Nasty Gal Reviews | Glassdoor

Nasty Gal Reviews

Updated Dec 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
29%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Nasty Gal CEO Sheree Waterson (no image)
Sheree Waterson
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "The discount is good, there are occasional sample sales, alcohol is permitted in the office for celebratory occasions, and it is dog-friendly(in 7 reviews)

  • "Everyone has been mentioning beer and wine parties(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "poor direction by upper management(in 12 reviews)

  • "No one on my team got promoted in over a year and positions above us got filled with unqualified outside hires(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nasty Gal full-time

    Pros

    great place to hone your craft, great people

    Cons

    poor direction by upper management

    Nasty Gal2017-05-03
  2. "Fun for a while until the company ran itself into the ground."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Planner in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nasty Gal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun cool product, inspiring people to work with, casual atmosphere. I enjoyed working with my team and made some great friends here.

    Cons

    Opening stores was a nightmare - so much money spent with such little foundational infrastructure in place.

    Continue reading
    Nasty Gal2019-12-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nasty Gal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great teams who all wanted the product to succeed. All the worker bee's were such team players.

    Cons

    The management was a mess. Once the new CEO came on board and gave mixed direction from an aesthetic and cost perspective it created so much tail chasing and busy work. It took a lot to gain tracking on even the smallest of items

    Continue reading
    Nasty Gal2019-08-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Control/QA Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nasty Gal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There isnt a single pro about this company.

    Cons

    Everything is terrible from management to product quality.

    Continue reading
    Nasty Gal2019-07-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "it was an ok experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nasty Gal part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - good working environment -nice ppl to work with -get to meet and talk new ppl

    Cons

    - varying working hours - ppl judge u

    Nasty Gal2019-04-22
  6. "An organized chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Muse 

    I worked at Nasty Gal part-time

    Pros

    Very professional environment, everything done by the book

    Cons

    Inflexible hours Incosiderate to employee needs

    Nasty Gal2019-03-06
  7. "Had a Great Boss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Nasty Gal full-time

    Pros

    Lots of smart, cool creatives to work with and learn from. I had a great boss.

    Cons

    Difficult making more money there.

    Nasty Gal2018-10-25
  8. "Great or poor experience depending on department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nasty Gal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved my boss and learned a lot from her, I was always included in higher up meetings even as a junior starting out just so that I could learn, get the feel of things, etc. I felt like my opinion was valued.

    Cons

    This seems to be unique to my team in many ways and more an attribute to my specific boss, not the company as a whole. Overall, the company was often disorganized and suffered poorly with cross-department communications mishaps and mishandlings.

    Nasty Gal2018-07-02
  9. Helpful (2)

    "I was actually only employed here until 2012 when they moved to Yucky Kentucky"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shipper in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nasty Gal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount on cheaply made Forever 21 type b.s. Free shoes once a month Some cool parties when Sophia was still in charge

    Cons

    Nerds who think they're cool because they are "on trend" (which essentially means you have no style and cannot think for yourself) ran this place into the ground. Upper management is stupid as all get out- unqualified and delusional. LAME culture of vapid, horribly dressed chicks believing they're actual style icons make it a horrendous place for anyone who really is into fashion and actually has style.

    Continue reading
    Nasty Gal2018-07-20
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Disappointed in Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nasty Gal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers made the place nice to work at

    Cons

    Upper management didn't know what they were doing.

    Continue reading
    Nasty Gal2017-04-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 86 reviews