National Defence and the Canadian Forces Reviews | Glassdoor

National Defence and the Canadian Forces Reviews

Updated Feb 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
National Defence and the Canadian Forces Minister of National Defence Robert Nicholson
Robert Nicholson
45 Ratings
  1. "Did 2 Co-op placements at DND."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineering Co-Op in Gatineau, QC

    I worked at National Defence and the Canadian Forces full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, Fun, Professional, Knowledgeable, Interesting

    Cons

    Only far HQ, other than that no downside at all, I like working for my department

    Continue reading
    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2019-05-29
  2. "Excellent Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Master Corporal in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at National Defence and the Canadian Forces full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Consistent income. Work is a second family.

    Cons

    Moving is part of the job

    Continue reading
    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2019-05-08
  3. "AES Op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Defence and the Canadian Forces full-time

    Pros

    Steady paycheque Benefits Work requires no thought

    Cons

    They own you. No overtime pay.

    Continue reading
    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2019-04-29
  4. "Human Resources Business Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Gatineau, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Defence and the Canadian Forces full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great career advancement, very knowledgeable staff.

    Cons

    Much staff movement due to move to Carling Campus

    Continue reading
    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2019-03-08
  5. "INFANTRY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Infantry in Winnipeg, MB

    I have been working at National Defence and the Canadian Forces part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, great training and great for trying something new.

    Cons

    Takes awhile to get into.

    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2019-01-17
  6. "Construction Engineering Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at National Defence and the Canadian Forces full-time

    Pros

    Respect for human values and security. Achievement of personal goals and objectives, good avenue for improving personal and collective determination.

    Cons

    Intimidation and devaluation of human values. Denial of personal rights and privileges, betrayal of confidence of any kind at any cost.

    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2018-11-28
  7. "supply purchasing member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Defence and the Canadian Forces full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great opportunity and great job

    Cons

    great salary great opportunity ........

    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2018-11-09
  8. "Naval Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at National Defence and the Canadian Forces full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Secure working environment; diversity of employees and employment opportunities; advancement opportunities; feeling of making a difference; excellent benefits.

    Cons

    Can be long days dependent on position and level of responsibilities;

    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2018-08-22
  9. "Zone Training Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Zone Training Officer Unit Transport and Movements Officer in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at National Defence and the Canadian Forces full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The opportunity to get the courses and training in all aspects used in civilian work as well as the Armed forces

    Cons

    With that training the certification and certificates for that training is not recognized in the civilian world

    Continue reading
    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2018-08-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Junior Physician Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physician Assistant Junior in Trenton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at National Defence and the Canadian Forces full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Dedicated hardworking , goal and team oriented to the task done efficiently expertlyvand on schedule

    Cons

    Repetitive jobs are not for me, I can get bored and look for ways to improve the boring task.

    Continue reading
    National Defence and the Canadian Forces2018-08-11
Found 262 reviews