KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

National Federation of Independent Business

Engaged Employer

National Federation of Independent Business

Add a Review

National Federation of Independent Business Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Aug 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 282 reviews

4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
National Federation of Independent Business  President Brad Close
Brad Close
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "I have been with NFIB going on 8 years(in 70 reviews)

  • "Helping small business owners gives me a sense of pride(in 51 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I don't feel there is a downside to working for NFIB(in 27 reviews)

  • "There is an emotional side to deal with in this job know that the livelihood of small business owners are sometimes at stake(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Amazing journey

      Aug 17, 2021 - National Director of Field Sales in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture is great, the support is amazing, you have the freedom to succeed, high-income potential, upward career opportunities with excellent benefits package, great work-life balance.

      Cons

      You must be a self-starter and resilient with the ability to work alone all day every day.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Make NFIB your last career.

      Apr 26, 2020 - Field Sales Representative in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I came to NFIB seven years ago with a background in Engineering and no previous Sales experience. I was looking for autonomy and flexibility and I wanted this to be my last career move. I perceived NFIB’s training program to be just as much about me making sure NFIB was a good fit for me as it was about them making sure I was a qualified candidate. Sales Management provides excellent support and ongoing training. A Field Sales Representative at NFIB (a 100% commission only sales position) is the ultimate “if it’s to be, it’s up to me” career. I believe in NFIB’s mission to protect the rights of small business owners. The earning potential is excellent. NFIB is the perfect work life balance for me.

      Cons

      100% Commision sales also means no paid time off (including holidays and vacation)

      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I returned to NFIB

      Feb 18, 2020 - Field Sales Representative in Overland Park, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Independence, work life balance, caring company

      Cons

      Commission based pay, outside sales isn't for everyone

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing organization to work for

      Nov 11, 2019 - Member Representative in Springfield, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance. Excellent support system. Uncapped upward mobility.

      Cons

      Absolutely none that I know of.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      What a great place to work!

      Aug 12, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There's a great opportunity for a healthy work /life balance with NFIB. They offer you tools and training. They offer career advancement as well. The pay is reasonable.

      Cons

      There really isn't any to list.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company to work for with great benefits!

      Jul 26, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Endicott, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great compensation package that rewards those that work hard as well as a very competitive benefits package. A lot of freedom that allows for a good work/life balance. Probably the closest thing to owning your own business while still being a W-2 employee. The company also promotes from within so for those looking for career growth NFIB is a great opportunity.

      Cons

      Straight commission position-this can be difficult for those who aren't used to that type of pay structure (there is training pay during your first 6 months while you are learning the role)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Very good company to work for!

      Jul 26, 2019 - Membership Representative in Endicott, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have held several different sales positions in my career and this is by far the most fulfilling! Not only are you able to make a difference in your community, but you are also compensated extremely well for the work that you do. You also have a lot of freedom in your work/life balance which is a huge plus!

      Cons

      You have to be very self driven and be able to hold yourself accountable for your results. And if you can't then you shouldn't apply.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Culture trumps strategy

      Jul 10, 2019 - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work life balance is the best! Unlimited income potential! Our culture celebrates winning. Our culture truly cares about our employees. Management works hard to help me win. I love that this is a "one call close"! I don't need to rely on any co-worker to complete or fulfill an order/sale for my success.

      Cons

      Autonomy that this position demands is not for everyone.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Organization Fighting a Good Cause in a Positive Working Environment

      Apr 12, 2019 - Market Research Manager in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Positive Atmosphere; Good People Organization is a Non-Profit that supports a good cause: to assist small business owners in their efforts to maintain and grow their business. Solid salary, with annual review and raise. Excellent benefits: 401K with JP Morgan; Cigna health coverage; ability to accumulate vacation time quickly Positive, team-oriented atmosphere Excellent work/life balance. Rarely a need for overtime.

      Cons

      Tends to not offer bonuses, outside of sales Has undergone a rather recent change of leadership; still a bit of an adjustment period. Note: team chemistry has been adjusting and improving. Departments do not have smooth communication currently. However, improvement in inter-department communication has been a focus of the new leadership team.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Hard sell

      Mar 18, 2015 - Field Sales Representative in Bangor, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/ life balance is by far the best part of this job.

      Cons

      As time goes on NFIB is losing respect and clout among business owners and politicians. Employee turn over rate is extremely high which makes it tough to sell because you're one of several faces a business owner has most likely encountered representing NFIB.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with National Federation of Independent Business Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at National Federation of Independent Business? Share Your Experiences

    National Federation of Independent Business logo
    or