NY Department of Taxation Reviews | Glassdoor

NY Department of Taxation Reviews

Updated Sep 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
52%
Recommend to a Friend
14%
Approve of CEO
NY Department of Taxation Acting Commissioner and Executive Deputy Commissioner Taxation and Finance Jamie Woodward (no image)
Jamie Woodward
12 Ratings
  1. "It was a very interesting and new experience to work at a more professional environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NY Department of Taxation

    Pros

    As a Temporary TIA, we were paid about $15 per hour for about 35.5 hours a week so the pay was good. The work environment was very lovely as well as were the people I worked with and my supervisors.

    Cons

    The parking could get crazy and you may have to walk a long distance from the parking lot to your work building.

    NY Department of Taxation2019-07-30
  2. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Auditor 

    I have been working at NY Department of Taxation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to start your career

    Cons

    Pay is a bit low

    NY Department of Taxation2019-09-28
  3. "Very easy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Data Entry in Albany, NY

    I worked at NY Department of Taxation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work is mostly easy

    Cons

    temp work for the duration of tax season

    NY Department of Taxation2019-06-14
  4. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Dyersburg, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NY Department of Taxation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing is worth a pro

    Cons

    Management training pay and hours

    Continue reading
    NY Department of Taxation2019-07-16
  5. "Professional Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auditor in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at NY Department of Taxation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Steady pay and benefits, training, rotational opportunities, treated with respect, work-life balance.

    Cons

    Pay rate, limited promotion opportunities,

    NY Department of Taxation2019-04-24
  6. "Interesting work, but no chance at promotion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Auditor I 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NY Department of Taxation full-time

    Pros

    -Interesting work. -Good benefits -Relatively low stress environment

    Cons

    -No promotional/advancement opportunities -Having to do the work of some higher grade employees due to lack of accountability by management.

    Continue reading
    NY Department of Taxation2019-04-01
  7. "Overall Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forensic Auditor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NY Department of Taxation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The experience of working with group is very intimate and maganenet is very supportive.

    Cons

    As with any company there are some cons, but the majority is pros.

    Continue reading
    NY Department of Taxation2019-03-09
  8. "apply elsewhere if you want to remain sane"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NY Department of Taxation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    none, unless your a zombie who needs no human contact

    Cons

    every single one you can think about

    Continue reading
    NY Department of Taxation2019-03-08
  9. "Tax auditor I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Auditor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NY Department of Taxation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance and flexible hours. . . Work atmosphere is good, coworkers are nice and friendly. . . .

    Cons

    Competitive salary for the first two years and after that, salary doesn't keep up with industry. Best to leave before you reach 5 years in this job, otherwise you're stuck. Career advancement is non-existent, exams come every 4 years and promotion are not based on performance.

    Continue reading
    NY Department of Taxation2018-12-23
  10. "serves it's purpose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at NY Department of Taxation full-time

    Pros

    good job for those just beginning

    Cons

    bad management that micromanages.

    NY Department of Taxation2018-11-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 42 reviews