Nalco Champion Reviews | Glassdoor

Nalco Champion Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 195 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Doug Baker Jr.
14 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Although number at Nalco Champion has been green all this time, furloughs and layoffs are the order of the day(in 9 reviews)

  • "It is subject to the ups and downs of the oil & gas market(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sr. District Admin."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior District Administrator in Midland, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nalco Champion part-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Loved my job and the company. I loved being able to assist my salesmen to help them reach their goals.

    Cons

    Due to the oil boom, It just seems like some of the family type company I started out with lost some of that closeness we had before the boom.

    Advice to Management

    Retired after 35 years. just started part time this year and I was entering the analytical data for my salesmen that had the XTO account.

    Nalco Champion2018-08-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Former Plant SH&E Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nalco Champion full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with in the plants and corporate level.

    Cons

    No matter how hard you work, good things you do for the company, and your dedication; only "the chosen" are going to get promoted.

    Nalco Champion2018-12-12
  3. Helpful (6)

    "A place to start but not to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nalco Champion full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    paycheck, working space, Game room , Traffic, Job

    Cons

    Lack of management involvement Lack of management caring A not-so-subsidized cafeteria to buy overly priced food Lack of training or opportunities Lack of motivation to change processes for the better Lack of effective communication Lack of holding functions or people accountable for their tasks Lack of knowledgeable employees Sales runs the show Marketing/ Supply Chain don’t address issues or seem too competent...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The organization is broken. You allowed it to continue to be broken (should understand that based on the lower employee engagement scores from 2016-2018). Our voices do not matter, contrary to your pitiful “Your Voice Matters” survey and your people focus/ oriented culture value that you state is important. Good luck on “getting and retaining top talent” as one of your goals. Here’s a rebranding idea for you, which you...

    Show More
    Nalco Champion2018-11-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Place orders and follow the process from order placement, delivery, send out invoice, and track payment from customers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Specialist in Scott, LA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nalco Champion full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Paid vacation in addition to floating holidays, health and safety time off. Yes

    Cons

    Management does not stick up for their employees.

    Advice to Management

    None. It falls on deaf ears.

    Nalco Champion2018-10-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sugar Land, TX

    I worked at Nalco Champion full-time

    Pros

    Very flexible to your work-life schedule and understands family comes first.

    Cons

    The main down side is making sure the company rewards the right people.

    Nalco Champion2018-10-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Finance Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nalco Champion full-time

    Pros

    Friendly people, great cause, good place for growth,

    Cons

    Lack of organization, managers that do not know how to manage, no training for full time employees or those in the finance program

    Nalco Champion2018-10-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "District Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Representative in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nalco Champion full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Salary was excellent considering number of hours worked

    Cons

    Coworkers afraid of loosing their job would do just about anything to make others look bad to elevate themselves themselves in the eyes of management rather than working hard to achieve the same goal.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to others involved in the hiring process rather than making the decision to hire based solely on ones own opinion.

    Nalco Champion2018-10-09
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great company culture if you fit the mold"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nalco Champion full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, on-site cafeteria, employee resource groups, reputable organization, development opportunities if you are a sales guy

    Cons

    Diversity, the economy hits the company hard, employee resentment from the acquisition, Leadership does not invest in other functional groups focuses on sales only

    Advice to Management

    Expand recruiting efforts to other universities, will never hit Diversity goals if you continue to seek out A&M grads and hire leadership's children, compensate functional groups more,

    Nalco Champion2018-08-30
  9. "Very firm on processes, but in a good way."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant L in Vernal, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nalco Champion full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great people. Onboarding shows the care in each employee.

    Cons

    Current position with O2C doesn’t show to have a lot of flexibility

    Nalco Champion2018-07-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good pay, that's about it - cubicle farm otherwise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sugar Land, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nalco Champion full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Higher pay than other companies

    Cons

    Environment, no promotions, only interested in bottom line/bare minimum and does not encourage forward thinking or making a better environment for employees - even when that would make the overall bottom line easier to attain.

    Advice to Management

    Get off your high horse and listen to employees. Look out for them.

    Nalco Champion2018-06-25
Found 195 reviews