KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

National Abortion Federation

Is this your company?

National Abortion Federation

Add a Review

National Abortion Federation Reviews

Updated May 18, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 27 reviews

2.2
26%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
National Abortion Federation CEO Vicki Saporta
Vicki Saporta
6 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Amazing benefits, insurance, etc especially for people who are looking for jobs right out of undergrad.(in 4 reviews)
Cons
  • "3) If you ask the CEO about getting a raise she says that her salary is not up for debate (her salary is $365,000 but who even brought that up).(in 6 reviews)
  • "CEO is abusive and controlling.(in 5 reviews)
  • "Management will want you to be a sacrificial lamb, who deals with abuse, taxing emotional work, and low pay because they know you believe in the cause.(in 3 reviews)
  • "7) Lack of communication from management to staff.(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    amazing non-profit

    Aug 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the work, the company, the pay, the atmosphere. everything about this organization is great.

    Cons

    being on a computer a lot-for some people

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    TOXIC, TOXIC TOXIC

    May 18, 2022 - Case Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Helping to fund and support patients seeking abortion

    Cons

    Management is TOXIC. Abusive environment.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Process took too long

    Apr 25, 2022 - Hotline Intake Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good cause and helps a lot of women throughout the nation.

    Cons

    The interview process took too long and the recruiter was very forgetful and had bad communication skills.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Two Stars

    Mar 18, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Worked with some great people.

    Cons

    Really poor management and training,

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Not sustainable for most

    Apr 9, 2021 - Clerical Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mission, coworkers, niche, benefits, networking

    Cons

    Leadership, morale, hours, workload, support from superiors

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Built on Faulty Ethics

    Sep 13, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The community built among entry level and mid level staff is incredible. I was fortunate to meet brillent, empathetic, leaders while working here. Many of these staff members are invested in making the work place better and more equitable. The work is very rewarding and you will have the opportunity to foster relationships with other brilliant people who work at independent clinics in the US, Canada, and Latin America. I was given a lot of professional development opportunites because my supervisor was invested in me.

    Cons

    During my time here our CEO left. Prior to her resignation, several staff members were underpaid (starting salaries were $32,000), there was no upwards mobility, there were multiple sexual abusers on staff who had several complaints against them, racisim was rampant, and union busting was in full-force! After the CEO's departure, many complicit white ladies in leadership positions got to keep their jobs. Some of these women were even promoted and are still on staff. Several new leadership positions were hired for. Many of these new employees were not from the movement and were not committed to the values many in the reproductive justice community hold themselves to. They also began contributing to toxic, infantalizing leadership. Pay disparity continued to be a glaring issue. I watched several people get fired or have their positions elimianated after being labeled "troublemakers" by leadership. Some of those women were WOC. The new CEO didn't have the foresight to tell staff that the organizational mission had changed before announcing it to memebers at the annual meeting. The CEO and many other leaders at the organization upheld the membership and hero-worship of prominent community members after they were accused of rape. Truly, working here was a traumatic experience. If you are a young professional, who deeply cares about reproductive healthcare, please take your talents somewhere that your worth is recognized.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Distinctly Mixed Feelings

    Jun 4, 2015 - Administrative Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gave me great experience to take to my next position, I had a great direct supervisor who advocated for me very strongly when needed and gave great advice. Very cause driven environment, extremely passionate place where every other employee was as dedicated to the pro-choice movement. Inspiring to be around. I made a lot of life long friendships.

    Cons

    Poisonous work environment, which starts at the top. "Upper Management" is horrific to work with, thankfully they aren't in the office very much. A culture of disrespect and immaturity in terms of how interpersonal issues are dealt with trickles down. I have actually be screamed at in the office before, which I will never again tolerate. It can get unprofessional, which I dislike.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Hard, but worth it

    Jun 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Good cause. I like helping pregnant people get the care they need. * Always have work to do * EXCELLENT benefits and paid time off * Flexible

    Cons

    * Waking up to new attacks on abortion is exhausting * Holding space for patients is exhausting * Low pay, but they already announced last month that they're increasing our salaries and starting salaries happening in july for us on the lower end * Coworkers like spreading rumours and can make it hard to work when they don't like being at work. I was worried by coworkers telling me it was toxic, but haven't really had any problems or seen anything like it from my boss.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great work - Not a living wage in DC

    Oct 4, 2017 - Hotline Intake Counselor in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good, fulfilling work. Amazing benefits, insurance, etc especially for people who are looking for jobs right out of undergrad.

    Cons

    Not enough people working on the Hotline that represent our client base (all white people). The black people tend to get fired. The other part of NAF treats the Hotline like trash, probably because we get paid so little.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Great Mission, great people, needs better pay and better leadership

    Dec 13, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The hotline does amazing work. You never have to wonder if you are making a difference in individual's lives. The mission is wonderful, and women everywhere have been helped by the NAF hotline.

    Cons

    The hotline, which the organization is primarily known for is undervalued. The pay is not great, especially considering how emotionally draining the work can be.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

Popular Careers with National Abortion Federation Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at National Abortion Federation? Share Your Experiences

National Abortion Federation logo
or