National Association For Education of Young Children Reviews

Updated Jan 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.3
26%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
National Association For Education of Young Children Chief Executive Officer Rhian Allvin (no image)
Rhian Allvin
2 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Meaningful mission

    Mar 6, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing mission, great colleagues, lots of flexibility

    Cons

    sometimes exhausting and discouraging to work on social justice issues in current political environment.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Subpar

    Jan 30, 2021 - Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits and average compensation

    Cons

    Terrible leadership, best friends promoting best friends

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Intern, more than 3 years

    Ambitious Culture

    Oct 8, 2020 - Anonymous in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mission driven and upbeat organization. The people really care about each other.

    Cons

    Sometimes NAEYC tries to do too much instead of choosing a few goals to achieve. It can result in overwhelm.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Poor Culture

    May 13, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great mission. Flexible. Paid week off for Christmas/New Years. Telecommuting available.

    Cons

    The organization is almost all women. There is very little diversity with regard to gender and race in leadership positions. There are no men in leadership positions, of the two men that were have resigned. There are no minorities in Sr. Director or Executive roles. The ones that were, resigned. Though the CEO and HR department I believe would like to change that, those are the facts. This makes for a unique environment. Staff are ultra-sensitive. Trust no one. Keep your head down and get your work down. Backstabbing is a part of life here. You will be worked to death. Turnover is high. You will be stabbed in the back.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Program support dept early learning programs

    Mar 8, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The strategic direction Naeyc is headed towards, the area (downtown) , love working on my floor just tired of people not worrying about their own depts and needs

    Cons

    All depts are different and have different goals and work to do. All depts should be looked at individually and see what suits the needs for each one. Program support were the first ones to have schedules suspended and then everyone else in other depts because of their complaints. It’s not fair to be constantly told that we can’t continue our schedule whether it’s compressed or telework because program support can’t do it.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Extremely stressful

    Jan 30, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    PTO, ability to have every other Friday off with Work Adjustment Day schedule, 401k match

    Cons

    Extremely stressful work environment (everything is an emergency), senior management micromanaged by Executive Director, Executive Director is extremely unprofessional

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    National Association For Education of Young Children Response

    Human Resources Department

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We consider our benefit offerings to be very competitive and we are grateful employees are taking advantage of them. Regarding the stressful work environment: We are making strides in addressing staff culture and would value the opportunity to speak with you more about strategies we might implement to increase capacity, leverage skills across the organization, while decreasing the sense of urgency that is sometimes caused by a lack of planning. Finally, please reach out to our Senior HR Director to speak with her further about the verbally abusive behavior you might have experienced.

  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great possibilities, Doesn't practice what it preaches, Doesn't reign in abusive management

    Jul 13, 2016 - Coordinator in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot of great and passionate staff, open to new ideas and strategies, chance to interact with and develop in a phenomenal and internationally known resource in ECCD. As I was leaving, new and awesome senior staff were being brought in, though the ones entrenched showed no signs of improving.

    Cons

    Low pay comparatively, worse benefits (their maternity leave is abysmal for an organization intimately aware of the need for parental involvement during the first few months), zero office culture, zero accountability for senior staff, old and outdated modes aren't addressed, a lot of complaining and very limited mobility or growth as in basically none. During my 9 months there, my floor of maybe at most 40 people saw 10 leave, more than half of whom were the staff under the age of 30.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Bad and getting worse

    Oct 16, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    NAEYC is conveniently located in DC. NAEYC supports the education of young children, which is an easy cause to support. Work/life balance is manageable for mid/low level staff.

    Cons

    Despite management's efforts to improve culture, atmosphere at NAEYC is bad. Standards and accountability vary wildly department-to-department. Employees' calendars are bogged down by too many meetings that go nowhere. NAEYC wastes time and money on consultants and initiatives that do little to advance its mission, while simultaneously ignoring or shortchanging actual areas of need. Management has high expectations, but is not prepared or equipped to make investments and staff changes needed to really get where they want to go, so they force employees to take 2+2 and make it equal 6. The pay is bad (no merit-based salary increases). The benefits are bad (AWFUL maternity/paternity leave policy). After a year at NAEYC, you will ask yourself why you are bothering to continue to push the boulder up the hill and either 1.) Stop trying, or 2.) Look for a new job.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Learn what you can and then get out.

    Jan 21, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very relaxed work environment. Nice people dedicated to the mission. Most of the staff are friendly, but there is always one or two here and there that can really ruffle your feathers.

    Cons

    This organization barely has its nose above water. Cut backs; layoffs; raises are limited to only a handful of staff; no cost of living increase in 3 years.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Intern

    Member and Affiliate Relations Intern

    Sep 9, 2015 - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, great internship experience, I made a lot of connections. I was always involved and gained valuable experience doing multiple things.

    Cons

    I wish I was able to stay longer but the department I was working for was small. Overall it was a great experience. I wish the building wasn't so cold though!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Popular Careers with National Association For Education of Young Children Job Seekers

IT Helpdesk Technician
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at National Association For Education of Young Children? Share Your Experiences

National Association For Education of Young Children logo
or