National Write Your Congressman.


  7. Helpful (9)

    "Outside Sales Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sale Representative in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Outside Sale Representative in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWYC full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    NWYC is a good place to be. I've worked here for three years and plan to continue until I retire. It is the best "job" I have had, but I would not even call it that. It is more of a mission that actually pays me very well. I was trained well and continue to get training when I need it, even now, and I am a trainer myself.

    Cons

    I work very hard, and sometimes I run into people who have no interest or theur frustration with the country is overwhelming. I have to keep going to get to see the people who want a membership. Some weeks are lighter than others, so I have to plan for that when I have a great week or month. In the beginning it was harder than it is now. If you cannot work alone, this is not for you.

    Advice to Management

    I love the recognition we get. Please don't change.

    NWYC Response

    May 20, 2016 – Director of Social Media/Recruiting

    Thank you for taking the time to review us!

  8. Helpful (8)

    "A Company with Heart!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Recruiting Director in Richardson, TX
    Current Employee - National Recruiting Director in Richardson, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NWYC full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Established company, since 1958. No layoffs, ever.
    Treats home office staff and sales force like family. Recently updated employee handbook and started regular home office meetings. This helps keep everyone updated and on the same page. Home office staff if very close-knit group and works really hard to support the nationwide sales force and members.
    Nonpartisan information, rare these days!
    Constantly working on new apps to help members easily stay informed on pending legislative issues tax changes etc.
    Focused on getting people informed AND involved in government issues. "We the People"

    Cons

    Although a nation-wide company, it can still feel like a small family owned company. Some people love that (I do), but others have a more difficult time adjusting to that type of structure.
    Minimal room for advancement within home office positions. On the other hand, each position has more opportunities then you would in a large corporation.

    NWYC Response

    May 20, 2016 – Director of Social Media/Recruiting

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review!


  9. Helpful (3)

    "B2B Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - B2B Sales Representative in Pleasant Grove, UT
    Former Employee - B2B Sales Representative in Pleasant Grove, UT

    I worked at NWYC (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good company and office support

    Cons

    Lack in real time training


  10. Helpful (5)

    "So far ... so good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Field Representative in Cape Girardeau, MO
    Current Employee - Field Representative in Cape Girardeau, MO

    I have been working at NWYC full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I'm just coming on board with this company and I have to say... it feels good to be offering something to the public that actually HELPS our country.

    Cons

    So far I haven't found anything!

    NWYC Response

    Jan 26, 2016 – Director of Social Media/Recruiting

    Thank you for your review! We wish you much success in your new career!!


Showing 43 of 51 reviews
Reset Filters