National City Reviews | Glassdoor

National City Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 93 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
National City CEO Peter E. Raskind
Peter E. Raskind
38 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "PNC took over and destoryed the department I worked in now we a no more then customer service reps(in 5 reviews)

  • "Upper management surrounded themselves with a complete group of "yes" men and women(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at National City

    Pros

    Nice atmosphere with nice employees

    Cons

    Pay was not very significant

    National City2014-03-29
  2. "I opened and closed accounts and referred customers to invest and mortgage."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Plainfield, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at National City full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working in the bank has great hours and you get to work with people to achieve their goals.

    Cons

    Sometimes customers can be difficult when dealing with fee's or overdrafts.

    National City2017-11-09
  3. "Great family environment. Sad to see many go."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National City full-time

    Pros

    Lots of advancement opportunities and good benefits

    Cons

    Lack of senior leadership suppport

    National City2017-11-07
  4. "financial representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at National City full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The position allowed for stable income

    Cons

    The pressure to sell banking products even though customer was not a fit for product. Goal setting was inadequate.

    National City2017-08-15
  5. "Collector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collections in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at National City full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a pretty good bank.

    Cons

    Sold too many bad mortagaes though.

    Advice to Management

    Don't spread yourself out too much.

    National City2017-02-27
  6. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at National City

    Pros

    Flexible work culture, friendly environment

    Cons

    None to describe here.

    Advice to Management

    None

    National City2015-01-22
  7. "very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at National City part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    excellent hours and great management

    Cons

    bank was sold, all employees laid off

    Advice to Management

    keep it up

    National City2014-01-12
  8. "Used to be a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National City full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and great staff. They really had their stuff together but in the end it all fell apart

    Cons

    One word. PNC. They came in and pretty much ruined everything. Technology went back 10 years.

    National City2013-04-01
  9. "National City Bank now goes by name of PNC."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Residential Loan Coordinator in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National City full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The best reason to work there is that it is a job and you get paid. The benefits are good.

    Cons

    Very little diversity, or flexibility in the work schedule. Not easy to advance and when there are heavy workloads there is mandatory overtime . Compensation is tight.

    Advice to Management

    Be open to your employees ideas and be more flexible with scheduling. Offer more training opportunities and career related classes for free .

    National City2013-02-09
  10. "Analyst position provided good credit training."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Analyst in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National City full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Credit Training Opportunity to contribute right away

    Cons

    Stock Option wipe out was not motivating for good long time employees

    National City2012-12-13
Found 93 reviews