Nasty Gal Reviews

Updated Mar 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
32%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Nasty Gal CEO Sheree Waterson (no image)
Sheree Waterson
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "The discount is good, there are occasional sample sales, alcohol is permitted in the office for celebratory occasions, and it is dog-friendly(in 7 reviews)

  • "Everyone has been mentioning beer and wine parties(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "poor direction by upper management(in 12 reviews)

  • "No one on my team got promoted in over a year and positions above us got filled with unqualified outside hires(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work and learn

      May 3, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great place to hone your craft, great people

      Cons

      poor direction by upper management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      nastygal

      Mar 29, 2021 - Warehouse Associate in Shepherdsville, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good core environment in the begining

      Cons

      went out of business after 6 years

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Not good

      Jun 17, 2020 - Marketing Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learning opportunity but not long term

      Cons

      Not long term and bad work environment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fun for a while until the company ran itself into the ground.

      Dec 2, 2019 - Merchandise Planner in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun cool product, inspiring people to work with, casual atmosphere. I enjoyed working with my team and made some great friends here.

      Cons

      Opening stores was a nightmare - so much money spent with such little foundational infrastructure in place.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      N/A

      Aug 14, 2019 - N/A in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great teams who all wanted the product to succeed. All the worker bee's were such team players.

      Cons

      The management was a mess. Once the new CEO came on board and gave mixed direction from an aesthetic and cost perspective it created so much tail chasing and busy work. It took a lot to gain tracking on even the smallest of items

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      it was an ok experience

      Apr 21, 2019 - Intern Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - good working environment -nice ppl to work with -get to meet and talk new ppl

      Cons

      - varying working hours - ppl judge u

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      An organized chaos

      Mar 6, 2019 - Muse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very professional environment, everything done by the book

      Cons

      Inflexible hours Incosiderate to employee needs

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      My best career growth experience thus far...

      Aug 9, 2016 - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really enjoy working at Nasty Gal for a lot of reasons. So I'll list a few below: 1. You get to really have an impact on the future of the company. If you're a do-er and not a complainer you can make it really far here. 2. The people are extremely passionate. I don't think I've ever worked anywhere where everyone is so obsessed with the brand and working so hard to make it successful. 3. I've been able to work on really cool projects that I know people at my level at other companies have not been able to touch. 4. After a few years of being here (and a few lay offs) it feels like the company is turning around and that's really exciting to see. 5. If you work hard you will be rewarded financially. You just need to prove yourself.

      Cons

      1. Pretty young employees so sometimes you feel like you might be at the same level as your manager since a lot of them have no management experience. HR offers coaching workshops so it'd be cool to see more of those. 2. The culture isn't for everyone. You have to be prepared to work very very hard and be a problem solver. It is very rewarding. 3. Overwhelming at times because of processes being clunky and still in progress, but we are still in growth mode and trying to figure things out. I figure most startups are like this so I'm not too worried about it and I enjoy being part of the solution.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Terrible

      Jul 7, 2019 - Inventory Control/QA Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There isnt a single pro about this company.

      Cons

      Everything is terrible from management to product quality.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Really tried

      Jul 21, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great location in DTLA, walking distance to the metro, great bars, restaurants and a farmers market. The constant barrage of PR Sophia and this company gets is great in that it's nice to tell people you worked here. Company activities and perks like beer/wine, happy hours, and the 40% off merchandise were nice. The very few friendly, sweet, hard-working, helpful and talented employees.

      Cons

      If you're lucky, you'll either get to work with passionate, friendly and motivated group of people or work with groups of people who are very into their own cliques, too cool to help you accomplish team goals, and are extremely catty/manipulative. I unfortunately got lumped in with the latter and it made for an all around toxic environment. After a few months there, I still had a hard time fitting in. Although I worked with a lot of talented and passionate individuals, the lack of bonds I've formed in the company, as well a the lack of mentorship and guidance made me extremely unmotivated to do my job well. It's hard excelling in your job when you spend time in meetings with individuals that do nothing but talk sh-t about their other co-workers, throw others under the bus, refuse to take ownership over their mistakes, endlessly whine, are too lazy to help contribute to team efforts, and won't comply to agreed upon improvement tactics, especially when those individuals are the 'favorites' or are there due to nepotism. It's a shame because although there were really cool projects to work on and lots of interesting problems to solve, the toxic environment made it very unbearable.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 89 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Nasty Gal Job Seekers

    Buyer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Nasty Gal? Share Your Experiences

    Nasty Gal logo
    or