NationBuilder Reviews | Glassdoor

NationBuilder Reviews

Updated Nov 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
NationBuilder CEO Jim Gilliam
Jim Gilliam
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Culture of fear."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NationBuilder

    Pros

    Free food and make your own hours, so that's "cool".

    Cons

    -- Homophobic and misogynist environment. -- Company is hemorrhaging money yet consistently fails to meet quarterly goals. -- Zero transparency of decisions like firing people. -- Employees are fearful of losing their jobs. -- Product is consistently buggy. -- If you are on the sales team, your sales calls may be monitored without your permission/knowledge. -- Founder lies to your face about performance.... -- Higher ups bully those they don't see potential in. -- SERIOUSLY if you don't identify as straight, don't work here. -- People will move across the country for a job here, sign a lease, and be fired six weeks in. -- Three words: Culture of fear.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't punish good people for not fitting into your delusional, so-called "community". You should be ashamed of yourselves for how you treat other human beings. Even the biggest inventor evangelist of this company would lay off the NationBuilder koolaid if he knew the truth.

    NationBuilder2015-08-05
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at NationBuilder full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There really are no pros to working here in comparison to other companies.

    Cons

    They make you do "Community Circles" which is basically where they put you in a circle for three hours and make you talk about a whole bunch of things that you think are wrong with the company or management or other fellow coworkers, and then you get "laid off" for it. This is a monumental waste of time, money, and resources. They show no appreciation of your hard work and management definitely plays favorites with... their team members. You can ask a hundred times to "do the thing you were meant to do" but they do not allow you to do it. They are disrespectful and have no regard for you as a human being, which is funny, because that is basically all they talk about. They continue to spend money they don't have and for the last two quarters have let go a bunch of employees. The leader definitely has a founders complex. I would definitely not work here, you can find somewhere with better benefits, pay, and opportunity.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop being friends with your employees that is NOT what a manager is supposed to do and you are not changing the world you are only holding the business back and will never get any respect and will continue to get nothing done. Learn to be a leader yourself before you try to motivate other people to be leaders. STOP THE COMMUNITY CIRCLES, it feels like we are in a cult.

    NationBuilder2015-08-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great staff but growing pains of startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NationBuilder full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When work is in full line with mission, and all processes reflect it, GREAT place to work.

    Cons

    Too many sudden changes in a short period of time, lacks full transparency.

    Advice to Management

    Create an effective structure and let it operate for a while, transparency on why decisions are made should be clear- product, personnel, teams etc.

    NationBuilder2015-07-05
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Organizer (account manager+sales)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Organizer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NationBuilder full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had the opportunity to work with incredibly amazing people who come from a wide variety of different backgrounds. The work schedule was such that I was occasionally able to work from home, and there was no real limit to paid vacation (as long as a supervisor approved). I appreciated the lack of hierarchical structure at the office - it was easy for me to chat w/ certain members of senior level management and I... forged friendship and positive working relationships with people from many different teams.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company philosophy is supposedly focused on providing "tools for leaders" and yet there is an almost complete and utter lack of true leadership inside the company. As an employee, I was almost never made to feel that my work was appreciated, and for approximately 9-10 months I received little to zero feedback from my direct manager. The atmosphere is tainted with fear and distrust, especially in the wake of... significant layoffs that happened in April 2015. Employees can be made to feel like they are being set up to be fired, and the general consensus is that the company has failed time and time again to map out a professional growth path for employees. In my opinion, the CEO has a seemingly self-destructive case of Founder's Syndrome.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    A company that lacks transparency cannot be successful in the long run

    NationBuilder2015-05-24
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Organizer and Evangelist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NationBuilder full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are the best I've ever worked with/for. The mission is amazing and there are extremely flexible policies that let you have a lot of independence in your job. There are a lot of fast growth opportunities and care and compassion for people with health issues, and other needs. There is a great amount of diversity in every way - politically, racially, age wise, etc.

    Cons

    Well, just like any startup, it's in a constant state of flux. This means changes in strategy, personnel, where your desk is located. It's not for everyone and it's high stakes, which means high losses.

