National Defence and the Canadian Forces Reviews | Glassdoor

National Defence and the Canadian Forces Reviews

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
National Defence and the Canadian Forces Minister of National Defence Robert Nicholson
Robert Nicholson
45 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Naval Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at National Defence and the Canadian Forces full-time

    Pros

    More opportunity, professional development, and world-wide experience than I ever though possible, particularly when I was 19 years old and thought I knew everything but realized quickly how wrong I was! Excitement, word class training followed by experience in a related field. The opportunity to develop constantly and get promoted at regular intervals in rank, salary, and responsibility is unmatched anywhere in the world. In a world where there still exists job discrimination and pay discrimination based on sex, this is the only true equal opportunity where you are paid according to your qualifications, period.

    Cons

    You must accept that you are not entirely in control of your destiny. Don't fight it, this is actually a good thing. It's hard on families from time to time but the pros far outweigh the cons in every respect.

    Continue reading
    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2016-05-22
  2. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Naval Communicator in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Defence and the Canadian Forces full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay, Paid Vacation, Friends, Travel

    Cons

    Days away from home, Long Hours

    Continue reading
    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2019-11-17
  3. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Medical Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at National Defence and the Canadian Forces full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    One of the most fulfilling jobs in the country that allows you to grow and learn various skills

    Cons

    Lack of succession planning

    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2019-10-15
  4. "good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Combat Engineer in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC

    I have been working at National Defence and the Canadian Forces part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great job security and benefits

    Cons

    travel for long periods of time

    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2019-10-03
  5. "Great school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Officer 

    I worked at National Defence and the Canadian Forces full-time

    Pros

    Learn discipline, getting things done, overcoming great adversity

    Cons

    Progression is slow despite performance due to seniority requirements

    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2019-08-15
  6. "Career to be proud of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Section Commander in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at National Defence and the Canadian Forces full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Domestic and international travel, varied work environment,

    Cons

    stable income but lower for equal responsibility on civilian side, possible frequent moves (Every 2-3 years)

    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2019-08-03
  7. "Unique Silo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Officer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Defence and the Canadian Forces full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -Professional -Supportive -Operational and Exciting -Great Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    -Old infrastructure -Support from strategic HQ is intermittent

    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2019-06-28
  8. "Its what you make it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Defence and the Canadian Forces full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Competitive wages with high degree of certainty pertaining to retirement benefits - Interesting work where you really do make a difference - High technology sector coupled with unmatched leadership experience sets you up nicely for a job in the private sector

    Cons

    - No/little control of postings or geographical area. - No spousal support with regards to employment - Your spouse is unlikely to have a long term job due to frequent moves, therefore the validity and benefit of retirement is highly questionable. Since your spouse is unlikely to receive their own excellent pension, how good is yours really?

    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2019-06-04
  9. "Serve your Country"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at National Defence and the Canadian Forces full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -great benefits package -best pension still available in Canada -opportunity to see the country -wide breadth of employment -great training opportunities -salary, fully transparent pay scale

    Cons

    -can be some very long hours -dealing with a large administrative bureaucracy

    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2019-05-31
  10. "Did 2 Co-op placements at DND."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineering Co-Op in Gatineau, QC

    I worked at National Defence and the Canadian Forces full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, Fun, Professional, Knowledgeable, Interesting

    Cons

    Only far HQ, other than that no downside at all, I like working for my department

    Continue reading
    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2019-05-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 262 reviews