NYC Department of Human Resource Administration Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Intern

NYC Department of Human Resource Administration Intern Reviews

Updated Sep 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
58%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
NYC Department of Human Resource Administration Commissioner Steven Banks
Steven Banks
1 Rating
  1. "A Stable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in New York, NY
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NYC Department of Human Resource Administration for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything is run mostly smoothly and not much goes wrong

    Cons

    Not much to say here

    NYC Department of Human Resource Administration2019-09-01
  2. "Summer Intern Bureau of Claims and Reimbursement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at NYC Department of Human Resource Administration for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a lot of focus and the tasks are pretty simple.

    Cons

    I learned a lot but not that much from the internship

    Continue reading
    NYC Department of Human Resource Administration2016-12-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Legal Intern In Legal Affairs Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Legal Intern in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at NYC Department of Human Resource Administration for less than a year

    Pros

    The position was a paid position, so that is always a pro, and the people there were very nice.

    Cons

    Like an other government hob, there were often times that the place was very unorganized. I filed over 100 boxes full of files, it was insane! It was pretty much what I did all Summer.

    NYC Department of Human Resource Administration2016-08-22
  4. "NYC HRA Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NYC Department of Human Resource Administration

    Pros

    Chill environment and nice people

    Cons

    Boring job, gave me almost no work

    NYC Department of Human Resource Administration2015-04-04
  5. "The working atmosphere was comfortable and stress free. The building is located within the financial district."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NYC Department of Human Resource Administration for less than a year

    Pros

    everyone was friendly and there was not a lot of stress associated with the job.

    Cons

    I can see that there isn't much room for advancement.

    NYC Department of Human Resource Administration2015-02-28
  6. "Lack of opportunities for interns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NYC Department of Human Resource Administration for less than a year

    Pros

    -Typical office environment -Flexible schedule -Easy going people

    Cons

    -Lack of productivity(typical of government jobs) -Lazy workers

    Continue reading
    NYC Department of Human Resource Administration2015-02-18
  7. "Not too difficult but not terribly exciting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Research Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at NYC Department of Human Resource Administration for less than a year

    Pros

    + Manageable amount of work, nothing too overwhelming + Lots of opportunities to meet other HRA interns + Direct interaction with manager and other coworkers + Friendly people + Sufficient training/overview intro day, got a good vibe of the organization and how they treat their employees

    Cons

    No major cons - I was a super part time intern because of a second job so they were very flexible with accommodating my schedule

    NYC Department of Human Resource Administration2014-08-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Too slow for Intens"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NYC Department of Human Resource Administration

    Pros

    Have alot of free time to look up things on the internet Talk to people about their personal life (People are very open and frendly) Hours are flexable

    Cons

    its a government job people are very easy going and everything can wait until tomorrow to them interns just do research and get minimum hands on experience When Leaving the internship Director offers a jobs but isn't true. it is very unorangized and very slow paced environment

    NYC Department of Human Resource Administration2014-06-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Breeze. Couldn't have been more comfortable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at NYC Department of Human Resource Administration

    Pros

    Lot of leeway to plan your work. Flexible targets.

    Cons

    Hierarchial. Will make you slow.

    NYC Department of Human Resource Administration2010-12-12
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A Very Mixed Bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Applications Developer Intern in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at NYC Department of Human Resource Administration

    Pros

    A friendly, relaxed environment allows working and learning at an individual pace. Hours are not set in stone, and generous leeway is usually granted when requesting time off. Anyone with a tendency to cycle between being unable to get their head in the game one day and working themselves to the bone the next is bound to appreciate the flexibility offered here.

    Cons

    Working with technologies half a decade out of date will result in experience which is minimally (if at all) viable during subsequent job hunting in the private sector. Being surrounded solely by retrained old-timers and recent college graduates means no access to expert guidance/mentoring. Regrettably, management appears to have no training or understanding of the skills which their subordinates make daily use of, hampering both worker-supervisor communication and proper appraisal of employee value.

    Continue reading
    NYC Department of Human Resource Administration2010-06-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 12 reviews