Na Hoku Reviews | Glassdoor

Na Hoku Reviews

Updated 24 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
38%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Na Hoku CEO Ed Sultan III
Ed Sultan III
25 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best Company I've Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Na Hoku full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They take great care of their employees. Upper management really cares about everyone, knows everyone's name at the store level. Company is based on honesty and integrity. Great place to grow, learn, and succeed. Best commission rate in the industry, quotas are fair. Every store manager in the company was promoted from within and started as an associate.

    Cons

    Pay increases are infrequent and usually 100% sales performance based. Difficult to work here and live in an extremely high cost area at times. Quotas are based on hourly wage so entire staff knows what the rest of the regular staff makes per hour.

    Advice to Management

    Base pay increases on cost of living & contribution to the company beyond just sales performance.

    Na Hoku2018-08-26
  2. "Great entry level retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Na Hoku full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s a great paying job for aggressive sales people.

    Cons

    The sales commission for quota that determines whether you keep your job, does not compare to company profit.

    Na Hoku2019-09-25
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Poor Choice in Employees and District Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pearl Factory Sales Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Na Hoku full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great health benefits, flexible hours,

    Cons

    No seats for long hours of standing, bad judgement in hiring

    Na Hoku2019-07-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Underpaid assistant buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Na Hoku full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, open communication, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Definitely underpaid compared to a national average with the same title. Combined with he high cost of living here it is not enough to pay rent.

    Na Hoku2019-05-16
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Sales are nice if you can put up with management and the toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales & Keyholder in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Na Hoku full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Good pay, commission, and bonuses. -In December, if you sell a certain amount, you get a free piece of jewelry. -Learned so much about gemstones, diamonds, gold, etc -The salespeople I worked with we’re great

    Cons

    -Horrible management -HR isn’t helpful -Manager talked bad about employees behind their back instead of letting employees know what they could fix -Got only 3 days off total in December because we were short staffed, and in January instead of looking for someone to hire so we wouldn’t have to work so much, they watched us extra closely and even fired someone. Rejected all time off requests because we were STILL... understaffed. - Trying your hardest although you’re overworked and still being paranoid to get fired or to get in trouble. -Very high turnover. The person at our store that had been there the longest (besides the manager) has only been there 6 months.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would recommend to the big bosses & district managers to review who you employ as managers. Speak with the salespeople and get their input.

    Na Hoku2019-02-05
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Stuck in their ways and not forward thinking."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Na Hoku full-time

    Pros

    Nice building, showed appreciation when you did good work, HR was helpful.

    Cons

    Very stuffy. Sexist towards women. Bad moral. All about getting to the bottom line.

    Advice to Management

    Take time to ask employees if they have suggestions on how to better their job and take it seriously. Not every person excels by sitting in a chair all day staring at a computer. Appreciate when they need a break.

    Na Hoku2018-07-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Money’s good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Na Hoku full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Commission based so make your own paycheck

    Cons

    Retail hours are hard to adjust to

    Na Hoku2018-05-09
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Very Trashy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Tysons Corner, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Na Hoku full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was decent at best.

    Cons

    Employees would get overly involved in your personal life. The manager was a very touchy-feely person. It was a very aggressive environment. They did not seem like happy people with better things to do.

    Advice to Management

    Don't hug or constantly touch employees. It's creepy.

    Na Hoku2018-03-10
  9. Helpful (8)

    "The truth you should know if considering."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salesperson 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Na Hoku full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The illusion that you're well-liked and valued, while it lasts.

    Cons

    They care only about sales. Nothing else matters. Keep that in mind. They will terminate you whenever they want to, same-day, no warning. There is high competition, back-stabbing, gossiping, and thieving of sales. The company claims to truly care about its employees but it really only cares about its sales. I would not recommend this company because I feel it is farce, hiding behind the facade of being "so great."... It is fake. You are a cog in their machine of sales. I'm saying this as a current employee about to hand in my resignation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do not claim to care about your all your salespeople when what you truly mean to say is that you care only about your top sellers and everybody else is expendable. At least be honest so people don't believe in something that isn't real. Very disappointed in this experience and the falseness of my manager in particular.

    Na Hoku2018-01-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Na Hoku Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Na Hoku full-time

    Pros

    The company makes you feel like part of a family. Beautiful jewelry at good prices. Wonderful Benefits.

    Cons

    With the high cost of living in HI I wish either the base pay or the commission pay was a little higher.

    Na Hoku2017-12-13
Found 49 reviews