Natera Reviews | Glassdoor

Natera Reviews

Updated July 21, 2017
163 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Matthew Rabinowitz, PhD
101 Ratings

163 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Smart colleagues, awesome catered lunches (in 14 reviews)

  • There is free food weekly which I enjoy as it saves me money and also forced me to eat healthy at work (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management a bit disconnected form the lower level worker (in 10 reviews)

  • Complete chaos; no one cares about anyone or anything besides covering their own butts (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (6)

    "Good company that gets a bad rap."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Carlos, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Carlos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Natera full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Smart people & a fun/social work environment. The company and leadership really want to make quality products that help make people's lives better. Work here is challenging and isn't always easy, but it is always worthwhile. There have been growing pains over the past few years, but management tries to resolve them. That is what life at a burgeoning company is like.

    I like it here. There is a lot of opportunity for growth. The company expects (but recognizes) hard work.

    Cons

    Judging by other reviews left here, there are obviously some departments or groups that are having a rough time and being vocal about it. I don't see any of this hostility on a day to day basis at work. Adjustment to the pace here and the continued growth of the company takes some perseverance.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out why so many people seem dissatisfied in their reviews on glassdoor. It seems to be localized to less senior employees in specific departments. More management training for middle-level managers may help. Continue to focus on quality, be less stressed about timelines, and continue to increase transparency.

    Natera Response

    Jun 19, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the very thoughtful feedback. We are pleased to hear you have had such a positive experience during your time with Natera. We completely agree that there are areas that need some major... More


  2. "Great company, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Clinical Specialist in Buffalo, NY
    Current Employee - Field Clinical Specialist in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Natera full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexibility, resources are available to you, good managers, exciting products, no vacation policy

    Cons

    401(k) could be better, can be a very stressful place to work

  3. "QC Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Carlos, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Carlos, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Natera (More than a year)

    Pros

    Opportunity to move up , many different teams you can work in

    Cons

    Some of the managers love to micromanage and don't trust their employees to do their work properly.

    Advice to Management

    If you don't trust your employees, why do you hire them?


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Stats group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Carlos, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Carlos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Natera full-time

    Pros

    The stats group is really talented and really well managed. There is cool technology being used here and the stats / data science projects tend to be pretty interesting. Also, the work environment within this team is very friendly and fun. You will get paid in US dollars to do math/algorithm work and you will actually become friends with your coworkers.

    Cons

    As others have said, keep in mind that Natera has different locations and departments, some of which are not positively reviewed. I'm not familiar with their issues first hand but if you are considering a stats / data science role then definitely apply here. Cannot emphasize enough how good their stats team is.

    Natera Response

    Jul 18, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the awesome review! Our stats team makes magic happen for our R&D organization with mathematical data analysis and statistical classification. If you’re looking for a challenge, you’ll... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Billing is a crime (over billing) doctors and patients get disgruntled. Know one corrects it and business is lost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Natera full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    CEO is great, but clueless on what managers are getting away within his company. I don't have many positive things to say

    Cons

    Billing, partying (illegal drugs) too much buy upper management, quite a few arrested on Mugshots.
    A lot of nepotism and the family gets away with everything.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to your good, ethical employees. Don't allow kick backs fraud, reps enticing clients buy paying them. Reps are expensing meals for their own personal parties and treating clients to spa days


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work and learn!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Sales in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Natera full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Culture is great and company is going on in the right direction.
    They are investing in development for employees.
    Great company culture.
    Innovative technology and products.
    Natera cares about its customer base.

    Cons

    Any company has room for improvement, Natera is taking the right steps to solve issues across many departments.
    As with any company with rapid growth, there are always difficulties.

    Natera Response

    Jul 18, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    We love our sales team! Thanks for dropping a quick review. We appreciate your inside review and for recognizing our efforts to improve employee development and department operations. Keep up the... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Hard company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Carlos, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Carlos, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Intelligent coworkers. Challenging work. Products today and in the future will make a difference. They strive to make the best products on the market.

    Cons

    Sometimes the frenzy and lack of focus make it hard to achieve goals. They need to stay on point more. Leadership is not as strong as it could be.

    Advice to Management

    Look hard at the qualities and skills that make good leaders and hire or promote accordingly. Don't just promote for convenience or out of desparation.

    Natera Response

    Jul 18, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    We agree: Changes are needed, and we made some. We have set a few initiatives into motion around improved interactions with employees and leadership trainings. We are definitely headed in the right... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, needing improvements"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Natera full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great fringe benefits. Hours can be flexible, depending on departments. The company hosts town hall meeting on Q1-Q4 reveue cycles.

    Cons

    Start up company growing pains from to many management staff and no developmental training.

    Natera Response

    Jul 18, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Work-schedule flexibility is definitely one of our cultural values! We appreciate your patience while we grow our internal processes to match our company and team growth. More managerial trainings... More


  9. Helpful (5)

    "Mid Management Level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Carlos, CA
    Current Employee - Manager in San Carlos, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Natera full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Smart colleagues, awesome catered lunches.

    Cons

    No career advancement plan. Promotion policy at Natera is defined by very obvious favoritism. Such approach keeps 10% of the population is happy but the other 90% is unhappy and searching for another job. Bottom line that is the main reason of turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Walk the talk is the key to gain your employees' trust, credibility and respect. Follow up on employee survey. Communicate company wide specific follow up actions.

    Natera Response

    Jul 18, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your honest and open review. At Natera, we don’t promote favoritism. So, we’ve taken steps to help our employees feel supported and excited about future opportunities. We have enhanced... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome science"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Carlos, CA
    Current Employee - Director in San Carlos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Natera full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    For me, the most important thing about a company is that they have great science. I want to know that I am going to be part of something big, and make a difference in the world. Before I joined, I read some of the science behind Natera, and I was impressed. Now that I am an employee and can see behind the scenes I have not been disappointed. I think Natera has a bright future, and I am glad to be part of the team.

    Cons

    It's a pretty intense place (but if you want to be part of cutting edge science, that is what you need.)

    Advice to Management

    My only advice is to have researchers focus on a smaller number of projects.

    Natera Response

    Jul 18, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    We agree! It’s all about the science! Our science is what impacts the lives of many through our products. It’s exactly what keeps us motivated to stay ahead. We appreciate your quick review and... More


Showing 163 of 166 reviews
Reset Filters