Nanobiosym Reviews | Glassdoor

Nanobiosym Reviews

Updated June 8, 2018
20 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
DR. ANITA GOEL
11 Ratings

20 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing growth experience with deep personal fulfillment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nanobiosym full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    This year we achieved some amazing company milestones which are critical steps in making our bigger mission a reality. Our X Prize winning technology got its first FDA approval. There is so much more than meets the eye here. This company lives and breathes “the under promise and over deliver” philosophy.

    The core team is deeply dedicated, passionate, persevering, and highly committed and unified by a sense of mission and deeper purpose.

    The atmosphere is infused with a very upbeat, positive can-do friendly attitude even when confronted with hard problems and challenges. People are really smart and passionate and kind, friendly and compassionate.

    Our frequent happy hours always have interesting inspirational roundtable discussions, novel teambuilding activities and catered lunches.

    Cons

    The hours can be long and the challenges can be hard. We always endeavor to tackle problems head-on by "taking the bull by its horns". We do not always take the easy way out but try to do what is the most impactful in the most efficient way.

    Different people work on different schedules here and the company rewards and appreciates hard work ethic and has instituted different types of compensation and growth packages to reward and incentivize those who run the extra mile for the company. Almost everybody here has upside in the company’s success.

    Some people work 6 days a week and some work 5 days a week. We even have incorporated the flexibility to allow some people to work only 3-4 days a week or part- time while the senior management can often be working even 7 days a week, especially before major deadlines.

    Advice to Management

    We may need to start educating the world more about all our accomplishments. There are a lot of people out there with a lot less accomplishments who make a lot more noise, while we tend to keep focused on each milestone.

    People can fill a vacuum of information with their own speculations.


  2. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff
    Current Employee - Staff
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nanobiosym full-time

    Pros

    Strong work culture, mission driven, cares about employees work/life balance. A place that is focused on achieving its critical milestones.

    Cons

    Those who do make it, stay long term.

    Advice to Management

    Hire mission oriented people, who want genuinely want to make an impact.

  3. Helpful (13)

    "Good ideas but poor employee treatment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nanobiosym full-time

    Pros

    The company has a noble cause and positive outlook.

    Cons

    The CEO is out of touch with her employees and treats them like peons. Employees are expected to work 10 hour days, 6 days a week, with no guaranteed breaks, not sustainable for long term employee health or work/life balance, no matter how noble the cause. Engineering staff seems productive, but admin and operations staff can't get anything accomplished with constant micromanaging and reassigning projects. CEO expects tasks to be done yesterday with no background information or anything to go on.

    Advice to Management

    Happy, healthy employees are more productive! Asking them to stay late for the occasional deadline or crunch is one thing, but demanding that they work 60 hour weeks is another.

    Nanobiosym Response

    Dec 25, 2017

    Thanks for your feedback. We deeply value our employee happiness. We also value hard work ethic and ambition to achieve and excel and prefer to hire those who are able to work hard and efficiently to... More


  4. Helpful (17)

    "Just avoid this Place and the fake 5 star reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Some great concepts and ideas and as another stated, you briefly feel as though you are part of a great organization

    Cons

    Extreme Micromanagement, Poor employee treatment. Unrealistic approach, condescending CEO poor lab conditions, constant secrecy.

    Advice to Management

    It would be pointless to offer any advice.

    Nanobiosym Response

    Apr 11, 2017

    We currently do not have any employee with the title of Project Manager, nor have we ever had anyone employed with this title. This appears to be written by a competitor and contains many... More


  5. Helpful (6)

    "A pretty solid place to work despite the false claims somebody is trying to spread here on glassdoor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Management
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nanobiosym full-time

    Pros

    This is a pretty solid place to work and the people who are a long term part of our team are truly passionate and hard working despite some of the fake news and malicious false info some people might be trying to propagate about us here

    We invite all those of you who are genuinely interested in what we are aspiring to do and believe you have the right capabilities to contribute to our work to come explore with us directly whether there is a mutual genuine fit

    The company is in the process of adding more seasoned HR and operations infrastructure which will further help set up systems so the company can scale its operations in a way that is commensurate with growing needs

    We deeply appreciate everybody's constructive feedback and inputs as we grow and invite you all to share your constructive ideas on how we can further improve ourselves and our management systems as we grow to the next phase

    Cons

    This is a work environment that values people who are passionate and have a strong work ethic and want to get results and the leadership here is more than fair to the people who deliver

