Nando's UK & IRE Reviews | Glassdoor

Nando's UK & IRE Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 523 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Nando's UK & IRE CEO Rob Papps
Rob Papps
226 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great values/ Free food/ Great atmosphere(in 80 reviews)

  • "You get a free meal every time you work(in 61 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very long hours (sometimes over 12)(in 55 reviews)

  • "The late nights can sometimes be 1am(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Hot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK & IRE part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was good had fun working there

    Cons

    Not really any I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Good job

    Nando's UK & IRE2019-01-22
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Nando's UK & IRE

      Pros

      this is a better place to work

      Cons

      if you hate pressure, then do no venture

      Advice to Management

      always on top of issues

      Nando's UK & IRE2016-10-26
    • "Strongest restaurant brand in the UK for a reason!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Central Support 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Free food every day worked At least one trip abroad every year Annual bonus Just an amazing culture overall, hard to maintain our relaxed informal culture as we grow, but we're doing a ruddy good job of it. The office is tucked away in Putney, so away from the horrible horribleness of Zone 1.

      Cons

      Not necessarily a con but the whole industry isn't in the strongest state which causes a bit of nervousness

      Advice to Management

      Keep the old culture alive!

      Nando's UK & IRE2019-07-17
    • "Chloe’s review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Able to work independently and socialise whilst working with other people

      Cons

      Not worked long only had one previous job

      Advice to Management

      Can not work Tuesday and Thursday

      Nando's UK & IRE2019-07-06

      Nando's UK & IRE Response

      July 11, 2019Nando's UK

      Hey, many thanks for your review. Never unhappy to see 5 stars! We would suggest speaking to your Patrao around your working days if there is an issue around that.

    • "Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Nandoca in Royal Leamington Spa, England

      I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible hours, friendly staff, family atmosphere with great values. Free meal every shift!

      Cons

      Closes are very long, a lot of cleaning during busy periods and can get very stressful.

      Nando's UK & IRE2019-07-05

      Nando's UK & IRE Response

      July 11, 2019Nando's UK

      Hey, thanks for your review. Always happy to see 5 stars! We would suggest speaking to your Patrao around your less positive comments to see if they can help support in that area at all.

    • "Best place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Nandoca in Aberdeen, Scotland
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Like working with a big family + lots of free chicken

      Cons

      non to be honest other than the massive cleaning every closing.

      Nando's UK & IRE2019-07-05

      Nando's UK & IRE Response

      July 11, 2019Nando's UK

      5 stars all round, happy days! Many thanks for your review.

    • "Great Employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - First Assistant Manager in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      -flexible working hours (I was offered part time Assistant Manager role after my maternity leave) - great bonuses: up to 4k bonus annually based on restaurant performace, managers trips abroad, Conference in South Africa, free Nando's on days worked, generous Nando's discount, opportunities for development

      Cons

      it's a very hands on job, very busy, but if you love what you do it's not a problem.

      Advice to Management

      Increase wage for grillers

      Nando's UK & IRE2019-07-04

      Nando's UK & IRE Response

      July 11, 2019Nando's UK

      Morning, many thanks for your review! Really great to hear you're loving your time in the Nando's family, but if there is anything you wish to discuss a bit further, you're more than welcome to drop us an email to HRsupport@nandos.co.uk.

    • "Great for students"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cashier 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE full-time

      Pros

      Laid back environment, weekly pay good if you’re a student

      Cons

      Closings can be very long sometimes end up leaving the store at 1am

      Nando's UK & IRE2019-07-04

      Nando's UK & IRE Response

      July 11, 2019Nando's UK

      Hey, thanks for your comments. Great to hear you're enjoying your time in the Nando's family, but we would suggest speaking to your Patrao around your less positive comments to see if they can support you in that area, if necessary.

    • "nandoca"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Nandoca in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - good pay - social aspects - free meals on shift - discount

      Cons

      - long shifts - rota changes weekly, can't plan ahead - closes can be long

      Advice to Management

      don't hire to many managers and supervisors as it causes conflict

      Nando's UK & IRE2019-07-04

      Nando's UK & IRE Response

      July 11, 2019Nando's UK

      Morning! Thanks for your comments. Pleased to hear you're enjoying your time in the Nando's family, but you're welcome to drop us an email to HRsupport@nandos.co.uk if you'd like to speak about your less positive comments further.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Good as a part time job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Nandoca in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Nando's UK & IRE part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Overall a very friendly and comfortable atmosphere. Very good for students, as they are flexible, there was no problem with reducing my hours when I had more studies to do. You get a free meal on the shift. You get paid breaks; for 5 hours you get 20 minutes break, for 8 hours 30 minutes break, for 9 hours 40 minutes, for 10 hours and more one hour break and for 12 hours and more one hour and a half. And you can eat...

      Show More

      Cons

      After a couple of years working in Nando's, I get the same pay as a person that has worked there for a couple of months. Their career progression is very bad and they make it very difficult to progress. They don't value their long term employees, that is why many people leave. Again that also is probably dependent on what region you are based in.

      Advice to Management

      Value your long-term employees more.

      Nando's UK & IRE2019-07-16

      Nando's UK & IRE Response

      July 17, 2019Nando's UK

      Hey, thanks for your review. Great to hear you're generally enjoying your time in the Nando's family, but you're welcome to drop an email to HRsupport@nandos.co.uk if you'd like to discuss your less positive feedback further.

    Found 523 reviews