KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

National Federation of Independent Business

Engaged Employer

National Federation of Independent Business

Add a Review

National Federation of Independent Business Employee Reviews about "nfib"

Updated Oct 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 85 of over 282 reviews

4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
National Federation of Independent Business  President Brad Close
Brad Close
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "I have been with NFIB going on 8 years(in 70 reviews)

  • "Helping small business owners gives me a sense of pride(in 51 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I don't feel there is a downside to working for NFIB(in 27 reviews)

  • "There is an emotional side to deal with in this job know that the livelihood of small business owners are sometimes at stake(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "nfib"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Its not just a job its a career

      Oct 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are looking for a career where you can make money and work for a mission and have mobility, this could be the job for you! I have been here close to 30 years and that is what it has done for me. good work ethic, self motivated and being coachable can bring you great success. NFIB has bless me and my family for decades. Culture is outstanding.

      Cons

      It can be lonely at times if you are used to working along side people.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Wonderful place to work.

      Oct 8, 2021 - Member Representative in Springfield, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My last day with NFIB was Friday and I would like to share my NFIB experience with you. I did not want to leave NFIB, but where I am at in my life I felt I needed to. I 100% believe in what NFIB does and in the mission. I have never worked for an organization or company that cares about their employees as NFIB does. I have never experienced , with any previous job, the high moral and ethical  standard that NFIB and employees of NFIB believe in and show on a daily basis.  If NFIIB has an employee of the week, month, year or decade it should go to Don Mathenia. I have worked full time since I was in high school and never had a manager or supervisor impact me as positively as Don has. He is and has been a motivator, teacher, psychologist, spiritual guide and most of all a friend. If I had any success with NFIB it was mostly due to his guidance. When we met for lunch last Thursday, leaving the parking lot after lunch was a difficult experience.  Don made me realize how important it was to be a part of the team. Team Illinois was very supportive, inspirational and fun. Members of the team were always there for each other with praise, support and a good laugh. I was blessed to be a part of that and I will miss them. The sales support team is second to none and I appreciated everything they helped me with. It was an honor and a privilege to be an FSR for NFIB. Sincerely, D.L.

      Cons

      NONE!!!!!! There are not any CONS.

      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A waste of time

      Jul 9, 2021 - Salesman 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to feel good about the mission of NFIB for a short time .

      Cons

      Unless you like cold calling and door to door sales run don’t walk away from this company

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      They honestly don't do enough

      Jun 11, 2021 - Field Sales Representative in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers as well as every level of management is rooting for you to succeed.

      Cons

      The NFIB falls woefully short in what they do as part of their mission to help be the advocate for small business. The NFIB tends to take credit for work done by other organizations and issues they had very little input or impact on. members who are up for renewal see this and it makes the job a lot harder for a sales rep. I always felt like I was lying to potential members about the level of impact the NFIB has. I actively tried to find information on what the NFIB did about a host of issues I was told they were on the forefront of- and found nothing to support the claims of how hard they were working for small and independent businesses. They tend to push really hard for positive optics - going so far as to strongly request you leave a glowing review on Glassdoor so that their rating remains high. You are not supposed to mention that you work for NFIB on any social media site and can expect a call from your manager if you do.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Treated Better than Almost Anywhere Else

      May 13, 2021 - Membership Representative in Sioux Falls, SD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The support is unmatched. I was very blessed in the one other job I had that rivaled NFIB to have managers who were exceptional to the rule. At NFIB, the rule is that managers are all exceptional, and the support they offer fulfills all the Sales Representative's needs. The training is all useful, profitable, and inspiring, and the company culture is very, very, very supportive.

      Cons

      Perhaps it is true in any outside sales position, but it can be lonely when you rarely work directly alongside people.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      NFIB as an employer fosters fantastic career development in tandem with working for a great cause!

