Cover image for Natera
Logo

Natera

Engaged Employer

Natera

Add a Review

Natera Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 636 of over 673 reviews
3.4
62% Recommend to a Friend
Natera CEO Steve Chapman
73% Approve of CEO

Found 638 of over 673 reviews

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Natera CEO Steve Chapman
Steve Chapman
255 Ratings

What people are saying about Natera

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Natera and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best company I've ever worked at

    Nov 14, 2022 - Staff Scientist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good salary Friendly working environment

    Cons

    I do not have any specific negative facts yet

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Natera Response

    Thank you for the 5 star review! Your feedback is much appreciated, and we are glad to hear you’ve had a positive experience working here. Thank you, Recruiting Team recruitinggh@natera.com

  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    All the competent people get overworked until they leave

    Dec 3, 2022 - Team Lead in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free snacks and drinks, the lowest level team leads seems to care and try to be helpful, lots of parking, safe area, security team that patrols the building, good for building entry-level experience, LGBT friendly

    Cons

    Frequent mandatory overtime that you don't learn of until 3 or 4 am, if you call out sick you have to make up the hours, core team often says one thing but does another, you will wait weeks or even months before being informed that you've been doing something incorrectly, core members and supervisors often contradict each other on important information,

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Natera team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Alright

    Dec 1, 2022 - Clinical Data Coordinator in San Carlos, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Incentives and commission program are good catered lunch is okay free food/snacks

    Cons

    play favoritism a lot of micromanaging asking a lot of overtime when people have lives outside of work incentives and commissions are not paid on time

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Lots of churn

    Nov 26, 2022 - Anonymous/Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot of very talented people, good products that make an impact

    Cons

    A lot of churn on priorities, leadership misaligned on strategy, too much short term thinking.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Natera Response

    Thank you for your feedback. If you’d like to discuss this further, we would be happy to talk about it. We will keep this feedback in mind as we continue to expand and improve the company. Thank you, Recruiting Team recruitinggh@natera.com

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Fast pace, great benefits

    Nov 8, 2022 - Marketing Manager in San Carlos, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great opportunities to learn/grow, especially if you're on the right team/function

    Cons

    Can be disorganized and hectic, which is typical for a company of this size/at this particular stage

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Natera Response

    Thank you for the 4 star review, we’re happy to hear you’ve had opportunities to learn and grow here! We appreciate your feedback and will keep it in mind as we expand and improve Natera. Thank you, Recruiting Team recruitinggh@natera.com

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Meaningful work; great co-workers

    Nov 6, 2022 - Clinical Field Specialist in Columbia, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Our prenatal tests are top notch. Love helping pregnant patients.

    Cons

    Targets can be hard to reach depending upon where you live.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Natera Response

    Thank you for the 4 star review! We appreciate your feedback and compliment on products we offer to our patients. Please let us know if you have any additional issues or feedback that you would like to address. Thanks, Recruiting Team recruitinggh@natera.com

  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Slow Motion Management Train Wreck

    Nov 15, 2022 - Technical Product Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The most important piece of information you should garner from my comments here is that WHERE you are working (i.e. which department) at Natera is crucial. There are some fantastic folks working here. Some of the most intelligent, dedicated, passionate, and just plain amazing folks I've ever worked with, I met at Natera. Plain and simple; to many people at Natera, working here is a MISSION... not a job. I loved that. It reminded me very much of my experience as a new-to-white-collar-jobs young person in the late 1990's when I worked in the Internet space (yeah, before it was "I.T."... people here KNOW they are part of a paradigm shift in healthcare, and that their work is making a difference in people's lives. Yes, the company is not always perfect; and its people aren't either, but everyone knows their efforts are truly impacting lives. It was a very humbling and empowering experience to work at Natera, and I don't regret it for a moment. HOWEVER, there are some very significant drawbacks to working here (which I'll get into under the "Cons" section below). Suffice it to say the bottom line is, the corporate culture at Natera has shifted (negatively) as it has become more of a major player in the genomics research field. Alas, for the moment, let's stick to the positive aspects about working for Natera.... The People. The brain trust here - and the sheer number of people who just plain "give a crap" - is astonishing. It's just plain overwhelming how many amazing people I met while working here. I cannot say enough good things about that. However, WHERE you work and WHO you work for make all the difference. Here's a list of departments you SHOULD want to work for at Natera, because the culture in them is positive and you are more likely to feel valued and appreciated... - Clinical Ops - Accessioning - Logistics - Lab Ops Not saying the work is easy, but politically, those are all good places to land. Especially, Accessioning and Logistics are the un-sung heroes of any bio-tech company, and Natera has some really good folks here in spades. If you want to grow your career in those areas, you cannot go wrong getting hired at Natera. Sales, I cannot say and I have no opinion. I have worked with some Sales folks (who were great, btw), but I cannot comment on what it's like to work in that department. Software Developer. If you are a "Dev" then this is a good company (in ENGineering), because you are viewed as God-like and can do no wrong, no matter how many bugs you introduce, for whatever reason. LoL. Seriously, most of the company's systems are so behind the 8-ball that it's like job security in spades for devs. That said, if you want to work in a corporate environment where you'll be able to work with and learn about cutting-edge tech, move on. You won't find it here. Most devs are in RU / some in Ukraine / nothing but good things to say about all those folks... hard workers and straight shooters.

