National Academy for State Health Policy Reviews | Glassdoor

National Academy for State Health Policy Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Office Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at National Academy for State Health Policy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of support from around the organization, regular checkins, and great culture.

    Cons

    Change moved pretty slow and some of the groups were very compartmentalized. Hard to help each other on different projects.

    National Academy for State Health Policy2016-04-12
  2. "Great Co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Policy Associate in Portland, ME

    I worked at National Academy for State Health Policy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have worked at NASHP for over 3 years and can firmly say that the people that work here are wonderful coworkers. They are smart, passionate, and really care about their work. There is never a dull moment and you are constantly learning and gaining great experience. I believe strongly that the skills I learned at NASHP really advanced me to the next level of my career. The CEO made it a point to have an exit interview...

    Show More

    Cons

    I really struggled with my work/life balance at NASHP. There is a lot of work to do and not enough people to do it. NASHP has struggled with making their office a more inclusive place, and I am hopeful that they will continue efforts to diversify their staff.

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are experts on how to make NASHP a great place- keep listening to them and use their feedback!

    National Academy for State Health Policy2019-06-10
  3. "Not welcoming for people of color"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at National Academy for State Health Policy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and pay

    Cons

    Turnover rate for people of color is significant. The culture of the company is not one that is welcoming and prohibits you from from feeling comfortable and safe at work.

    National Academy for State Health Policy2019-06-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "White Woman Dominated Toxic Environment w/Constant Turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Policy Associate in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at National Academy for State Health Policy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best reason to work here is as a placeholder, so you can get paid while looking for a real job. The younger staff can be really fun and delightful, if they're there long enough for you to get to know them.

    Cons

    No room for growth unless you are in the Portland office. Managers have no consideration for their employees as humans; they just care about CMS thinking NASHP is good enough to receive the next grant. I never received any positive feedback, only ire when I didn't meet my boss' amorphous standards. NASHP really just maintains the health care status quo instead of doing any meaningful work toward advancing "health policy...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Maybe actually invest in or care about your employees? Management knows there is a high turnover rate and has just accepted that new employees are numbers who probably won't last long but can always be replaced.

    National Academy for State Health Policy2018-12-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Easy to be proud of your work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at National Academy for State Health Policy full-time

      Pros

      The range of issues and materials you get to work on is excellent. The people at the organization itself are lovely, and you get the chance to work with a ton of accomplished state officials. For young professionals getting into the field this is an excellent place to hone research and writing skills. There’s a collaborative environment and the teams are small enough that once you get your feet wet you are trusted with...

      Show More

      Cons

      At least while I was there the teams were pretty silo-ed, so opportunities for advancement and growth were not standardized across the organization. Some managers are much stronger than others at mentoring and promoting their team members interests.

      Advice to Management

      Create a roadmap to growth and promotion for staff that is standardized across policy teams. While yes some ability to promote/hire is constrained by grants and project needs, managers can be much more proactive and communicative with their staff on how to achieve benchmarks and build their career at NASHP (this may mean that staff occasionally switch teams, or other creative options.)

      National Academy for State Health Policy2018-08-22
    • "Great People, Decent Organization"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at National Academy for State Health Policy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Wonderfully passionate people, some important policy work, not a super intense work environment. Your experience might depend on what department you end up in. Good spring board/first job.

      Cons

      Not super clear how to get promoted. Not a lot of people of color

      Advice to Management

      Invest in your staff's development and morale to avoid high turnover. Hire a real chief of staff for the executive director and a real technology lead. Stop hiring out to contractors

      National Academy for State Health Policy2018-07-31
    • "Chaotic, Unprofessional Management Creates 50% Turnover in the Past Year"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Associate in Washington, DC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at National Academy for State Health Policy full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Many of the policy areas employees get to work on are genuinely fascinating

      Cons

      1) Unethical HR and management practices characterized by passive-aggressive manipulation, poor communication, and petty grievances. 2) Insecurity concerning the company's own value leading to a "scarcity mindset" that inhibits the growth and well-being of talented employees. 3) Needlessly stressful, demoralizing work culture built on fear and intimidation.

      Advice to Management

      Please treat your employees as resources to be invested in, rather than objects to be exploited. The organization has the potential to do important work. Unfortunately, management has created a reputation as a partner not worth collaborating with. Talented, hard-working staff leave quickly for greener pastures once they realize the extent of the dysfunction.

      National Academy for State Health Policy2018-05-13
    • "Development"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director of Development in Washington, DC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at National Academy for State Health Policy full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      nice group of people, decent benefits

      Cons

      Upper management wishes to maintain small size organization

      National Academy for State Health Policy2017-05-01
    • "Policy Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Policy Associate in Portland, ME
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at National Academy for State Health Policy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I had the opportunity to work for a number of policy initiatives and was given the opportunity for advancement.

      Cons

      The organization has undergone a considerable amount of turnover and restructuring in the last few years.

      Advice to Management

      Seek input from staff members concerning strategic direction of the organization.

      National Academy for State Health Policy2017-03-04
    • "Experience Depends on the Department"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at National Academy for State Health Policy full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great Benefits, a nonprofit that operates like a corporation. If you are interested in politics and policies a great job for policy wonks.

      Cons

      Some teams work in isolation it isn't a good model when you job is to work with all the teams. Each team has a different culture which can pose problems in overall organizational culture. High resistance remote work.

      Advice to Management

      Get on board with more flexible work schedules.

      National Academy for State Health Policy2015-08-08
    Found 13 reviews