National Counseling Group Reviews | Glassdoor

National Counseling Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Francis A. Viera Jr.
39 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "CR2 is a work in progress...for the better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counselor in Manassas, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at National Counseling Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Management that listens, cares, and strives to nurture and develop clinicians. This job is a lifestyle. Long hours, long days. One's days can be emotionally exhausting. Without good/solid personal and professional boundaries, the job will chew you up and spit you out.

    Cons

    The company doesn't like to "fire" anyone and therefore employs people who don't give darn about the job, their colleagues, and the children and families they serve. The job expects a certain level of mastery before one begins. Just because you have a masters degree, it doesn't mean you are qualified. If you can write clearly and concisely, one will do fine; but don't be disheartened to learn that you may have peers...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me!

    National Counseling Group2019-02-25
  2. "Competent and caring local management teams."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TDT Counselor in Martinsville, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Counseling Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive and accessible local management teams Excellent schedule which follows academic calendars

    Cons

    Inequitable compensation based on frequently changing corporate pay structures

    National Counseling Group2019-04-04
  3. "Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counselor in Manassas, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Counseling Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive coworkers and supervisor and decent training

    Cons

    Hourly pay is poor and they don't reimburse for supplies or mileage.

    Advice to Management

    Please realize that workers are using their own cars, putting mileage on their car that leads to wear and tear. Workers like myself also buy supplies to ensure quality of care. Pay should reflect this hard work.

    National Counseling Group2019-03-28
  4. "NCG is Awesome CR2 is Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cr2 in Manassas, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Counseling Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We have the opportunity to work with various families and help them when their children are in crisis. We get to work in 3-4 counties so we are networking, meeting other professionals and learning about the programs available to help the children in the community.

    Cons

    Our Management is abusive, petty and very unprofessional. Management talks about other staff including other departments withing NCG, encourages division by granting favors to those who she prefers such as "prime hours, additional training and opportunities to make additional money causing more division in the team. Workers are expected to break the law by driving and texting and answering calls (crisis calls) while in...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Someone who actually cares about the reputation of the CR2 program needs to come and hold immediate, personal interviews with each team member ASAP.

    National Counseling Group2019-02-20
  5. "NCG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Based Counselor 

    I have been working at National Counseling Group full-time

    Pros

    Learn a lot with this position and company Great workers

    Cons

    Management Lack of Communication within the company Lack of professional development

    National Counseling Group2019-01-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "No full time for Community Counselors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Roanoke, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at National Counseling Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    hourly salary is $20

    Cons

    They do no have enough clients to pay and fulfill a full-time position as a CC.Do not take a full time job here.

    Advice to Management

    Do not hire full time C.C's if you cannot give hours, Train people on ethics, boundaries ,client relation in PERSON ,(not only on a computer ) BEFORE you send them out.Up- grade your supervision and supervisors.

    National Counseling Group2018-12-30
  7. "Great position, great team, great leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at National Counseling Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Supervisors were communicative, supportive, knowledgeable, and encouraging. School based positions have great hours and great flexibility. Working within a school gives you exposure to a lot of different information and a lot of great people.

    Cons

    The pay for the position I was in could’ve been better. You just reminded yourself of the other benefits to ignore the pay.

    Advice to Management

    A pay raise would be great!

    National Counseling Group2018-11-14
  8. "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fredericksburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at National Counseling Group full-time

    Pros

    Experience with diverse clinical diagnoses

    Cons

    Leadership Pay Lack of professionalism Expensive benefits Supervision

    Advice to Management

    Focus on client care not the bottom line. Turnover is a result of more than just difficult work. Pay attention.

    National Counseling Group2018-11-29
  9. "Good supports, compensations and benefits are ehhh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Counseling Group full-time

    Pros

    Great supporting system. My supervisor was very supportive. Not very physically or emotionally demanding work.

    Cons

    They could improve on pay and benefits-I pay over $400 per month just on health insurance

    National Counseling Group2018-10-17
  10. "Clinical Supervisor; Promoted from Community Based Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Counseling Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    When I was at NCG, I gained a lot of invaluable clinical and management experience. You learn A LOT and receive an amazing amount of hands on experience. I started as an in-home counselor fresh out of my Masters program and immediately learned that I need to throw the text book out the window. You learn to think on your feet and really connect with and empathize with your families.

    Cons

    The work life balance is almost nonexistent. As a supervisor, I easily worked 60 hour weeks, with fielding phone calls from staff starting at 7 am and ending at 10 pm. If there's a crisis that requires a Serious Incident Report, plan on working all night to ensure it's in the system within 24 hours. Plus, NCG has become way more "corporate" over the years. I hated when they got rid of the office coordinators and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't underestimate work/life balance. I told my staff all the time to take time off when they needed it and to utilize the EAP to help them through their personal issues. Burnout is very high in this field. Counselors need our support as managers.

    National Counseling Group2018-09-20
Found 78 reviews