National Abortion Federation Reviews

Updated Mar 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.2
22%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
National Abortion Federation CEO Vicki Saporta
Vicki Saporta
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place To Be If You’re Optimistic"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at National Abortion Federation full-time

    Pros

    -Great office location -Good PTO/holiday structure -Nice office -Lunch catered from time to time -Best co-workers

    Cons

    Working at NAF is what you make of it. There are a lot of things to be thankful for or optimistic about. Some folks dwell on the past but ever since NAF received a new (interim) CEO, I think incremental (good) change has come. Like any work place there is gossip and problematic people in upper management positions but I think the same could be said for most organizations.

    Continue reading
    National Abortion Federation2019-03-07
  2. Helpful (2)

    "If you are a toxic person and thrive off chaos, this is the place for you!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at National Abortion Federation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    GREAT benefits package Flexible schedule Self-starting work They'll promote you for being toxic They'll promote you if you're a favorite

    Cons

    Racism/White privilege Bad compensation Rumors GALORE Inadequate management across the board Poor communication across the board NO promotional opportunities unless you're a favorite employee For an organization who serves mostly POC, I can count the number of POC here on my hand

    Continue reading
    National Abortion Federation2019-02-08
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Still horrible"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Hotline in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at National Abortion Federation

    Pros

    Union positions Good on resume Comprehensive training for position

    Cons

    This is an organization who will only fire verbal abusers + sexual harassers (and their enablers) when you go to the news... then they wait 3 months and throw those same people a Gala.

    Continue reading
    National Abortion Federation2018-12-04
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Hotliner"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at National Abortion Federation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great entry work after college. Very thorough training and challenging work. I learned how to work well under pressure.

    Cons

    Salary is low given the DC metropolitan area high cost of living. Policies are sometimes not clear.

    National Abortion Federation2018-08-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Hard, but worth it"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at National Abortion Federation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Good cause. I like helping pregnant people get the care they need. * Always have work to do * EXCELLENT benefits and paid time off * Flexible

    Cons

    * Waking up to new attacks on abortion is exhausting * Holding space for patients is exhausting * Low pay, but they already announced last month that they're increasing our salaries and starting salaries happening in july for us on the lower end * Coworkers like spreading rumours and can make it hard to work when they don't like being at work. I was worried by coworkers telling me it was toxic, but haven't really had any problems or seen anything like it from my boss.

    Continue reading
    National Abortion Federation2018-06-18
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Please respect yourself enough not to work here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hotline Intake Counselor in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at National Abortion Federation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    NAF's mission of "safe and legal abortions" is important, although not everything NAF does helps further this for all people. (They seem to mostly be focused on safe and legal abortions for white women). Most coworkers are decent Good benefits

    Cons

    1) Management will not respect you (the CEO or hotline management). If you go to management with complaints, you will be gaslight, belittled, and laughed at. 2) You are not paid well. $32000 in DC is nothing. Most people on the hotline have to work 2 or 3 jobs to pay their rent. Many people on the hotline live in situations that they are uncomfortable with, but they cannot change it because of their low pay. The CEO will buy food for meetings for guests and donors and then offer you the scraps if she's feeling generous enough. 3) If you ask the CEO about getting a raise she says that her salary is not up for debate (her salary is $365,000 but who even brought that up). 4) The CEO equated the office having a nice coffee machine to her respecting her staff???? 5) Conflicting messages about whether NAF's primary goal is to serve patients or clinics. (Most of the staff agrees that it should be the patients, but the CEO and hotline management seem to disagree). 6) Workplace sexual harassment and racism both go unchecked. Both of these have been perpetrated by people in positions of power at NAF. 7) Lack of communication from management to staff. (Management will change the policy on something, not tell anybody, and then penalize people for doing it incorrectly. Only after the person says staff was never told, is the staff told about the policy change. This is a very common occurrence). --------- To summarize: There is little to no respect or transparency at NAF, particularly on the Hotline. If the CEO and other management were to step down, I like to think that things at NAF would change. When the CEO doesn't respect other management, management burns out and can't properly lead their staff. I think at this point, it is too late for most of the management, they are complacent and complicit in the poor treatment of their staff. The turnover rate for staff is incredibly high and morale is incredibly low. Management does not even remotely care about the well-being of their employees. Every day you have to swallow your pride before going in to work. It doesn't matter what the day throws at you, you will be on your own. Management will not support you if you've had a particularly hard call or are having a particularly hard day. To management, the staff is just people for them to step on. Management will continue to get raises and respect in the reproductive justice movement, but those actually doing the leg work will go unappreciated and unnoticed.