    NationBuilder2015-04-13
  6. Helpful (3)

    "A great young company still learning."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at NationBuilder full-time

    Pros

    In general there are great people. Awesome perks and a beautiful work space. The middle management is really good and people care more than I have ever experienced at any other company. These people really believe in what they are doing and work like crazy to get it done. Nobody slacks off and everyone supports each other.

    Cons

    The company is still young and growing. There have been some bumps in the road but mistakes don't get repeated twice.

    Advice to Management

    Don't fix what ain't broken.

    NationBuilder2015-04-13
  7. Helpful (13)

    "Don't drink the koolaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NationBuilder for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are the best in the world. The best. I've never met such an amazing group of open minded creatives.

    Cons

    The people- those same, best people, aren't allowed to do their jobs. There's no creativity allowed unless it meshes with the decrees of the CEO. I worked there for over a year and was consistently underutilized and put on projects that never went anywhere. My manager met with me, at most, once per month, while meeting with other members of my team daily. There is a clear A team and B team. And no, being asked... to move across the country and uplift your life doesn't automatically put you on the A team. I witnessed bullies get promoted and those being harassed getting let go. I saw people move across the country and get fired in 2 days after signing a lease for no apparent reason. The CEO is trying to start something bigger than a company - he is trying to start a following. It is his way or the highway. Stick to the highway.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Step back and let the people you hired do their jobs. Stop trying to do everything your way. And don't spend millions on brick and mortar when you say all you care about is community.

    NationBuilder2015-04-14
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Organizer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Organizer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NationBuilder full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Seemed like a great environment to work in. Big kitchen. Smiling and nice employees. Hiring process was long but interviews were fun.

    Cons

    After a 5+ week process, I was officially hired with a signed offer letter. 3 days before I was supposed to start, I received a call saying that my position had been eliminated due to lay offs. Looking at the other posts here, I guess it was better than being fired after a week or two. Not much better, considering that I all I have to show for it is 5 weeks wasted and a brand new job search.

    Advice to Management

    What you are doing is shameful. Obviously you guys are having serious issues with hiring and turn over, and taking hopeful employees along for the ride is bordering on illegal.

    NationBuilder2015-04-17
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Ugh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NationBuilder full-time

    Pros

    Pros? Um. The kitchen is well stocked. The location is nice. I met some great coworkers.

    Cons

    The "leadership" of this organization is a tone deaf vacuum and completely irresponsible. The turnover rate is astounding. They try to bring everyone in at the same salary no matter what, but that looks like new college grads making the same thing as experienced industry professionals. They only look to VPs for intelligence but some of the organizers have more experience than the VPs. This place is a joke and the... product isn't much better.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire yourselves.

    NationBuilder2015-04-13
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Huge upside but has serious organizational challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Organizer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at NationBuilder full-time

    Pros

    A great platform and mission. If it's not already, NationBuilder has the potential to be synonymous with leadership and positive social change. Amazing and smart people are drawn to the company. Organizers from around the world have come to NationBuilder who have done everything from manage political campaigns to start their own non-profit. It's a great network from which to learn and challenge yourself.... Management does listen and is open to taking feedback from anyone. You'll learn a lot. Especially for people coming in as organizers there are tons of opportunities to grow your professional network, learn some basic coding, etc. that can be very useful for professional growth.

    Show More

    Cons

    Mission driven almost to a fault. A focus on storytelling and organizing philosophy often persists to the detriment of product and business development. A lot of other reviews have touched on this, but I'll just say that there's often a serious disconnect with the average employee and with what is considered a leadership priority. Hiring and retainment has been a tough nut to crack. Too many organizers aren't... prepared for what the job really entails. It's unclear if it's the job that's too tough or if the right candidates are just hard to find. Promotion and career paths aren't very clear.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Really invest in employees who have shown a dedication to the company. Offer more opportunities for people to step up beyond what's in the job description. Biggest pain point to fix in my opinion is communication across teams and with leadership. Too often there was confusion and dissent/gossip within the team mostly due to unclear communication and with what was considered surprise decision making.

    NationBuilder2015-01-27
Found 61 reviews