    The company strives for excellence and does not claim to be perfect but for the right people it can be a great opportunity; members of the team are encouraged to take ownership in building their own portfolio of projects, milestones, and tasks

    As the company has been mostly an R&D institute and incubator all these years it was more focused on research (both fundamental science and applied technology development) more like an academic or government research lab and only now has started to add some of the HR and operations infrastructure that is needed as it transitions to scale to become more of a global commercial enterprise

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great, hard work and the entrepreneurial positive spirit

    Remember it is not that easy to make a difference in this world; if it were that easy everybody would be doing it and we would already have a more enlightened planet

    Nanobiosym Response

    Dec 25, 2017

    Thanks for your positive feedback. We are happy and grateful to have you on our team as we make history together.


  6. Helpful (9)

    "Nanobiosym"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Nanobiosym is an exciting startup that has leading edge technologies that will help to transform health care. Working with the visionary leaders within the organization is a rare opportunity.

    Cons

    the fast pace of this start up requires one to be able to think quickly.

    Advice to Management

    As your company grows, HR will be an important aspect to consider.

    Nanobiosym Response

    Dec 31, 2016

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your inputs and feedback. We are delighted to have you as part of our global team and we look forward to speaking with you further in person as our team grows... More


  7. Helpful (14)

    "Little North Korea in Kendall square"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist
    Former Employee - Scientist
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nanobiosym full-time

    Pros

    You can't say that they are not ambitious like Elizabeth Holmes. Just like like theranos, the mantra is one drop of blood. Gotta save the whole world.

    Cons

    Nano management to the core. No scientific direction. Revolving door of employees. So secretive because there are no secrets. Stay away. This company is going no where, it's just a shell for the owners.

    Advice to Management

    Please shut it down. Let your people go.

    Nanobiosym Response

    Dec 31, 2016

    We appreciate your taking the time to provide us with your comments. This review seems to be written by a competitor rather than a former employee because it contains objectively falsifiable claims... More

  8. Helpful (11)

    "The boss is a crazy woman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Staffing Consultant
    Former Employee - Staffing Consultant
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    Dr Goel is a driven, workaholic perfectionist...albeit in the pursuit of altruistic goals (pun intended)

    Cons

    Dr Goel is personally indefatigable, and she expects her employees to give 110% at all times, and be grateful for the privilege. There will be no work-life balance, unless the ratio is 100% to 0%.

    Nanobiosym Response

    Nov 21, 2016

    We are neither the first nor the last company in America's history to look at hard, ethical , passionate work as a virtue not a vice.

    The people who fit well here have a drive and passion to do... More


  9. Helpful (10)

    ""Hypergrowth" Co that does not grow...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    None, nada, zilch...they asked me on Glassdoor to write at least 20 words, but it seems like insurmountable task to do....

    Cons

    Bunch of great visions, no real success
    CEO makes this a platform to increase her visibility and boost her ego
    Prototype of the device locked in the safe
    Poor or close to none communication
    Bombastic claims, no commercial ops though
    Buunch of open positions, but no hiring
    Lab space is abysmal

    Advice to Management

    Just admit real standing

    Nanobiosym Response

    Dec 31, 2016

    We appreciate your taking the time to provide us with your comments. This review seems to be written by a competitor trying to undermine us rather than a former employee because it contains... More


  10. Helpful (10)

    "CEO is driving this company down deeper and deeper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nanobiosym full-time

    Pros

    Work here if you want to make the ego of the CEO grow even bigger (if that is possible)

    Cons

    Micromanaging is a gross understatement nano-managing would be more accurate.
    Even best efforts based on best knowledge and giving best results will be wasted by the mismanagement, lack of organization, mistrust and plain denial of need to improve the technology and the products.
    The exploitation of mistrust towards employees combined with explicit ban of almost any communication with coworkers, constant surveillance and spying on employees makes the atmosphere at the company unbearable.
    Forcing employees to work 10 hours each Monday to Friday and at least 8 hours each Saturday is just short-sighted exploitation with disregard to recovery after work and long-term efficiency.

    Advice to Management

    There are so many things that should be done differently that I don't know where to start. The current management doesn't even use basic common sense to treat right their own employees or use collaboration within the company to improve the technology. Even the most basic rules of management are not followed so start from Management 101.

    Nanobiosym Response

    Nov 6, 2016

    We try to be upfront in our interview process that we are endeavoring to solve hard problems and are looking for a very select group of special people who are passionate and excited about solving... More


Showing 20 of 23 reviews
Reset Filters