    Cons

    OMG... ENGineering department here (software eng) is a train wreck that cannot get out of its own way. It's like a train wreck + Ground Hog day on repeat. Seriously, if you are a professional software eng role type of person (other than, potentially a Dev), just say NO to Natera.... Keep reading if you want details. See my "Pros" section above for which departments are GOOD to work for! (hint: nothing in ENG) This company is for you if you enjoy: 1. Poor management 2. Top-heavy organizational structure, redundant layers of management, and managers who don't have a clue what their staff is doing. 3. Mediocre pay and other benefits. 4. No pay raises, but annual "bonuses" that don't stack. 5. Stock grants... 4 year vesting... of company stock that declines the longer you work for the company. 6. Projects without clear, bona-fide business scope/requirements (think "tail wagging the dog"). 7. Multiple projects on your plate, of which you will have to juggle constantly in order to try and move anything forward, OR you'll have one project you don't understand very well, and none of your stakeholders seem to understand either. Good luck with that. 8. Absence of cross-team coordination. 9. Frequently checking off boxes and coming up with statements about how great ENG contributions were for blah-blah-blah last quarter. 10. Last, but not least... you plan to work in a role within the top 3 attrition rates within the company: a. Accessioning (monotonous, entry level salaries) b. SQE's c. Product Managers (especially Technical Product Managers)

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Natera Response

    We appreciate your honesty, and you bring up a lot of points that we are taking into consideration for the future growth of the company. Please contact us with any further issues you want to address. Thank you, Recruiting Team recruitinggh@natera.com

  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Left and won't go back

    Nov 11, 2022 - Clinical Data Manager in San Carlos, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I admire their products. When I was first hired the manager and team were great until the dynamics changed and people started leaving.

    Cons

    Not enough oversight, compliance is a problem here, they also hire their cronies that have little or no experience. 5 people left within 6-months.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Natera Response

    We appreciate the honesty in your feedback. We will keep your feedback in mind as we expand and improve the company. Please let us know if you have any additional issues or feedback that you would like to address. Thank you, Recruiting Team recruitinggh@natera.com

  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good starter company

    Nov 9, 2022 - Research Associate I in San Carlos, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work to get introduced into biotech

    Cons

    Unclear expectations when it comes to promotions, salary is low for the area

    1 person found this review helpful

    Natera Response

    We appreciate the honesty in your feedback. Please let us know if you have any additional issues or feedback that you would like to address. Thank you, Recruiting Team recruitinggh@natera.com

  11. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    good

    Oct 26, 2022 - Associate Scientist in San Carlos, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    no micro-management for scientist and managers

    Cons

    need more space for lab function

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Natera Response

    Thank you for the 4 star review! We appreciate the honesty in your feedback, and will keep this feedback in mind as we expand and improve Natera. Thank you, Recruiting Team recruitinggh@natera.com

Viewing 1 - 10 of 638 Reviews
</>Embed

Natera Reviews FAQs

Natera has an overall rating of 3.4 out of 5, based on over 673 reviews left anonymously by employees. 62% of employees would recommend working at Natera to a friend and 59% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -12% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Natera employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Natera. This rating has decreased by -8% over the last 12 months.

62% of Natera employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Natera 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.4 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Natera to be career development, culture, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, compensation, management.

Popular Careers with Natera Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Natera? Share Your Experiences

Natera logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Natera Photos

+ Add Photo
Natera photo of: Working at Natera
Natera photo of: International Women's Day 2021
Natera photo of: WFH Dog - COVID 19
Natera photo of: WFH Cat - COVID 19
Natera photo of: WFH Kids - COVID 19
Natera photo of: WFH Farm - COVID 19
Natera photo of: WFH Kids and Dog - COVID 19
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Natera Job Seekers Also Viewed

Totango Logo
Totango

4.0

35 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 673 Natera reviews submitted anonymously by Natera employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Natera is right for you.