National Endowment for the Arts Reviews | Glassdoor

National Endowment for the Arts Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
61%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great environment, meaningful work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at National Endowment for the Arts

    Pros

    I interned at the NEA in summer of 2017. The departments were small and filled with people who really cared about the work. Interns are given meaningful work and are viewed as part of the team. I still stay in touch with my supervisors--they provided me so much support when I was looking for a full time job after completing my BA.

    Cons

    The change in administration was a huge source of stress for everyone on staff.

    National Endowment for the Arts2018-09-09
  2. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at National Endowment for the Arts

    Pros

    Great work enviroment! Everyone really tries their best to work together and help you as much as possible

    Cons

    It's unpaid but an amazing place to begin professional career

    National Endowment for the Arts2018-02-19
  3. "Grants Management Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at National Endowment for the Arts full-time

    Pros

    Collegial work environment, intellectually stimulating

    Cons

    I don't have anything negative to say.

    National Endowment for the Arts2017-10-16
  4. "Amazing environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at National Endowment for the Arts full-time

    Pros

    #1 Small Agency in the USA

    Cons

    Nothing is bad at the NEA

    National Endowment for the Arts2017-02-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at National Endowment for the Arts

    Pros

    Open atmosphere, collaborative work environment, mission driven organization, new facilities

    Cons

    Offices often empty due to teleworking, open plan offices mean you can hear everything everyone is saying, government structure can be overly rigid, uncertainty of funding year to year

    National Endowment for the Arts2016-09-06
  6. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Research Intern in Washington, DC

    I have been working at National Endowment for the Arts for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a wonderful place. People are passionate about the arts and their role in the society. It is a small agency, so one comes to recognize and get to know most other staff very quickly. The director is commonly seen walking around and talking to even interns. Great place to work.

    Cons

    They are typically underfunded, and have to be lobbying for funding.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    National Endowment for the Arts2014-11-25
  7. "Solid Internship Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Intern - Visual Arts in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at National Endowment for the Arts for more than a year

    Pros

    - great exposure to art industry - friendly staff - get to listen to some cool speakers, events

    Cons

    - not enough work - often doing paperwork that does not enhance learning - no one is really in charge, no hierarchy

    Advice to Management

    Only need 1 intern per discipline

    National Endowment for the Arts2018-03-04
  8. "Supporting Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at National Endowment for the Arts full-time

    Pros

    Nice small agency. All staff are very supportive and helpful.

    Cons

    Too small for development

    Advice to Management

    HR needs improvement. HR people does not know what they are working for.

    National Endowment for the Arts2017-10-04
  9. "Excellent Learning Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Intern - Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I worked at National Endowment for the Arts

    Pros

    Creative people, good work-life balance, opportunities to learn and grow

    Cons

    Bureaucratic, slow-moving, red tape, time needed for approval

    National Endowment for the Arts2017-08-04
  10. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at National Endowment for the Arts

    Pros

    Great Networking opportunities and smart people to work with.

    Cons

    No pay as an intern and no real perks.

    National Endowment for the Arts2014-01-14
Found 16 reviews