KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Nasty Gal

Is this your company?

Nasty Gal

Add a Review

Nasty Gal Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 92 of over 99 reviews

2.6
32%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Nasty Gal CEO Sheree Waterson (no image)
Sheree Waterson
9 Ratings
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee

    An organized chaos

    Mar 6, 2019 - Muse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very professional environment, everything done by the book

    Cons

    Inflexible hours Incosiderate to employee needs

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Lets just say I'm glad I didn't buy my stock options.

    Aug 26, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dog friendly, awesome co-workers, sample sales, cool brand, and there used to be parties and booze. The company culture was really fun when I started and it was exciting to be a part of something, which at the time, was growing quickly from a start-up. Made a lot of great connections.

    Cons

    I noticed all the really awesome, talented, smart people started leaving one by one and it's no wonder why. Pay is well under industry standard and there are hardly any raises or promotions. I enjoyed going to work everyday until the new CFO and CEO came aboard. They are tyrants. To them everyone is replaceable; anyone with a different opinion than them is let go. I loved my manager and I met several on the upper management team who were great, but no one ever stayed long. Every time someone with any kind of power joined I had high hopes they would be able to fix the mess of brokenness but they went running out the door before long. Morale just kept sinking. Sophia is very naive. I commend her for her story but she's way out of her league and way out of touch with her company. I understand from a business standpoint how some layoffs/ restructuring might be called for but they were really shady about it. Friends would always ask me to refer them for jobs because it sounded so glamorous, but I refused to subject anyone I like to the horrible place that is Nasty Gal.

    Continue reading
    24 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Terrible

    Jul 7, 2019 - Inventory Control/QA Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There isnt a single pro about this company.

    Cons

    Everything is terrible from management to product quality.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not a bad place to work!

    Aug 28, 2015 - Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people that work at nasty gal are all young and hip, which makes it fun. You can easily find people to have a beer with. It's easy to maintain a work/balance as the hours aren't too crazy. In the 2 years I worked there I never heard anyone yell, kind of rare in fashion. Really, for me, it's a great place to work. I really enjoyed the lack of structure, it allowed to me to learn and be more independent, really own my work. I think the bad press is unfair, NG is a workplace like any other. It's still a job, but to me it was a really fun place to work.

    Cons

    In some departments there is a culture of complaining, they need to find a solution to their issues move on to make if a more positive environment.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Unforgettable Working Experience

    Aug 3, 2016 -  in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing people at all levels of the company! Our teams here at Nasty Gal have the potential to make this company VERY successful. Excited to see what the future holds for us. Only workplace I know where EVERY employee is empowered to demonstrate entrepreneurship and have a direct impact on the business despite of job description or generation. Started temping through an agency and worked my way into getting hired full time. I've been given the opportunity to explore and get my hands on several projects with different departments within the company. Great place to work if you are looking to gain A LOT of experience or teach others what you know. The right fit works HARD without having to be micromanaged and is prepared to perform efficiently both independently AND in a team setting. -Happy hours with awesome people -Summer Fridays (office closes at 2PM) -Free parking -Popcorn Weds -a lot of nearby places to eat and drink

    Cons

    None so far. Wish sample sales were as exciting for male employees as they are for the Gals :(

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Run!!!

    Apr 20, 2016 - Customer Care Agent in Shepherdsville, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Used to have a great culture! Decent Pay Wrk from home Tight knit office Lunch Sometimes 40% off Site

    Cons

    Lost Unique Culture Soooo unorganized Not very diverse for minorities (KY office) Lost Customer Care Focus Clueless Mngmt After working there a year as a customer service rep, i noticed quickly that the Sheperdsville office was nothing like LA. Thry would ignore calls to send us to the wh to save money and we ended up having 100-200 abandoned calls per day. I was pregnant and often the only one taking calls or being sent out to the WH. Blatant racism. Only 2-3 minorities here and just overall not what I thought it would be. Soooo glad i got outta there! Every since Sherri Watterson has taken over...things have gone downhill

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    There's no such thing as "growing" in this company, unless you are friends w/ the CEO

    Mar 31, 2014 - Product Development 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free snacks, nice events like "beer and wine friday" which kind of disappeared once the new CFO came on board. The people you work close with are great, those on your team. However, all cross functioning teams have no sense of communication. Pretty laid back, and awesome location.

    Cons

    The marketing team has done an AMAZING job making this place seem like it's "the best place to work". It's really not: no growth, no recognition, below industry standard salary, no yearly raises, and poorly given bonuses. They hired/recruited 100's of people last year 2013 and laid off 40% of their employees this year. But somehow this company is doing incredible. You'll definitely not get the starting salary you deserve, but work hard only to not get recognized for what you do. But don't worry, you get free snacks, that big office, and perks instead! Words from the COO. This place is a joke. Amazing hard working people left before the lay off, and I'm sure more will go. If not, I hope they make the changes that place needs. Other than that, this is a more expensive Forever 21. Horrible quality clothes.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    An awesome brand with an exciting vision hindered by poor upper management tactics

    Nov 4, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits, beautiful new office, a top option for working at an LA-based fashion company

    Cons

    Nasty Gal is becoming a very top-heavy, corporate environment. The culture is rapidly changing, there seems to be a lot of instability. There is a strategy of hiring upper management to oversee a core group of worker-bee mid-level employees who have been building the brand at an explosive rate over the past few years. Compensation is on the low side by industry standards, unless you are hired at the top. The company is newly focused on bombarding the customer with aggressively scheduled discount sales rather than carefully curated content and exclusivity, which was one key to the brand's original success. This tactic seems to overload the workforce and take top priority, creating a widespread strain across an otherwise well-functioning machine. Focus should be on quality of content and product rather than frequency and quantity.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    used to be better

    Feb 6, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very flexible about schedules, you can be an adult and don't feel like you are being babysat like at other companies, occasional company sponsored lunches or outings (these have reduced dramatically in frequency lately though), overall young company culture.

    Cons

    Don't seem to be doing well financially, pay is not great unless you are senior (and then you are on the front lines for layoffs) or executive, seem to be constantly in a reactive state, strategy changes so often that you have to go back and undo all the things you just spent weeks working on at least once a season, not a lot of trickle down transparency from upper management.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Who You Know, Not What You Know

    Apr 21, 2016 - Customer Care in Shepherdsville, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Loved my coworkers, most... Loved showing new agents who were eager to learn and take care of customers what it truly means to go above and beyond. Was able to grow to some extent, depending on who your supervisor is. So much potential but no qualified leaders who know how to cultivate and grow it into to a cohesive success.

    Cons

    Unqualified supervisors, not judged by the quality of the team they lead but by how much They were liked. Excellent quality is cast aside for productivity instead of hiring people who know how to bring the best of both out of agents. They do not care about lower level employees, everyone is replaceable, and the second you are no longer "in the circle" you are either fired, or forced to quit because you can't tolerate the horrible treatment. Secrecy is their main tool and its toxic to a company if they want to thrive, and want a team that is invested in the company's success. Management Tolerated extremely unethical behavior with no accountability. People who were supposed to know about their position were no help when real problems arose, and don't get me started on their IT issues... Who completely overhauls wms in the middle of peak!?!?

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
Viewing 11 - 20 of 92 Reviews

Popular Careers with Nasty Gal Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Nasty Gal? Share Your Experiences

Nasty Gal logo
or