KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

National Abortion Federation

Is this your company?

National Abortion Federation

Add a Review

National Abortion Federation Reviews

Updated May 18, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 27 reviews

2.2
26%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
National Abortion Federation CEO Vicki Saporta
Vicki Saporta
6 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Amazing benefits, insurance, etc especially for people who are looking for jobs right out of undergrad.(in 4 reviews)
Cons
  • "3) If you ask the CEO about getting a raise she says that her salary is not up for debate (her salary is $365,000 but who even brought that up).(in 6 reviews)
  • "CEO is abusive and controlling.(in 5 reviews)
  • "Management will want you to be a sacrificial lamb, who deals with abuse, taxing emotional work, and low pay because they know you believe in the cause.(in 3 reviews)
  • "7) Lack of communication from management to staff.(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    amazing non-profit

    Aug 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the work, the company, the pay, the atmosphere. everything about this organization is great.

    Cons

    being on a computer a lot-for some people

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place To Be If You’re Optimistic

    Mar 6, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Great office location -Good PTO/holiday structure -Nice office -Lunch catered from time to time -Best co-workers

    Cons

    Working at NAF is what you make of it. There are a lot of things to be thankful for or optimistic about. Some folks dwell on the past but ever since NAF received a new (interim) CEO, I think incremental (good) change has come. Like any work place there is gossip and problematic people in upper management positions but I think the same could be said for most organizations.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Hard, but worth it

    Jun 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Good cause. I like helping pregnant people get the care they need. * Always have work to do * EXCELLENT benefits and paid time off * Flexible

    Cons

    * Waking up to new attacks on abortion is exhausting * Holding space for patients is exhausting * Low pay, but they already announced last month that they're increasing our salaries and starting salaries happening in july for us on the lower end * Coworkers like spreading rumours and can make it hard to work when they don't like being at work. I was worried by coworkers telling me it was toxic, but haven't really had any problems or seen anything like it from my boss.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good cause, Great people, Low pay like other non-profits

    Jun 18, 2013 - Hotline Operator/Counselor in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dedication to providing abortion and pregnancy related services to women worldwide no exceptions Great co-workers and hotline managers

    Cons

    pay is just ok very stressful job/constantly on edge with patients

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Not sustainable for most

    Apr 9, 2021 - Clerical Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mission, coworkers, niche, benefits, networking

    Cons

    Leadership, morale, hours, workload, support from superiors

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Hotliner

    Aug 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great entry work after college. Very thorough training and challenging work. I learned how to work well under pressure.

    Cons

    Salary is low given the DC metropolitan area high cost of living. Policies are sometimes not clear.

    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great work - Not a living wage in DC

    Oct 4, 2017 - Hotline Intake Counselor in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good, fulfilling work. Amazing benefits, insurance, etc especially for people who are looking for jobs right out of undergrad.

    Cons

    Not enough people working on the Hotline that represent our client base (all white people). The black people tend to get fired. The other part of NAF treats the Hotline like trash, probably because we get paid so little.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Great Mission, great people, needs better pay and better leadership

    Dec 13, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The hotline does amazing work. You never have to wonder if you are making a difference in individual's lives. The mission is wonderful, and women everywhere have been helped by the NAF hotline.

    Cons

    The hotline, which the organization is primarily known for is undervalued. The pay is not great, especially considering how emotionally draining the work can be.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Needs new leadership

    Oct 17, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Passionate co-workers, rewarding work, inspiring colleagues

    Cons

    Abusive leadership, lack of diversity

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Distinctly Mixed Feelings

    Jun 4, 2015 - Administrative Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gave me great experience to take to my next position, I had a great direct supervisor who advocated for me very strongly when needed and gave great advice. Very cause driven environment, extremely passionate place where every other employee was as dedicated to the pro-choice movement. Inspiring to be around. I made a lot of life long friendships.

    Cons

    Poisonous work environment, which starts at the top. "Upper Management" is horrific to work with, thankfully they aren't in the office very much. A culture of disrespect and immaturity in terms of how interpersonal issues are dealt with trickles down. I have actually be screamed at in the office before, which I will never again tolerate. It can get unprofessional, which I dislike.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

Popular Careers with National Abortion Federation Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at National Abortion Federation? Share Your Experiences

National Abortion Federation logo
or