National Cancer Institute Reviews | Glassdoor

National Cancer Institute Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
83%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
National Cancer Institute CEO Norman E Sharpless
Norman E Sharpless
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "I was a postdoc at NCI-Frederick(in 12 reviews)

  • "The work environment is pretty good(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Rapid loss of a critical mass of physician-scientists to the extramural community in recent years(in 8 reviews)

  • "low salary, long postdoc, and research oriented(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Grateful for experience gained and people I met."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CRTA Postbaccalaureate Fellow in Frederick, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Cancer Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Trained properly in techniques necessary to the field. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Location is not the main campus, and transportation to and from isn't always convenient.

    National Cancer Institute2019-12-11
  2. "Good opportunity to gain exposure to cancer research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internship 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Cancer Institute full-time

    Pros

    Great experience working with some of the leaders in the field of cancer research

    Cons

    Pay is pretty low and job requires you to pick things up very quickly

    National Cancer Institute2019-11-19
  3. "Good work place but not stable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Cancer Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a good place for a new postdoc fellow, good OITE training for many aspect even if you are not going to be a PI, still you would learn much more other than just science. Health insurance is the one of the best.

    Cons

    Not stable work, technically you would only stay no more than 5 years, if you cannot be promoted as a research fellow or staff scientist, you will have to leave. No retirement benefit.

    National Cancer Institute2019-11-18
  4. "Best technology transfer training opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Transfer Specialist in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Cancer Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training, hands-on experience, friendly office, great work-life balance

    Cons

    Difficult to stay as a permanent staff due to hiring control

    National Cancer Institute2019-10-30
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Cancer Institute

    Pros

    The science and resources are great

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    National Cancer Institute2019-10-03
  6. "i am happy with NCI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at National Cancer Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great projects, great people, good pay

    Cons

    too slow. not much to do.

    National Cancer Institute2019-09-27
  7. "Good Place to Start Research Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow 

    I have been working at National Cancer Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities to cooperate with a lot of smart and nice people. It is a good place to start to build your network in academia. Abundant supplies and fundings. No worry about government shutdown.

    Cons

    In my branch some people told me they are upset because we are not developing cutting -edge technologies.

    National Cancer Institute2019-07-31
  8. "Great if you can get along w PI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fellow 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at National Cancer Institute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great if you can get along w PI

    Cons

    Not so great if you're a woman

    National Cancer Institute2019-08-01
  9. "Enjoyed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Visiting Fellow 

    I worked at National Cancer Institute full-time

    Pros

    Great Scientist and Great work

    Cons

    Loads of work Long hours No help

    National Cancer Institute2019-07-04
  10. "Intramural Research Training Award Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Fellow in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Cancer Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They know that you're not going to be there forever so they do all they can to get you where you want to go.

    Cons

    Everyone is working hard to make it to the next step so it's tough to develop a social life especially if you're not from the area.

    National Cancer Institute2019-06-26
Found 142 reviews