National Kidney Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor

National Kidney Foundation Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Kevin Longino
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "The NKF does a good job of promotion from within although in some markets this is limited by the size of the office(in 5 reviews)

  • "The work life balance was great(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "no cons to report here, thank you(in 3 reviews)

  • "Non-competitive salaries, NEPOTISM, poor management styles, not everyone works their 40 hours a week (especially the Directors), misuse of donor money(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "10+ years and counting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Kidney Foundation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible working options, good pay, fun culture and impactful mission

    Cons

    You stay busy most of the year, but to some that's not a con.

    Advice to Management

    Continue focusing on staff feedback and development, their professional needs and listen to their ideas.

    National Kidney Foundation2019-02-20
  2. "Unorganized, many changeover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Program Manager in Knoxville, TN
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at National Kidney Foundation full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      friendly staff, opportunity to learn on job

      Cons

      low pay. frequent staff changes, little guidance from top

      National Kidney Foundation2019-06-01
    • "Run. Run. Run."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Development Manager in Houston, TX
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at National Kidney Foundation full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The patients and supporters. They love the organization. It’s just sad that management is so terrible.

      Cons

      Upper management at the local level, is the absolute worst. You’re paid peanuts to do the job of 3 individuals and then you’re supposed to be subjected to verbal abuse?

      Advice to Management

      Change management in Texas! In order for NKF Houston to survive it must be done.

      National Kidney Foundation2019-06-12
    • "Organization does good work, management is a mess"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Development Manager 
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at National Kidney Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Competitive salary, good benefits. One of the better nonprofits I've worked for.

      Cons

      Multiple bosses and terrible communication

      National Kidney Foundation2019-04-16
    • "Events"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at National Kidney Foundation

        Pros

        It’s a job so there is that

        Cons

        HR - terrible Literally won’t make a smart decision ED in Texas is just wasted donor money Unfortunate cause the mission is good I took it out of desperation for a job - that’s about it - Two wasted years of my life My fault

        Advice to Management

        Listen to those in the field Pay attention to what your told is happening !

        National Kidney Foundation2018-12-03
      • "Employees are passionate! Great working environment!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at National Kidney Foundation full-time

        Pros

        The National Kidney Foundation of Hawaii is a wonderful organization. Everyone from the Kidney Cars attendant to Office Manager to CEO CARES about the mission and the community. The organization has evolved from just helping people with chronic kidney disease to helping all children, adults, and families who are suffering from chronic diseases ranging from diabetes to Lupus. I consider myself extremely blessed to...

        Show More

        Cons

        No downsides yet! I'm a "cup half-full" type of person so I believe you make your situation how you want it to be!

        National Kidney Foundation2018-09-18
      • "Development Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at National Kidney Foundation full-time

        Pros

        The work life balance was great! they gave plenty of vacation/sick time.

        Cons

        No room for advancement and the salaries were low for NY.

        National Kidney Foundation2018-08-08
      • Helpful (1)

        "An organization that follows through on their mission"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at National Kidney Foundation full-time

        Pros

        strong mission, great educational resources

        Cons

        a bit of miscommunication among the national office and its affiliates/division offices

        National Kidney Foundation2018-04-17
      • "Gala Director"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Director in Columbus, OH
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at National Kidney Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Helping ill people with vital programs and services

        Cons

        Hard work, little money, and little gratitude

        Advice to Management

        Keep your word and appreciate your staff

        National Kidney Foundation2018-01-10
      • "A"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Program Director 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at National Kidney Foundation full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Great mission. Innovative programs in the kidney field.

        Cons

        Low staff to maintain fundraising

        National Kidney Foundation2017-10-24
      Found 59 reviews