NYGC Reviews | Glassdoor

NYGC Reviews

Updated Aug 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Tom Maniatis, PhD
5 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work & Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NYGC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers! Fun atmosphere! Amazing onsite IT! A place where you can grow and choose your success.

    Cons

    None worth mentioning. The pros far out weight any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on market trends and demands. Clinical sequencing is the future...

    NYGC2019-08-04
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Poorly managed, runs on donations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NYGC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good facilities, good benefits, okay salaries.

    Cons

    Horrible management. Most people in high level positions were promoted early on just because they were here to fill voids when the place was getting started. And they won’t leave because they can’t get similar titles/salaries anywhere else, they’re under-qualified and lack management skills. They’re the in-group who make decisions here but lack vision, strategy and any motivation to improve things. They’re happy with...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Giving advice to management/HR is useless. Only way to improve things is to replace senior management and take power away from people who have been here almost since its inception. This place will continue its downward trajectory until that happens.

    NYGC2019-04-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Missed Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NYGC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    NYGC has the basis to be a a real contender in the biotech, genome seq, big data field

    Cons

    Constant turnover of upper management whose ideas to bring new life to NYGC, as well as internal upset and unappreciated key employees leaves a lot to be desired

    Advice to Management

    Find a plan. Stick to it. Let scientists be scientists and communicate between departments.

    NYGC2019-02-07
  4. "Packaging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Packaging in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NYGC part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to work Good Management Dedicated employees

    Cons

    No benefits Needs more employees and staff

    NYGC2018-11-01
  5. "NYGC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at NYGC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Provides a great atmosphere to work in. Bright staff all around. Exceptional skills across the board.

    Cons

    Could be slow at times.

    NYGC2018-10-31
  6. "Associate Scientist III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at NYGC full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, good work life balance.

    Cons

    Management positions seemed a little crowded. A lot of cooks in the kitchen.

    NYGC2018-10-10
  7. "Current Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at NYGC full-time

    Pros

    Brilliant, dedicated scientists; collegial atmosphere

    Cons

    Startup challenges; benefits could be better

    NYGC2018-08-24
  8. "Teamwork & Work/Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NYGC full-time

    Pros

    Great teamwork within departments. Opportunities to learn and grow. Positive work/life balance.

    Cons

    Changing environment - need to be adaptable.

    Advice to Management

    Interdepartmental culture could improve.

    NYGC2018-08-24
  9. "Awesome Facility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at NYGC full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed my time at NYGC - great facility, state the art equipment, bright laboratories, great views, awesome location.

    Cons

    I feel that I grew out of the company quickly as there is no room to grow - new titles/promotions are given to keep people at the company but compensation doesn't match the title.

    Advice to Management

    NYGC has a lot of potential to be great - we should take advantage of this.

    NYGC2018-08-24
  10. "Strong scientific leadership; exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NYGC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The new CEO and Scientific Director Tom Maniatis, has brought new strategic vision to NYGC, and there's pioneering genomic research going on within the Center

    Cons

    Fast paced, dynamic environment; if you're not at the top of your game, you shouldn't be here

    NYGC2018-08-20
Found 50 reviews