National Geographic "non profit" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

National Geographic Employee Reviews about "non profit"

Updated Mar 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
48%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
National Geographic President and CEO 	Gary E. Knell  (no image)
Gary E. Knell
104 Ratings
Pros
  • "Plus there are always interesting events hosted by NGS explorers(in 25 reviews)

  • "Latest movies that employees can invite friends and family to, fun group activities, great work life balance(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay, hard to get promotions and lots of lay offs(in 12 reviews)

  • "Non-profit: upward mobility a challenge(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "non profit"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Org!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Geographic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great non-profit organization! Excellent products, smart leadership, upward mobility. 100+ year-old company with stellar reputation. Culture of adaptation as market changes.

    Cons

    Fast-changing sector: media is changing very fast, print media dying, digital media booming--requires constant evolution of skills and strategies

    Advice to Management

    Be fearless in shedding old assumptions and re-inventing the organization--it's the only way it'll survive another 100 years.

    National Geographic2018-11-12
  2. "Great company, great people, low wage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Multimedia Designer 

    I have been working at National Geographic full-time

    Pros

    The team of people I worked with felt like family. We were collaborative, we joked around, we took lunch together etc it was a great time.

    Cons

    - non-competitive salary (what do you expect for a non-profit org?) - no advancement in position. you can move around the org, but theres not much advancement in career, thats why I left

    National Geographic2019-03-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rights Clearance Specialist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Geographic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, scheduled 3% COL raise, my co-workers were amazing, frequent parties

    Cons

    upper management does not listen to the employees on the front lines of business, constant threat of layoffs, non-profit salaries remained after company became for-profit in 2015

    Advice to Management

    For NGP, but also a little for NGS: stop obsessing over extremely expensive consultants and outsourcing, which brings down efficiency, when employees can give you advice for free.

    National Geographic2017-10-13
  4. "Very Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at National Geographic full-time

    Pros

    Had a great mission when it was still a non profit. Some really cool people worked their.

    Cons

    Horrible management!! Horrible HR department. Way too much infighting.

    Advice to Management

    Resign!

    National Geographic2017-07-05
  5. "Great mission, frustrating politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editorial Coordinator in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at National Geographic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing coworkers, entry level jobs started with 19+ days vacation time (though I think this policy has been drastically limited in 2017), inspiring mission, exciting networking opportunities

    Cons

    Leadership is often in flux, there's a constant struggle between the non-profit and for-profit entities, new leadership cares little about the employees

    National Geographic2017-02-06
  6. Helpful (6)

    "worst working environment i've ever experienced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at National Geographic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    some great people that truly believe in the brand.

    Cons

    as others have mentioned, if you're under 40, single and without children you will have a very full plate of work. you will do far more than inept management, you will be paid much less, and if your boss's boss starts to get a whiff that perhaps you're the one doing all of the work, they'll swoop in, take the credit and push you out as fast as they can. the organization is full of people that got used to a cushy non-profit pension-filled lifestyle. they don't want to change with the times and if you rock the boat they'll throw you overboard.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    you should be ashamed of the way you treat younger talent. instead of being intimidated try collaborating.

    National Geographic2016-09-28
  7. "Wonderful Internship Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Geographic for less than a year

    Pros

    A great non-profit experience with some e-commerce opportunities. The organization is very well organized and allows you to make the best of your internship by providing opportunities to speak with the leadership.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons. I had a wonderful experience!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! You allow interns to provide insight into team projects.

    National Geographic2016-01-07
  8. "Great company (Non-profit), Great Mission, Great / Dedicated staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Media Planner in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at National Geographic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Company to work for

    Cons

    Non-profit: upward mobility a challenge

    National Geographic2015-03-04
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great work envionment, so-so business processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Geographic full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You get to work with lots of great people, both in your own organization and in other parts of the company. The mission and the societies work is incredible and nearly everyone gets behind it. Benefits are fantastic and work-life balance is good. It's a non-profit that operates like a commercial entity.

    Cons

    Too political for an organization rooted in declining businesses. Culture is very different from one business unit to the next. Limited potential for advancement due to the relatively small size of each division. It's a non-profit that operates like a commercial entity.

    Advice to Management

    Salaries need to be more in-line with competition in the commercial space, since that is where the much needed talent will come from. Similarly tele-work options should be more uniform across the board. On-site or nearby childcare would reduce a staggering number of unexpected days off for employees.

    National Geographic2015-01-26
  10. "A lot of people like working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Geographic

    Pros

    Non-profit and still mainly acts like it. Profit is important but not the end all. Benefits are stellar but as the years go by, they are taking some of the good ones away. Maternity/parental leave is very very good.

    Cons

    New leadership clashing with old guard who have been here for years. NG is not sure if it wants to be a media conglomerate or an instrument of global change.

    Advice to Management

    Make changes slowly.

    National Geographic2015-01-09
Found 14 reviews