Nanyang Polytechnic Reviews | Glassdoor

Nanyang Polytechnic Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
22%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Nanyang Polytechnic CEO Jeanne Liew
Jeanne Liew
5 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lecturers are expected to do so much more than teaching, it's almost only 20% of the time is given to them for concentration in teaching(in 7 reviews)

  • "Limited career advancement opportunity, top-down management style, old and inefficient data management system, poor/no succession planning(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Design Technologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Nanyang Polytechnic part-time

    Pros

    Great People. Great project. All was good!

    Cons

    Nothing Much, all was quite good

    Nanyang Polytechnic2019-07-12
  2. "Stable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nanyang Polytechnic full-time

    Pros

    Stable, intelligent student, good food

    Cons

    There are too many good points

    Nanyang Polytechnic2019-09-11
  3. "Lecturer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nanyang Polytechnic full-time

    Pros

    Offers training in first year

    Cons

    Inflexibel hierarchy Inefficiency Incapable management

    Nanyang Polytechnic2019-09-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nanyang Polytechnic full-time

    Pros

    - Good experience if willing to self learn

    Cons

    - Contract based - Some politics involve - Lack of relevant training suitable for project for contract staff

    Nanyang Polytechnic2019-08-22
  5. "Good work environment and nice colleagues."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Nanyang Polytechnic part-time

    Pros

    Colleagues are helpful and friendly.

    Cons

    did not face any cons while working there

    Nanyang Polytechnic2019-07-29
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Lecturer doing too much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ang Mo Kio New Town, North-East

    I worked at Nanyang Polytechnic full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance, flexibility in time

    Cons

    Lecturers are expected to do so much more than teaching, it's almost only 20% of the time is given to them for concentration in teaching. The other 80% they are expected to do add on as KPIs else there will be no progression. Example are doing projects for other schools for other gov organizations, run events, school promo etc, it will be better if there is a balance and if our worth are not measured by these extras.

    Advice to Management

    balance Once Lecturers are overloaded by anything other than curriculum planning, the students are the ones to lose out.

    Nanyang Polytechnic2019-08-04
  7. "Brief overview of NYP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Nanyang Polytechnic full-time

    Pros

    Quite a friendly environment with many lecturers often offering help at times of need(school environment and layout is simple and accessible)

    Cons

    Incredibly stressful at times due to an overload of long term projects due around the same time

    Nanyang Polytechnic2019-07-18
  8. "Lecturer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lecturer in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nanyang Polytechnic full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Friendly colleagues - Good benefits in transportation, medical claims and leaves

    Cons

    -Each school in Nanyang Polytechnic have different management. In my school, the organization management is really bad. Unlike other schools that organize their staff into various diploma departments, in my school there are too many departments, which some are not essential. -Directors (including deputy and assistant directors) are not communicating well. -Besides focusing on teaching and creating teaching... materials, there are many other paperwork and meaningless activities that you may be assigned to do. -Difficult to have a good work life balance -Limited career advancement opportunity, top-down management style, old and inefficient data management system, poor/no succession planning

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please look into the staff's wellbeing. Please ensure that the workload for each staff is not overwhelming. Teaching the students is a lecturer's primary role. So, the workload for managing other kind of activities should not be overpowering the teaching workload.

    Nanyang Polytechnic2019-07-10
  9. "Lecturer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Nanyang Polytechnic part-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues and great environment

    Cons

    None that I think of

    Nanyang Polytechnic2019-03-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Lecturer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Nanyang Polytechnic full-time

    Pros

    Leave benefits & more structured schedule.

    Cons

    Bureaucratic with too many middle management.

    Nanyang Polytechnic2019-03-24
Found 45 reviews