      Jan 21, 2021 - Senior Division Manager in Endicott, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Working for a great cause (protecting the rights of small business owners) -Hands on training -Company culture? Without exaggeration, the best! I have been with NFIB going on 8 years. In that time, every person I have met across the organization has been delightful and willing to help in any way that they can. We also recognize and celebrate success while pulling together toward our common of protecting our members' rights to own, operate, and grow their businesses. -Great career development and growth opportunities -Excellent employee benefits

      Cons

      -Must be a self manager and driven. I know this section is for cons and this his isn't necessarily a con, but I don't really have any cons to list. With the idea that this is to hep others potentially find the great career that I have found I figure I will just provide a dose of reality. One of the greatest benefits of the career is the autonomy and work/life balance that it provides, at the same time not everyone is cut out for that autonomy. If you aren't good at holding yourself accountable for your results, it's not for you. Just like a small business owner, your income depends on your effort.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I LOVE my job!

      Jan 13, 2021 - Membership Representative in Elizabeth, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined NFIB six years ago, and wouldn't think of working anywhere else. Every day I go to work and share the story of "the voice of small business" with the hardest working people in the country: small business owners. For this, I am rewarded with sincere gratitude from business owners, a healthy paycheck and the great feeling of helping small business owners be the best they can be. The NFIB leadership team gives you all the tools and support you need to succeed, with exceptional training, camaraderie and regional, divisional and national managers who truly care.

      Cons

      For me, there is no downside to this job.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Rewarding and hard job. Great company

      Jul 13, 2020 - Member Representative in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are willing to work, NFIB is a wonderful company. I am a new member representative that started seven weeks ago. In a typical work day, I call on 20-30 businesses that are geographically close together. I love being able to share NFIB’s “voice of small business” message. I work harder than any job I’ve ever had but, at the end of the day, my work stays at work. I feel accomplished at the end of (most) days. The benefits are great and my pay is already more than what was mentioned in the job description. The monthly and quarterly bonuses are pretty great too! I made both bonuses my first month. I started during COVID but that has not seemed to slow down signing up new members. This is a hard and rewarding job that I am so thankful I get to do!

      Cons

      This kind of sales can be tough until you get used to it.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Field Sales Representative (i.e., Membership Representative)

      Jul 18, 2020 - Field Sales Representative in Phoenixville, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great training. Great organization. I just finished up my third week. Knowledgable and supportive Trainers & Division Managers. They are always a phone call or text message away when you need them--- they are responsive, very responsive. And they truly realize that your success is their success, and their success is your success. There are weekly Sales Training & Mentoring teleconference calls (and monthly National Sales calls) that will provide you with additional training and guidance in order to be successful. These calls also help lift your spirits when you feel "down and out" because we all know how difficult a career in sales is. Right? There is great power in surrounding yourself with good people (with high energy)--- it's infectious. The SVP of Sales and the National Sales Training Director are also very involved with motivating and guiding the sales organization. Everyone wants to see you succeed and when they say working here is like a "family"--- it's true, trust me. Open yourself up, put in the work, put down your guard and trust the process.

      Cons

      I came to NFIB without much outside sales experience. The training they provided made the adjustment much easier than a thought. For me, this type of sales was very tough week 1 and week 2--- I felt somewhat defeated at the end of each day. I was thinking it wasn't for me and would eventually quit, but I reached out to my trainers, division managers and mentors and they really helped get me on the right track. I listened to each and every word they spoke, took lots of notes and kept doing my homework every night. This type of sales can be difficult/tough on the mind/psyche of a person that has never done outside sales but I am living proof that you can work through it and come out on top if you put in the work. If you stick with it, challenge yourself, overcome the obstacles and fears, you'll be amazed by the final outcome--- a successful day (which I've experienced); which leads to a successful week (which I've experienced); which leads to a successful month (to-be-determined (TBD)-- note: I just finished my 3rd week); which leads to a successful year (TBD)--- and the rest is history. Before you know it, you'll be telling people you've been with the organization for 20 years. Remember, just like anything you do in life, you will get out of it what you put into it. There is no substitute for hard work.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Taking Care of Employees

      Apr 27, 2020 - Member Representative in Annapolis, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      During pandemic, NFIB has shown they are truly a family and care about their employees. They have adjusted their bonus and compensation levels to make sure their employees are taken care of.

      Cons

      I don't feel there is a downside to working for NFIB.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 85 Reviews

    Popular Careers with National Federation of Independent Business Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at National Federation of Independent Business? Share Your Experiences

    National Federation of Independent Business logo
    or