    Continue reading
    National Abortion Federation2018-04-03
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Just say no"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at National Abortion Federation full-time

    Pros

    Absolutely none to speak of.

    Cons

    Everything. Long hours, terrible work/life balance, aggressive CEO, and a lot of bickering/workplace drama. High employee turnover rate with no thought/consideration to try to make the environment and work more tolerable to entice employees to stay. When I worked there, there was no HR department and no union, so employees were completely unprotected. This was one of the saddest work environments I've ever worked in.

    Continue reading
    National Abortion Federation2018-02-14
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Don't Let Yourself Be a Sacrificial Lamb for $32,000"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at National Abortion Federation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good health insurance that is not costly. Seven hour work day plus one hour of paid lunch. The job is a good stepping stone if you don't have any experience in the nonprofit sector and want to build your resume.

    Cons

    For many reasons, this job is just not sustainable. First of all, the pay is extremely low, especially in the DC area. The majority of people here have to work second jobs in order to pay their rent and the only people who do not have to do so, have partners who make way more money. Likewise, the only people who really have longevity at this organization are with more well off partners. The yearly raises here are abyssal, and with taxes come out to be an extra $60 or so each month. Despite being told that we don't have it in the budget to raise our salaries, somehow NAF was able to build a multi-million dollar office space and fill it with unnecessary conveniences like fancy coffeemakers. Meanwhile, our CEO takes lavish vacations on her yacht while the rest of us work two jobs just to pay rent and bills. In terms of work-place culture, some employees at NAF are blatantly disrespectful and downright abusive. NAF claims to be a feminist organization that wants to fight gender oppression, yet NAF continues to defend and protect sexual harassers and racists who work here. Despite multitudes of complaints to HR, these people still work at NAF and some even continue to take on more powerful positions. Speaking of HR, complaints are not confidential and sometimes you'll even get reprimanded by upper management for filing a complaint against someone. There's not a lot of written policy and protocol in place, which NAF uses in its favor to reward some employees while degrading others. For example, if you work on the Hotline, you are told that you can't negotiate your salary since the budget is too tight. However, some people in the past have been able to negotiate a multi-thousand dollar salary increase (which is unheard of here) simply because they are management's favorite, despite having HR complaints against them. Because of this, the turnover rate is very high. Making it to your one year anniversary is a feat, as many people leave within months of working here. If you're not burned out from the emotional labor, you're burned out from the salary. If you're not burned out from the salary, you're burned out from dealing with toxic people who are cloaked in a shield of protection. Management will want you to be a sacrificial lamb, who deals with abuse, taxing emotional work, and low pay because they know you believe in the cause. They use your altruism as a weapon against you. Believing in a cause doesn't pay the bills.

    Continue reading
    National Abortion Federation2017-12-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great work - Not a living wage in DC"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Hotline Intake Counselor in Washington, DC

    I have been working at National Abortion Federation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good, fulfilling work. Amazing benefits, insurance, etc especially for people who are looking for jobs right out of undergrad.

    Cons

    Not enough people working on the Hotline that represent our client base (all white people). The black people tend to get fired. The other part of NAF treats the Hotline like trash, probably because we get paid so little.

    Continue reading
    National Abortion Federation2017-10-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Mission, great people, needs better pay and better leadership"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at National Abortion Federation full-time

    Pros

    The hotline does amazing work. You never have to wonder if you are making a difference in individual's lives. The mission is wonderful, and women everywhere have been helped by the NAF hotline.

    Cons

    The hotline, which the organization is primarily known for is undervalued. The pay is not great, especially considering how emotionally draining the work can be.

    Continue reading
    National Abortion Federation2016-12-13
Found 17 reviews