National Distributing Company Reviews | Glassdoor

National Distributing Company Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
National Distributing Company CEO Jay M. Davis (no image)
Jay M. Davis
28 Ratings
  1. "Brief review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Distributing Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Despite the size of the company there is still a strong sense of family. The team that surrounds you is always willing to help as they know we are all in this together. With that in mind, self improvement and team improvement is always a priority so there is always momentum forward.

    Cons

    The race to succeed can be overwhelming at times, this could be counterbalanced by acknowledging the pace and offering support.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to maintain the positive attitude and remind those around you that we are all in this together. The positive reinforcements are always appreciated even if it is not immediately apparent. Consider implementing educational programs beyond those found on cornerstone, personal training can never be fully replaced by online training.

    National Distributing Company2017-12-08
  2. "On premise New accounts manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - On Premise New Accounts Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Distributing Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    National Distributing provides an environment that is challenging and rewarding. There are so many positions and areas to strive for. National is also a great company for women. Women are encouraged to voice their opinions and concerns through the Women's leadership. NDC also is wonderful about promoting women and really sees the professionalism we bring to the table. I have been here going on 16 years and would... not work anywhere else. Very much a family environment at NDC

    Show More

    Cons

    Warehouse issues have been an ongoing problem from orders being incorrect to trucks not making stops. We need to get a handle on this so we may move forward with new business and not lose existing...

    Advice to Management

    I am not sure what the solution is, but I think the upper management showing that they are taking these concerns very seriously and trying to find a solution would be a big help. Sales reps feel like they are not heard, so by showing them they are being listened to, and perhaps to lend some advice from how they think we could get things running smoother.

    National Distributing Company2017-12-07
  3. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Savanna Place, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Distributing Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Professional, family oriented, good pay and giving back to the community.

    Cons

    Being in a smaller market in Savannah, harder to grow because new positions are not being created in management.

    Advice to Management

    Lean a helping hand when available.

    National Distributing Company2017-12-05
  4. "Portfolio Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Distributing Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The method of growing talent has come so far, so quickly. The environment over the last few years has been one of leaning into success and accepting that change is the only way to stake our claim nationally. In all our growth, family is still priority one and this is communicated and supported clearly at all times. Excellent work environment overall. No fear of adding roles to our staff to better aid in growing... our business partnerships and being best in the market.

    Show More

    Cons

    We like to call them "opportunities"!

    Advice to Management

    Keep shining the light on our goals and approach them with the same energy you have the last few years. Keep pushing associates to become the most technologically proficient and product knowledgeable representatives in the field and continue having high expectations...as we have proven that we can and will rise to the occasion.

    National Distributing Company2017-12-05
  5. "If it's not fun, we're not doing it right..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Distributing Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    No wall between sales and operations / Suggestions are listened to, acted upon and followed up / Company is growing rapidly / Modern technology

    Cons

    Long hours / Challenging customers

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to include all levels of associates in your plan to go to market.

    National Distributing Company2017-12-04
  6. "NDC Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Distributing Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company has plenty of opportunities for growth, outstanding reputation in the industry. Leaders invest in your development

    Cons

    Can be somewhat stressful as expected in a sales position. Operational issues sometimes can make it difficult to service customers.

    Advice to Management

    Build stronger relationships with sales reps, more team building activities. Get to know reps on personally , goes a long way towards gaining loyalty.

    National Distributing Company2017-12-01
  7. "Successful sales will open the doors to upward mobility."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Distributing Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Solid group of team oriented people that make coming to work a pleasure. Many ways to grow and expand thru so many different avenues. Ideas and independence come together with great management support. Daily interaction with upper management make success very achievable. Tremendous opportunities to support the community thru company supported events.

    Cons

    Multitude of goals to reach for, keeps you focused on ideas and solutions.

    National Distributing Company2017-11-29
  8. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Sales Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Distributing Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay and benefits, rigorous training curriculum, ample opportunity for advancement, commitment to promote from within, enhanced use of technology relative to competitors, challenging work environment

    Cons

    Heavy workload during holidays, as is expected in this industry.

    National Distributing Company2017-11-29
  9. "Great company for career advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Distributing Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company for career advancement as a woman in a challenging industry. A commitment to educate and equip you with the tools needed to be successful. A positive culture of giving back and community support.

    Cons

    Growing pains associated with expansion and innovation.

    Advice to Management

    Look into innovation of department incentive programs to keep teams engaged. Continuing digital platform innovation to help our suppliers and customers navigate digital consumer behaviors that need a new approach to stay relevant.

    National Distributing Company2017-11-29
  10. "Great place to advance your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Distributing Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    National invests in training, education, and promotes from within. Work hard, and take advantage of the opportunities. The benefits package is solid.

    Cons

    There are so many options for your career if you work hard.

    National Distributing Company2017-12-07
Found 38 reviews