Nando's UK & IRE First Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Nando's UK & IRE First Assistant Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
81%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Nando's UK & IRE Managing Director Rob Papps
Rob Papps
6 Ratings
  1. "nandos review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    company values, learning and development programmes

    Cons

    salary, working hours, life-work balance

    Nando's UK & IRE2020-01-15
  2. "A career for lide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Assistant Manager in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team. Great ethos and a lot of support

    Cons

    Over worked and to an extent underpaid

    Nando's UK & IRE2019-10-17
  3. "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Assistant Manager in Eastbourne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food, great pay, family days, bonuses, staff parties and much more.

    Cons

    Some days can be long.

    Nando's UK & IRE2019-10-11
  4. "If hospitality, choose Nandos!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Assistant Manager in Bath, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family vibe, good management college's, best company in hospitality

    Cons

    Not much, maybe late night closes but the latest 1pm

    Nando's UK & IRE2019-07-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Assistant Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -flexible working hours (I was offered part time Assistant Manager role after my maternity leave) - great bonuses: up to 4k bonus annually based on restaurant performace, managers trips abroad, Conference in South Africa, free Nando's on days worked, generous Nando's discount, opportunities for development

    Cons

    it's a very hands on job, very busy, but if you love what you do it's not a problem.

    Advice to Management

    Increase wage for grillers

    Nando's UK & IRE2019-07-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "PERi-PERi chicken"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Assistant Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nando's do things a little bit different. We're proud to live by our values, we have a nandoca pledge that we stand by. The parties and trips away are always out of this world. Great work family Learnt alot into the business and one day hope to move into the ops team

    Cons

    The late nights can sometimes be 1am. Close opens occasionally

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you're doing. And never forget it's the people that make the chicken.

    Nando's UK & IRE2019-06-20
  7. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They really look after the people that work there, and is a really nice and friendly enviroment.

    Cons

    Long hours. working up untill 2am when you are a closing manager.

    Nando's UK & IRE2019-06-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "1st assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - First Assistant Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK & IRE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free meals on shift, Good social nights Very good systems & resources in place to enable you to manage KPIs effectively opportunity for career development

    Cons

    No work life balance, Very long hours , average 55 a week, although supposedly contracted to 48. Managers don’t get breaks, if they do it goes into their own time of going home. If supervisors are putting in the same hours as salaried managers they are coming out with the same pay, with a lot less responsibility. Very long days .. early shifts start at 7am & you can be still in the restaurant till 6:30. Nightshifts start at 4pm &can run on til 2-3am Managers are expected to do jobs outside of their working hours, expected to come to meetings on Monday mornings even if you have worked the night before. Not enough time between shifts , sometimes closes run on until 3am and then to be back in work for 12. As a 1st it all depends on your relationship with your patrao, if you guys have a good understanding of each others needs as well as the needs of the business , you can be fine. if you have a patrao that simply wants to appear on the top of every leaderboard & will try to squeeze its management team to its full capacity all the time & is willing to compromise your well being ...watch out .

    Show More
    Nando's UK & IRE2019-05-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "1 assistant manager in Nando’s"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Assistant Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great salary , great people , great training . I have been in management for about 7 years worked for different companies and Nando’s is the only one which so far has lived on their values of family pride courage integrity ! I just joined the company last December ... And I must admit I could not be happier ! I learnt a lot already and more to come . Can’t wait to go to my first trip abroad with other manager from my same area !!!! Some of the stuff that Nando’s does for its own employees are unique and not even imaginable in other hospitality companies

    Show More

    Cons

    Maybe some late night finishing . But if the rota is built properly is not even a big deal !

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing guys !

    Nando's UK & IRE2019-04-05
  10. "So glad I joined Nando’s"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Assistant Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job development, support, training, benifits, free food, discount scheme, cycle to work, Indaba (overseas conference), just a really caring company. I love it!

    Cons

    Shift patterns, maybe a few more days holiday to compensate for working through bank holidays/Christmas and weekends.

    Advice to Management

    Give different bonus structure for 1st/2nd Assistant managers

    Nando's UK & IRE2018-04-18
Found 12 reviews