KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

National Instruments

Is this your company?

National Instruments

Add a Review

National Instruments Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Nov 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 of over 1,969 reviews

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
National Instruments President and CEO Alex Davern  (no image)
Alex Davern
398 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fantastic work/life balance and sense of community(in 284 reviews)

  • "NI has a great work environment and is a place to learn a lot(in 156 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I was willing to put up with the low pay for a long time because I enjoyed the pros/benefits enough(in 46 reviews)

  • "Say bye to your work/life balance(in 38 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of National Instruments and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "low pay"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Satisfied

      Sep 25, 2011 -  in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very Technically oriented Good for new grads great culture

      Cons

      Unstructured low pay, top management is pompous

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Was a great place to work b4 layoffs

      Nov 22, 2020 - Senior Hardware Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting Work, Great Colleagues, Great for new College Grads

      Cons

      Low Pay, current top level management's directions and constant restructuring don't make sense

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to start a career, but not long term

      Oct 9, 2020 - Inside Sales Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent training and support systems. FANTASTIC place to start a career. They provide many avenues for advancement or lateral moves within the company. Despite the cons (as there are many) I still don't regret taking a position there right out of college and would still recommend someone to do so. As long as they don't get caught in the company or ELP bubble. Get your experience, look ahead, move up, and then get hired elsewhere!

      Cons

      Low pay/benefits compared to industry average for job/experience/title. Despite the company beating sales targets and growth year after year, we were continuously passed over for company bonuses. Because they must be 'Cautiously Optimistic' about the future.. Most raises were barely in line with cost of living increase (~3-4%). Most people there 'drink the koolaid' and believe working there is SO much better than anywhere else, because of the 'culture' and how it's worth taking lower pay. But most have never worked anywhere else.. Their benefits are subpar as well. Once I finally decided to leave with my experience, my new job/company brought a 50% increase to my salary with even better benefits. Management.. That can make or break your job. There are some EXCELLENT managers and leaders there, and I was lucky enough to have one for the last couple years. But there are also SO many bad/inept/dumb managers there, that only get promoted by being loyal, vocal, and brown-noising the higher ups. It's astonishing to wonder how certain individuals got to be promoted and are so high up on the chain (to even VP level..) Management itself is a very tightly knit group, and they don't let anyone in unless they are swimming in the koolaid.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Working at NI

      Oct 5, 2020 - Test Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible Understanding for sick leave Great management

      Cons

      Low pay Focus on profits for the company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      I used to love it, but it's been in steady decline over the last decade.

      Aug 24, 2020 - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Life/work balance was really nice, most of the time. There were busy crunch periods with some very long weeks, but that is reasonable when it's only a couple of times a year. I found there are a lot of sharp, knowledgable, friendly, and helpful co-workers. Not everybody had an open door, so to speak, but most people were great teammates. However, I'm concerned that with NI's new performance-driven incentives, it's going to get a lot more cutthroat as employees feel pitted against each other. Time will tell on that.

      Cons

      They pay really low but keep giving lip service that they are working on that...for over three years now. I was willing to put up with the low pay for a long time because I enjoyed the pros/benefits enough. They are making changes but you are going to have to fight like hell to be at the very top to get the big raises and bonuses. Say bye to your work/life balance. Over the last 5 years, upper management has been having a Game of Thrones or something because they just want to bombard the staff with info on what they are doing. Once you add in those meetings, standup, team meetings, working on performance reviews, etc. I found my time had been so sliced and diced that I had very little focus time left to get actual real relevant work done. On dev work, I could have a medium-size code change I want to get in and end up with 10-20 reviewers on the pull-request, many of whom would ask questions about code that wasn't changed in this request because they just wanted to find something/anything to say, "See, I'm doing work too!" The red-tape on this would take almost two weeks to get in an uncontroversial medium-sized change. I felt I had pretty much zero autonomy in my last few years at NI.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Low pay, poor management

      Jul 11, 2019 - Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work-life balance depending on your team

      Cons

      low pay and poor management

      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Manager

      Sep 12, 2018 - Senior Human Resources Manager in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The products are pretty cool. And so are many of the people who design them.

      Cons

      Low pay. Cautious leaders. Lack of vision from senior management.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Administrative Assistant

      Sep 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers are amazing, work life balance

      Cons

      Low pay, career advancement only in headquarters

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Services

      Aug 14, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some flexibility, onsite health clinic

      Cons

      Low pay and over worked

      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Senior Software Engineer

      May 21, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Challanging technical work Good people to work around

      Cons

      Low pay compared to competitors Slow moving.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews

    Popular Careers with National Instruments Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at National Instruments? Share Your Experiences

    or