Natera Reviews | Glassdoor

Natera Reviews

Updated December 4, 2018
224 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Matthew Rabinowitz, PhD
140 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Really good catered lunches on Mondays and Wednesdays and sandwich materials for the other days" (in 25 reviews)

  • "Free Lunch,Good kitchen, healthy Snacks" (in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Only as transparent as HR/upper management coaches/allows them to be" (in 13 reviews)

  • "Micro management and no work life balance" (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Carlos, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Carlos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Natera full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The people are passionate and bright, the technology is awesome, there are so many great things cooking from the business and the product side. The matrix organization is managing many projects efficiently.

    Cons

    There's a lot to get done, but that's also a good thing

    Natera Response

    Jul 19, 2018 – sr. director Talent Acq/Org Learning&Development

    Thanks so much for the feedback, we are super excited about the work we are doing and all those working hard to make it happen!


  2. "Engaging company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Natera full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers, free food, engaging projects

    Cons

    The priorities of projects changed frequently

    Natera Response

    Dec 6, 2018 – HR team

    Thank you for the recommendation, we are indeed growing and actively manage change across the organization

  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Natera full-time

    Pros

    Great base and commission when you hit quota

    Cons

    Management not transparent with staff

    Natera Response

    Dec 6, 2018 – HR team

    A feeling of transparency is our goal. We would like to know specifically what could have been made clearer and encourage all employees to share their thoughts. Ideally requesting more clarity from a... More


  4. "Great promise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Research Associate in San Carlos, CA
    Former Employee - Senior Research Associate in San Carlos, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Natera full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Exciting, cutting edge research. Lunch was offered 3 times a week, and there were snacks everyday.

    Cons

    Very little cohesion between teams.

    Natera Response

    Dec 6, 2018 – HR team

    We are continuously reviewing how we communicate, align and clarify priorities both within teams and across them. It is something we actively assess for opportunities to optimize it.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASR
    Current Employee - ASR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Natera full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Work remotely but meet often
    - A ton of training and new technology, they really invest in employees
    - Great benefits!
    - People are all very hardworking and nice
    - I truly believe that this company doesn't fully operate for profit, they believe in research and advancing medical tests. Patients are the number one priority and the company gives salespeople a lot of leeway to make sure every patient can have a test.

    Cons

    - 401k match doesn't vest for 4 years

    Advice to Management

    Maybe make the ASR role a bit more structured, most of us are new to the medical field and don't know terminology, how it works, etc.

    Natera Response

    Dec 6, 2018 – HR team

    The review and recommendation is appreciated, especially as we continuously look at our benefit offerings.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Operations Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Natera full-time

    Pros

    Good food, nice people, gym in house

    Cons

    High turnover, poor culture, bad managemnet

    Natera Response

    Dec 6, 2018 – HR team

    Each team fosters its own culture as well as the company itself. We ask employees to actively be a force for shaping a positive culture on their teams and at Natera


  7. "A nice change! (Non-support)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Data Reporter in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Clinical Data Reporter in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Natera full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Management typically understanding of personal issues
    - Earned PTO / sick time per paycheck
    - Direct deposit
    - Health/dental/eye benefits
    - Other misc benefits for employee wellbeing
    - Comparable starting compensation
    - Constant 1x1s to help get to goals
    - Furthering career opportunities

    Cons

    - Can occasionally feel overworked

    Advice to Management

    Management CAN feel a little clique-y with each other.

    Natera Response

    Dec 6, 2018 – HR team

    We appreciate the recommendation and thoughts!

  8. "Great growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Carlos, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Carlos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Natera full-time

    Pros

    Advancement opportunities, free food, great products.

    Cons

    Heavy workload, and some senior leadership needs more coaching

    Natera Response

    Oct 22, 2018 – HR team

    Opportunities for advancement are a key part of growing an organization and developing from within. Yes, workload can be a part of growth but something we look at balance continuously.


  9. "Natera has so much to offer both to patients and employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst
    Current Employee - Analyst
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Natera full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It has a talented set of people who are hard working and willing to do what needs to be done.
    The culture here is great, people are nice and I look forward to coming to work everyday.
    There is so much to learn and so much to contribute.

    Cons

    For a company of this size and company that's growing, it is common to see choas. But it is up to the individual to work with their manager to get their priorities straight.
    They can offer better insurance policy and bonus to their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the hard work and you are doing a great job motivating people and accomplishing results. Thumbs to all of you! And kudos to you for adding women leaders!

    Natera Response

    Oct 22, 2018 – HR team

    Women in leadership positions is key to our success. Thank you for acknowledging the company's direction and reminding how important it is to work with each of our managers as priorities shift.


  10. "Great experience, awesome co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Carlos, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Carlos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    People are all nice and work really hard
    Free food 3 days a week!
    Interesting work
    Awesome people who work at this company in every department
    All of Natera‘ a products and technologies are amazing and are changing the game

    Cons

    It is a smaller company than others and budgetary constraints naturally happen. Things don’t run as smoothly and efficiently as they do in some other large companies
    Upward mobility may be difficult because of management

    Natera Response

    Oct 1, 2018 – HR team

    We're extremely proud of the talent working at Natera. We are continuously improving our processes to keep pace with our growth and understand that can be felt sometimes. Thanks for sharing your... More