NYX Cosmetics "gratis" Reviews | Glassdoor

NYX Cosmetics Employee Reviews about "gratis"

Updated 18 Nov 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
53%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "You get 50% off for employee discount(in 7 reviews)

  • "50% employee discount, gratis on the newest products, fun environment(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "They discourage full face applications and spending too much time doing makeup applications which was hugely disappointing for me(in 4 reviews)

  • "There isnt much of a work life balance(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "gratis"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "I love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I have been working at NYX Cosmetics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% employee discount, gratis on the newest products, fun environment. very flexible with schedule . get to meet new people everyday.

    Cons

    the hours given are short

    NYX Cosmetics2017-11-16
  2. "It was good while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NYX Cosmetics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good starter work experience for someone who wants to laearns about the beauty industry. Occasional gratis

    Cons

    In house management isn’t always the best The pay is very low There is no orientation so you’re teaching yourself as you go If you are seasoned artist Who has been in the industry for who has Been in the industry for long time know that your skill set would be used to basically teach your team everyone there is either in the beginning stages of the make up Carrer and no nothing or someone who’s been in a high-end... brands and isn’t using their full potential

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To really establish a growth for the people recognized for their talents and work ethic

    NYX Cosmetics2018-08-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Keyholder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at NYX Cosmetics part-time

    Pros

    Gratis, Coworkers, discount, customers, makeup

    Cons

    Management, pay, hours, environment, work balance

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees better, you’re making so much money and you don’t support your artists well at all.

    NYX Cosmetics2018-08-09
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Dissapointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at NYX Cosmetics part-time

    Pros

    Fun, Gratis, Flexible hours, Evolving

    Cons

    Low Pay, Low Hours, Company concepts aren't executed well

    Advice to Management

    It really disappoints me how much this company continues to go downhill considering the fact that i LOVE this brand and was sooooooo excited to have a chance to work for them. Everything was perfect starting off... now as NYX continues to open up stores all over the world, it seems that they forget about their existing ones, now having employees in a system where they can ONLY be scheduled for 4 hours at a time and... the base pay for a MUA is $10.50...... ( i got lucky as i had experience coming from sephora and was able to ask for more). For an evolving brand, which is not only affordable but has amazing products, i believe they should start off a little higher on the pay. As stock coordinator (and MUA) i have learned a lot of the ups and downs to this company and it seems like they have amaaaazing ideas, but just don't know how to execute them well. I don't want this to steer anyone away from trying out a position with the brand, but i just wanted to inform you guys on having this as a part time job if you'd like to gain the experience, have some fun or have this as a second job (unless you're SM or ASM) because it will definitely not pay your bills.

    Show More
    NYX Cosmetics2017-10-18
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Lack of communication within entire company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Associate in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NYX Cosmetics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gratis, co workers were the only fun part of the job, got very little training, honestly no other pros of the job

    Cons

    Scheduling is terrible, management doesn’t know what they’re doing, no room for growth, the company blacks out entire months so you can’t request off

    NYX Cosmetics2017-11-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Store Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NYX Cosmetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount is great on L'Oréal brands. Gratis is always good, even if you have already purchased items prior to receiving. Great product at a unbelievable price.

    Cons

    The employees and management need to be babysat. Very young teams that do not understand what having a work ethic is. Last second changes makes it very difficult to maintain a work life balance. Not enough rules, too much grey area. No actual training for employees, just no structure within the company. Lack of payroll hours. Poor planing in general.

    Advice to Management

    Hire employees who have actual experience and pay them more than min wage. Understand that just because an employee worked for MAC, that they are not gods of the beauty industry. Have more structure and actually plan out in advance. It makes it extremely difficult to move schedules around, when you have a few days notice in done things.

    NYX Cosmetics2017-10-03
  7. "Growning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at NYX Cosmetics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    employee discount lots of gratis true open door policy with management many suggestions are received and implemented or improved upon

    Cons

    disorganized at times with conference calls, promotions

    Advice to Management

    working inside a more structured schedule with promotions, meetings, calls and required feedback would likely help everyone receive information in a more efficient way

    NYX Cosmetics2018-11-19
Found 7 reviews