National HealthCare Reviews | Glassdoor

National HealthCare Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 164 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
National HealthCare CEO Robert G. Adams
Robert G. Adams
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "Quality patient care is job number 1(in 9 reviews)

  • "Great team of therapist who are smart, friendly and hardworking(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Short Staffed pretty much all the time(in 9 reviews)

  • "Poor management tactics, high turnover due to management(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Activities Assistant 

    I have been working at National HealthCare part-time

    Pros

    Flexible with time, if you may be late.

    Cons

    Their is really no overtime.

    National HealthCare2019-08-28
  2. "Professionalism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at National HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Treated as a professional, excellent Corp environment.

    Cons

    New management had different philosophy.

    Advice to Management

    No experience with current management

    National HealthCare2019-08-25
  3. "Chronically understaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNA 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at National HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    The residents are great, and you get really attached to some of them. If you want to pick up extra shifts, there are usually opportunities.

    Cons

    It is a very cliquey work environment, with not enough people willing to help out if needed. Not all CNAs follow resident care plans—too many take shortcuts that endanger the resident, because there is not enough time to get everything done the right way. Frequent call outs mean that you never know what condition your hall will be in when you arrive, and oftentimes residents have been sitting for hours without being... changed. When I have to clean up messes from the previous shift, that puts me behind on my assigned tasks for the day, and I get blamed for being slow. It is a steep learning curve for new CNAs. You go from taking care of 4 or so residents during training to 14 or more on second shift, and not all coworkers are willing to help out or answer questions. Be prepared to work for 7+ days straight without a day off, and then be expected to attend a mandatory meeting on the rare day you actually get off. Pay is very low for the level of responsibility you are expected to assume. Don’t plan to call in, ever, without being told your job is at risk. I have worked shifts with coworkers who were vomiting and still not allowed to go home, even though it is a health concern for the residents.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your new CNAs on the shift they will be working, and don’t expect them to run a hall completely by themselves with no help after a week of training. It takes time to learn the residents and get up to speed. It is better for them to learn to do the job correctly than to take shortcuts that endanger the residents. Value the good techs that you have, or they will leave. People who don’t care about the residents... create a toxic work environment where no one wins.

    Show More
    National HealthCare2019-09-04
  4. "CNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    A lot of the workers there's were very helpful and very team oriented

    Cons

    I have my cons of this employer but that doesn't mean my cons will be someone else's.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your EXPERIENCED techs. They usually know what's going on with patients. Also if you don't see certain techs for longer than usual, go check the empty rooms. They are usually in there sleeping or doing their hair.

    National HealthCare2019-08-17
  5. "NHC review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PTA in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National HealthCare part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They take care of their employees.

    Cons

    None. I enjoyed everything about my job.

    Advice to Management

    Show your employees you care.

    National HealthCare2019-07-27
  6. "Facility with excellent services, in the hands of poor nursing management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dietary Aide 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National HealthCare part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and pay, flexible schedule, excellent patient care

    Cons

    Poor management tactics, high turnover due to management

    Advice to Management

    Drastically improve communication, hire people willing to work and let go those that are not, and adapt to change as necessary for the benefit of the facility.

    National HealthCare2019-06-28
  7. "The company it's self is a good company to work for but too much drama among Co workers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Anderson, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free classes, clean, friendly staff

    Cons

    Too heavy of a work load

    Advice to Management

    Lower work load

    National HealthCare2019-06-03
  8. "NHc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Nashville, TN

    I worked at National HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Patient care is excellent in center

    Cons

    Management often does not hear opinions

    National HealthCare2019-05-31
  9. "Stable, patient-care and value-driven company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Occupational Therapist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National HealthCare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Financially stable. Diversified in service offerings. Strong culture and processes are centered around excellent patient care and customer service.

    Cons

    With the ever-changing requirements of Medicare and insurance reimbursement, workload continually grows in the areas of documentation, and risk of denial for service from insurance grows, to the detriment of the patient, decreasing patient outcomes and job satisfaction. NHC trains employees to anticipate these barriers.

    Advice to Management

    Continue keeping patient care the priority. Hire creative minds who can take on the challenges of changing reimbursement to ensure excellent patient care is always given to post-acute and continuing-care patients.

    National HealthCare2019-05-12
  10. "FNP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at National HealthCare

    Pros

    Great staff to work with, team work.

    Cons

    Administrator had 2 facilities. Not always available.

    Advice to Management

    Listen without being condescending.

    National HealthCare2019-04-17
Found 164 reviews