NYX Cosmetics Reviews | Glassdoor

NYX Cosmetics Reviews

Updated Sep 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "You get 50% off for employee discount(in 7 reviews)

  • "50% employee discount, gratis on the newest products, fun environment(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "They discourage full face applications and spending too much time doing makeup applications which was hugely disappointing for me(in 4 reviews)

  • "There isnt much of a work life balance(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at NYX Cosmetics part-time

    Pros

    Experience , people, service, environment location

    Cons

    Time management, management, HR, LAck of time busy

    NYX Cosmetics2019-03-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "At the end of the day its a big corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Torrance, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at NYX Cosmetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    50% discount on NYX product and 30% off L'Oreal products.

    Cons

    management only applies policy against people they dislike and look the other way for the rest of employees

    Advice to Management

    be fair with everyone

    NYX Cosmetics2019-09-04
  3. "Ok I guess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Arcadia, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at NYX Cosmetics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to grow in the company

    Cons

    Will make you work like a dog and refuse to pay you more

    NYX Cosmetics2019-07-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "NYX cosmetics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Keyholder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NYX Cosmetics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount Building clientele Working with the public

    Cons

    The pay is small amount. They want you to make so much money for them, and u only get 20 hours tops as a sales associate. And no growth opportunities unless someone leaves. Sometimes u have to come in once a month to do a hour training. You don’t even get to really do makeup.

    NYX Cosmetics2019-06-23
  5. "Worked with nyx for over 2 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NYX Cosmetics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Build relationships with clients Your staff becomes your second family

    Cons

    Definitely not enough pay for what they expect you to do. You barley get any gratis anymore Hours do get cut & can work very small hours

    Advice to Management

    Upper management needs to be more organized

    NYX Cosmetics2019-04-16
  6. "Current employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NYX Cosmetics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    NYX is a company that is always concerned about creating new things, becoming even more efficient and it is a pleasure to imagine myself working with this team.

    Cons

    Working with NYX can be an adventure, even because it is a place that everyone knows and loves, as an employee, I want to give 100% of myself. Nothing bad can come from this work.

    Advice to Management

    It is a pleasure to write for this team. I worked as a cast member at Walt Disney World in Orlando, and I learned how important it is to create the best for the guests. This is what I want to do for NYX.

    NYX Cosmetics2019-02-12
  7. "It’s who you know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Key Holder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at NYX Cosmetics for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of hours, fun coworkers

    Cons

    Not enough pay, Overly worked

    NYX Cosmetics2019-01-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Manager - Supply Chain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NYX Cosmetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great pay - Great benefits - Great coworkers - Summer hours!

    Cons

    - Certain depts are overworked. - Growth is limited unless willing to move to NY or NJ

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! But please stop moving toward the more corporate Loreal culture. Keep NYX fun and laid back!

    NYX Cosmetics2018-10-04
  9. "Poorly Run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Keyholder in La Jolla, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NYX Cosmetics for less than a year

    Pros

    Love the brand and the product! Excellent if you like to express yourself with daring makeup!

    Cons

    Nothing ever gets done. The management is extremely inefficient and all over the place. I interviewed and it took them a month to get back to me and invite me in to do a makeover. And then another month to get back to me after that, and a long, drawn out onboarding process following. It was ridiculous. The management clearly played favorites, gave strange hours, and drove me to resign in the end. This is not how a... business should be run.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get it together! There was no sense of direction or accountability! The only reason the store was floating is because of brand name.

    NYX Cosmetics2018-10-30
  10. "coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NYX Cosmetics full-time

    Pros

    PTO, nice people, happy hours, great culture, great management

    Cons

    there are none that I can think of

    NYX Cosmetics2018-08-18
Found 68 reviews