NYX Cosmetics "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

NYX Cosmetics Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated Nov 18, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
53%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "You get 50% off for employee discount(in 7 reviews)

  • "50% employee discount, gratis on the newest products, fun environment(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "They discourage full face applications and spending too much time doing makeup applications which was hugely disappointing for me(in 4 reviews)

  • "There isnt much of a work life balance(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "I love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I have been working at NYX Cosmetics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% employee discount, gratis on the newest products, fun environment. very flexible with schedule . get to meet new people everyday.

    Cons

    the hours given are short

    NYX Cosmetics2017-11-16
  2. "Sales Assosiate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at NYX Cosmetics part-time

    Pros

    Employee discount, ability to work on/with clients and get hands on makeup experience, great place to start if you are young with no bills

    Cons

    If you're looking to grow as an artist I wouldn't recommend, no commission/ low pay

    NYX Cosmetics2018-02-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good in the beginning then downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at NYX Cosmetics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get 50% off for employee discount

    Cons

    Almost every thing else.

    Continue reading
    NYX Cosmetics2018-02-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NYX Cosmetics full-time

    Pros

    50% off employee discount and that’s about it

    Cons

    The upper management needs to get it together. The company open too many store at once and when upper management came to support, they barely in store, just went shopping in stead. District manager really all about favoritism.

    Continue reading
    NYX Cosmetics2018-03-13
  5. "Needs improvement in EVERY aspect imaginable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Bloomington, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NYX Cosmetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers became my long-term friends. Flexible hours. 50% employee discount for NYX and any other brand owned by L'Oréal (aka almost everything in the beauty world).

    Cons

    Extremely underpaid. They don't take into consideration that you're an adult with bills to pay. I was a full time employee who got paid more than most other coworkers. Even taking that into consideration, I was still being low balled in comparison to what I should have been being paid for all the duties I had under my belt. OVER WORKED and UNDER APPRECIATED. This is a HUGE pattern. It doesn't matter who you are or what your job title is........it's inevitable. I cannot tell you how many times I've seen people cry (including myself) at work due to to immense amount of stress they put on you. Even if you were to finish 10 impossible tasks in one day......they will never tell you "good job" only pick out what you didn't do good enough. I understand feedback in order to improve(in fact I typically encourage it), but considering I worked there for a little over a year, and was a part of the management team.....I've maybe received about 5 (MAX) positive reinforcements from my bosses. Making it a very negative place of work. Lack of communication from corporate. Lack of artistry, and product knowledge. While I worked there, only about 2% of employees knew anything about makeup or how to apply it. Unorganized in every aspect you could think of. If you're thinking of working for this company, I'd reconsider.

    Continue reading
    NYX Cosmetics2017-09-06
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NYX Cosmetics

    Pros

    Great employee discount, 50 percent off on nyx and Loreal own brands Great way for inspired makeup artists to build experience Good working relationships with employees within the store

    Cons

    Barely any gratis, and if there is gratis, good chance you already got same products before No brand training, only product updates through email or conference that only management team hear Horrible pay hourly, no commission at all Favoritism Horrible hours, at times you can work between 10 to 15 hours week Never any products to sell, and warehouse always sends 50 of the same products that's not selling to the store

    Continue reading
    NYX Cosmetics2017-04-03
  7. "Growning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at NYX Cosmetics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    employee discount lots of gratis true open door policy with management many suggestions are received and implemented or improved upon

    Cons

    disorganized at times with conference calls, promotions

    Continue reading
    NYX Cosmetics2018-11-19
Found 7 reviews